We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for four nights-Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has a great location for anyone wanting to explore Venice Beach/ Culver city/ Marina Del Rey / Santa monica area. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room had a refridgerator and microwave and was within one block of the 405 so you have access to all of LA, really. Many good restaurants within walking and driving distance. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this motel while in California for a wedding. We chose the motel based on its internet site and proximity to our destination. I would never stay there again. Some of the problems:
1) They lost our reservation, which was made by phone when the internet site reservations didn't work. When I called to confirm the night before arrival, they had no record of the reservation.
2) The room was spartan at best. There was a refrigerator, but no coffee maker, microwave (which they had said it would include), no ice bucket, or even plastic utensils or dishes. Furniture was shabby, shelf hung crookedly.
3) The walls were very thin. We could hear conversations from rooms all around us. We had to turn the fan on high to drown the noise out.
4) The towels were the smallest and thinnest I have ever had at a motel. Very scratchy.
5) The "spa" is a tiny hole in the parking lot, surrounded by a locked chain link fence, in total shade. I cannot imagine that anyone has ever used it.
6) Bed was so hard, we hurt in the morning from sleeping on it.

Some positives:
1) Staff was very pleasant
2) The room was clean
3) It was inexpensive

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is a basic hotel with large, clean rooms and a convenient location. It is about 4 miles from Venice Beach and an easy drive to Santa Monica. Be aware that the "spa" in the name is an outdoor jacuzzi only. The breakfast is bare bones--cereal, danish, coffee, tea, juice. There is a good sushi restaurant directly across the street and other eateries w/in easy walking distance. The one criticism is that the walls are pretty thin. If you have noisy neighbors you WILL hear them. A real positive is free off-street parking which can sometimes be a problem in the LA area. They also need to invest in "do not disturb" signs so that the maids don't keep waking you up in the morning if you are a later sleeper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Motel was excellent. We stayed there for 1 night. We booked a 2 double bed suite. It was quite spacious and very clean. The room came with a mini refridgerator and a microwave. Wifi worked great for us. Though the Motel is really close to Freeway 40, we did not have any noise issue as our room was farthest from the street. There is a Subway and Carls Jr very close to the Motel. We didn't have a chance to use the Jacuzzi or try the continental Breakfast. So, can't comment on them. The lady who checked us in was little curt, but very helpful and not rude. She even let us check out late around 2PM for no extra charge. The best part was the deal. For $100, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeSha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you GeeSha25 from San Diego,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Sunburst Spa & suites. We are indeed really close to the 405 freeway ((not 40 ) as you probably mistakenly wrote in your comments.
Anyway, it is very encouraging for all our staff that hard work and efforts are appreciated and hope we will see you soon again.
Thanks once again.
Kind regards
Vinny. GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The motel was ok, nice price with nice breakfast and near to LA. The problem were the towels. I did a complain and they gave me new bath towels but until the new bath towels were stained from dirty, was disgusting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Joana,
Thank you very much for your honest comments. We very much appreciated the fact that you enjoyed your stay here except for the towel incident.
All towels are properly washed and dried and folded after each days usage.In this process we do remove from circulation all towels where stains failed to come out regardless. However, some towels do from time to time slip back into circulation. For this we deeply apologise and will try harder our guests receive stainless towels.
Once again we value your comments and do hope to serve you again.
Thank you
kind regards
Vinny.GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by my stay at the Sunburst. The room was large, and everything was incredibly clean and fresh. The property is close to a busy exit/entrance ramp for the 405 freeway, but the room was sufficiently soundproofed and I slept well. If you stay here, be sure to try Tito's Tacos, one of the LA area's most popular taco stands -- it is about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackKerowack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. All our staff also enjoys Titos Tacos . When in town please allow us to serve you again.
All the best to you and your family.
Kind regards
Vinny
GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location was good to visit by car Los Angeles and Santa Monica.
Our room was very dirty and there was a terrible smell in the room
There isn't a pool but just a very small dirty tub in the parking.
There isn't a pool but just a very small dirty tub in the parking

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuliana_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
541 reviews
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel

Address: 3900 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230-4608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunburst Spa And Suites Motel
Sunburst Motel Culver City
Sunburst Hotel Culver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing