We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Waterloo and City - CLOSED

Waterloo and City
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great food, really great interpretation of english bar food, but a bit overpriced when considering the amazing food options in culver city

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
coronado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Foodie Fun”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Waterloo and City is in a "nada" area of Culver City, which means that parking is easier than in more trendy neighborhoods. The place is funky, and loud. We went for Happy Hour, and ordered well drinks (OK) and small plates. The small plates were outstanding--and, at $6 to $8, worth every cent--especially the gnocci with artichokes, spinach, and (a soupcon of) Italian sausage, in a subtle cream sauce. The waiters were friendly and the service attentive. This will be on our radar for our next trip from Coronado to Los Angeles. I have no idea what the dinner (as opposed to happy hour) prices are like, but we are going there for dinner !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the beer, food & atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Went to Waterloo & City for happy hour in the middle of the week, and this joint was jumping! The bar menu was fantastic - we ordered about 8 different items over the course of the visit, and loved everything!! Great service and atmosphere, fun staff, and loved the selection of ales!

Helpful?
Thank nah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scrumptious, what an place! Delicious food, excellent service. Can't say enough!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Two friends and I had been looking forward to this meal all week, we had heard great reports of the food. It did not disappoint, not one bit. From the attentive service, excellent cocktails and yes, the wonderful food. All fresh and all cooked beautifully. We will be back, there are many other delightful items to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A jewel in Culver City”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was surprised by the quality of the food of this British restaurant. A group of us went there for dinner. We ordered Smoked Tongue & Carrot Terrine, Quelle farci, and grilled peach with prosciutto. The quelle farci was amazing. The bird meat was soft, the pork farci was also very soft and tasty. My main course was Nova Scotia Halibut with Claim. The sauce was creamy with some mashed potato. The proportion was right so it was neither too thick (potato) nor too liquid (cream). The Halibut was tender and tasty. The clams were cooked just right and have the natural taste, not overwhelmed by the sauce.

The dessert was a divine dessert: Sticky Toffee Pudding, Salted Caramel, Vanilla Ice Cream. The salted caramel was the key contributor to this delicious dessert. The slight saltiness made caramel not too heavy. The pudding wrapped with the caramel and ice cream made me want to have more of it.

Definitively I will return to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterloo and City also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
 
Culver City, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing