We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, healthy food”

Akasha Restaurant & Bakery
Reserve with OpenTable
Akasha Restaurant & Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 316 Restaurants in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Watseka
Transit: Close to several bus lines on Culver Blvd.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great, healthy food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is very fresh and healthy. You can eat here if you are a vegan, vegetarian. They have chicken or fish for people who eat anything. The flavors are wonderful. They serve nice size portions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank clacdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    83
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles Area
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Really Worth It”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our third time at Akasha for lunch. It was good but not really worth the trouble. The restaurant is loud and the tables small and very close together. I know this is a trendy thing but sometimes you just don't care about being trendy and just want a good lunch. We did not choose our lunches wisely because we always ask ourselves, "would you order this again"? And both choices were a no. The onion rings are the best, as were the sweet potato fries. But the chopped salad was typical and the fried chicken sandwich fell apart and was too bready and too much batter on the chicken. The chicken actually fell out of the crust! And, it's expensive for what you get. We probably will not go there again... lots of other places to try close by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan-RPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Buzzing and delicious”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We ate here on a Wednesday evening, the night before we flew home. The atmosphere was wonderful, it didn't look that busy from the outside but every table was occupied.

Can highly recommend the mac n cheese, the Yukon Gold potato fries and the proscuitto and rocket hand made flat bread pizza. We ordered a lovely bottle Sauvignon Blanc which our rather irritating waitress tried to talk us out of rather strongly saying it wasn't a good. In my opinion there should only be wine on the list that IS recommended, if it really is rubbish, don't have it on the menu. Apart from that, we had a great meal and a fantastic evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cr0wnJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“When Akasha's in the kitchen, all's right with the world”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten at Akasha's three times in the last year and every time, there was something to dream about on the way home, a taste combination both mysterious and addictive. To begin, a variety of play martinis in cluding the Ginger Drop or something with duke umber or pomegranate, plus an array of California wines by the pricey ($10-15) glass which are well worth it, since it's hard to buy them in stores. The menu features fruit and veggies from the Famous Santa Monica Farmer's market, and local meat so the dishes are often named after the farmer or rancher. Coleman Farms Kale Caesar, Ruiz beets salad, Niman ranch pork loin and so on. The specials come on a special card and the small plate of lemon grass shrimp was unbelievably good, as was the pork loin, skillet mac n cheese, baked squash with goat cheese, memorable brussel sprouts and bacon and fig and proscuito flat bread pizza. Desserts range from house baked cakes to house made ice scream and sorbet. All good bets. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable. helpful hint - Wino Wednesday's features any bottle of wine in the menu - half price!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The pricey food is not worth the discomfort of the chairs and constant thump of techno percussion echoing off the groovy industr”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although the vegan friend I treated to fine dining was very happy, my steak and green beans & onions were pretty pedestrian. The backless chair kept me from wanting to linger in the hipness of the huge room with the cool crowd, and having to shout across the table to talk, or to the waiter to order grew tiresome. The drinks and appetizers were innovative and the presentation indulged our appetites for aesthetics. A great neighorhood for strolling surrounds Akasha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akasha Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
Culver City, CA
 

Been to Akasha Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing