We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent to Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent to Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

I stayed here last night because I worked late at Sony studio and didn't want to drive 35 miles home to Simi Valley in the rain. All I was looking for was a clean, safe, and quiet room. And it was just what I was looking for. It's located near the 405 on Sepulveda between 3 or 4 other motels and it seemed the nicest and safest looking motel of the bunch. The others next door, Half Moon, Deano, Astro all were cheaper but looked disgusting and sleazy from the street. So I paid more ( $89 vs. $55) but sometimes you get what you pay for...and this was one of those times. I showed at midnight and I felt safe and the clerk was nice and accomodating. He gave me a suite (not really...just a couch and mini fridge) but didn't charge me the extra $15 since it was late. Except for the heater not working and the fan in the bathroom making a bit of noise everything was as expected. Don't go in with high expectation and you won't be dissappointed. I mentioned the heater and the manage said he'd get right on it. Definitely motel style..... but safe, clean, decent amenities (espn, hbo, video on demand, mini fridge, microwave, seating area, comfy bed) but tight on some things...no clock or alarm in room, bathroom amenities very basic, lotion and shampoo only, towels rough, but clean.
If you only need a comfy bed, hot shower, and some peace and quiet...then this is your place.

  • Liked — closeness to sony studios
  • Disliked — bathroom fan made noise...heater didn't work
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mikevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    41
    22
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
25
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed here 3 nites and they had every thing I needed. Free internet, cable tv , hairdryer, clean linen, clean room.
Front desk staff was very nice and willing to help.
For the area there rates were very reasonable too.
On top of all this the motel also has free continental breakfast.
What else can one ask for.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vmanibhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
I thank you very much for your patronage here at our motel and hope to welcome you here again in the future.
We value your opinion will appreciate any refferals.
Thank you.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2005

We checked in to our block of 4 rooms- one room looked as if someone was currently living in it- beds unmade, trash everywhere, TV on. When I went to the front desk to try and get the room switched I was repeatedly told that it wasn't the front desk's fault, he had no other options, would we mind staying in the room as it was? An hour later, a maid was finally brought in to clean the room. Of our 4 rooms, 2 had phones that were disconnected, and none of the rooms received their wake-up call, thereby making all of us late for our early morning event. When I checked the group out and mentioned that there were no wake-up calls that went out, again I was told by a different clerk that "it wasn't his fault" - I would never, under any circumstances stay here again. The rooms were dirty, dingy, the staff was rude- it amazed me that we paid almost $100 for a flea-bag motel room.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank CtotheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Front Office Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Your experience in 2005 at the motel is surely one to remember. I am truely sympathetic to your feelings and would like to inform you that an event such as yours is certainly highly unlikely to repeat here these days. Many years have passed since your incident and many things have changed specially here at the Motel. Guest satisfaction and comfort are our number one concern and we aim to please in every way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Culver City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2005

Pros: Room was very spacy compared to the regular hotels. Refridgerator was included. Location was good. People were friendly. Checkout was easy.

Cons: Check out time was not accurate to websites (11:00am). Checked us into an uncleaned room, although getting a new room was quick and easy. Didn't give enough towels. Maid didn't come in till 9 so guest had to pick up their own towels from the front desk. Maid didn't sweep clean enough. Front desk was not reliable in returning calls.

Overall, guest service and quality of hotel was good, but maid service needs improvements.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmpCulvercity, Front Office Manager at Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Things have changed since 2005 and providing great care for our guests are at the top of the list. Guest comfort is our number one priorty. Pay us a visit next time in town. Stay elsewhere , but check us out anyway and you wont be dissappointed if you happen to speak to one of our front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
The Culver Hotel
#1 of 8 in Culver City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel

Property: Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
Address: 3900 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230-4608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunburst Spa And Suites Motel
Sunburst Motel Culver City
Sunburst Hotel Culver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing