We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic menu, cool vibe, great food”

Akasha Restaurant & Bakery
Reserve with OpenTable
Akasha Restaurant & Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 316 Restaurants in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Watseka
Transit: Close to several bus lines on Culver Blvd.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu, cool vibe, great food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just dined at Akasha for the first time with friends on a recent visit. The menu was a great combination of options inspired by American, Indian, Asian, Italian cuisines... It sounds like a strange mashup but it really works. I had the turkey burger + sweet potato fries and my wife had the pork chop. Both very good. Indian inspired chicken winds and artichoke frites for appetizers were great. One of our friends raved about the Quinoa. Our server was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    83
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was in town for business and met a colleague here for dinner upon her recommendation. Parking is a little tricky, even in the adjacent garage. However, the food was great and the atmosphere was fun. We shared the skillet macaroni and cheese, the mushroom flatbread and the beet salad. All was really great, however I felt that the mac and cheese could use a little more snap in its flavor - it came out a little bland. My colleague stated that it was not the best she has had there in the past, perhaps they were just having an off evening.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would return again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leoclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stumbled upon this gem when looking for somewhere for a quick lunch before a meeting. What a great find! Had the hummus veggie wrap that was by far the best hummus veggie wrap I have ever had. Came with a salad and I had their coconut green tea which was also superb. Highly recommend Akasha!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty and varied menu”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have been here twice, and it's been memorable and very enjoyable both times. First visit was several months ago, and we had an inexplicably creamy vegan chocolate gelato of some sort that was so impressive that I have only a vaguely pleasant memory of the entree (quinoa, maybe?). Most recent visit was a few months back. Dining companion had sliders, onion rings, and macaroni. I had a spring pasta with English peas and mushrooms in a cream sauce. The bar scene seemed very hipster-trendy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrissyR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quinoa and Pulled Pork Sliders, or the other way around”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is a treat. A touch pricy, but delicious. The small plates, like the Pulled Pork Sliders, which are slow cooked and served with a little slaw, just the right amount of sauce and a touch of heat...and the Pappardelle, with a poached egg and bacon, are perfect. For entrees, I wholly recommend the Quinoa and/or the Sea Bass in a Curry Sauce.

A couple of words of warning, though. Ask for the salt an pepper, all of our items were underseasoned. But that's something we can take care of on our own. And know that some of the entrees, like the Short Ribs, are on the small side.

Beyond that, enjoy the great atmosphere, the great wine list, and the great food,

And sit at the bar, you'll get served faster, the stools are comfy and the bartenders are friendly. If you go on a Wednesday...1/2-off bottles of wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZekeZelenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akasha Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
Culver City, CA
 

Been to Akasha Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing