We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
19
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Rainbow Tarns B&B for his 60th birthday weekend. We try to always stay at B&Bs and so have a lot of places to compare. This lovely place was perfect for our getaway. It is a few miles (15 minutes) from Mammoth (ski town).
We had the feeling that we were in our own little world. There are only 3 guest rooms - each unique and exquisite. Ours was a rustic western theme with a greenhouse style bathroom and a jacuzzi tub. The common areas are comfy and inviting. We hiked every day after a hearty and tasty breakfast cooked by our host Brock. He and his wife, Diane were personable and offered many suggestions for day trips, restaurants etc... When we could make it back in time, there was wine and snacks waiting.
We relaxed in the hammocks under the trees reading and relaxing and enjoying the birds, gardens, chipmunks, and the lovely ponds (3 of them which are also called "Tarns" - hence the name).
Down the road a bit are sheep and lambs. We were met on our arrival by the family dog, Crowley, who escorted us in. The day we left, Crowley was also in attendance for goodbye pictures.
I would recommend this lovely place to anyone traveling in the area. It is only 45 minutes to Mono Lake (an amazing inland sea) and Yosemite (eastern entrance), and 20 minutes from Mammoth Mt. So much to do! And when you return at the end of a busy day, it is like returning to a beautiful home - quiet, peaceful and welcoming. What could be better???
Sue and John Ferguson

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Yogisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We returned to Rainbow Tarns after a two-year absence and found the same charming oasis. The grounds are as beautiful as ever, the hosts friendly and generous, the rooms attractive and comfortable, and the stay restful.

As always, Brock and Diane welcome the weary traveler with good wine and appetizers in the afternoon. Breakfasts at Rainbow Tarns are a feast for the eyes as well as the gullet: colorful, ample, and delicious.

The area abounds with natural attractions; after a day's sightseeing or hiking, returning to the Rainbow Tarns is like a homecoming. Sit on the porch and gaze at the ever-changing light on the ponds; lie in a hammock under the willow tree and listen to the bubbling brook; or sink into a sofa in the wood-beamed living room for a spell of reading or conversation.

For all these reasons, Rainbow Tarns remains our favorite place to stay east of the Sierra.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chronicler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2004

My husband & I have come here two years in a row.. the only B & B we have ever come back to more than once. The place is beautiful and cozy, and the breakfast is always wonderful. The inn keepers, Brock & Diane are also very nice & professional. They pay close attention to the smallest details that make you feel so welcome... i.e. champagne, cheese& crackers, and chocolates in your room when you arrive. The rooms are very comfortable, and they have a sweet dog named Crowely that is extremely well behaved. You feel like you are staying with friends when you come here & the prices for lodging are very reasonable. We'll be back next ski season!

1  Thank Storyteller24876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2003

This Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful place to spend a weekend. It has 3 duck ponds, mature trees, and gorgeous gardens all surrounding a turn-of-the-century hunting lodge! The views are of the snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada mountains and are breath-taking! The touches of detail make you feel very special to be allowed to share this magnificent property with the owners, Brock & Diane Thoman. The breakfasts served were all gourmet with great attention paid to both ingredients and presentation. Considering the quality of the rooms and atmosphere, the rates are very reasonable starting at $115 per night. I guarantee you wont want to return home.

6  Thank Voyager13469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews