We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
Review of The Dead Fish

The Dead Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dead Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Crockett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pomona
Description: Enjoy spectacular views of the new Carquinez Bridge and serene San Pablo Bay while dining on the lushly planted patio with heated and cooled cabanas and twinkling lights. Unique weekend brunch with specialty cocktails. Specialties include 100% USDA Certified Prime, Prime Rib and whole Dungeness crab. Unique dining rooms for an intimate dinner or a large group. "We may have a funny name but we're dead serious about our food!!"
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

Had a dinner here and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Highly recommend the place. Two had the crab burritos, one had the spicy shrimp and fettuccine. All were very pleased. Dessert was great too.

Thank bullman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing the outstanding review, bullman63!

It was a pleasure hosting you and providing you with a perfectly cooked meal. Serving our guests only the most exceptional cuisine is something we take very seriously and we couldn't be happier that you had such a positive dining experience. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2017

Good food....especially the crabs cakes and fish n chips!
Great view!
Friendly workers!
The drive to Crockett is worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Thanks for the great review, Timothy!

We're happy your time with us was so wonderful! We care about our guests so we strive to offer the highest levels of service as well as fresh and delicious food. It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much and that our team took such good care of you. That's what we like to see!

We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share another excellent experience with you! Have a stellar day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to this restaurant. It is conveniently located right off I-80. Parking is plentiful. Do not bring anything of value in your car since there are signs warning of break-ins.
We were given our choice of seats. We chose a table with a view. The server was there quickly for any requests for beverages. Our wine and ice tea came right away.
We ordered garlic bread, crab cakes, a small Caesars salad, clams in broth and a whole crab. Bread came with the meal. I believe that it was epis from Acme Bakery.
The crab cakes were excellent, crispy on the outside and all crab and seasoning inside. The garlic bread was a bit dry and did not taste much of garlic. The Caesars salad was good. The clams came in a well seasoned broth. The crab was very salty. I asked for unsalted butter. Our waiter offered to bring another crab if we disliked ours. I didn’t think it was that bad.
Service was very attentive. It was my friend’s birthday, so they provided a complimentary piece of cake and sang “Happy Birthday” to her.
My only complaint is that our seater did not check off that we were “Open Table” customers and so I got an inquiry from Open Table. I specifically told her, since I get annoyed with the “Open Table” inquiries.
Overall above average for service and location. Food was average overall.

Thank Pansy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you for the excellent rating, Pansy!

We're so glad that you've enjoyed your time with us so much. It's wonderful to know that your interactions with our staff have been so positive. We strive to provide each guest with exceptional service and we're so glad that several members of our team went above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our team.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We stopped for dinner at Dead Fish on a Friday night; it was busy but we got a table in the bar. The food was very good and we liked the atmosphere, reminiscent of a midwestern supper club from 40 yrs ago. However when we came out to our car , parked 30 ft from the entrance in a well-lit and busy parking lot, with a security patrol car coming by, periodically, we found the back window smashed in. The thieves only got a small backpack that was on top of a lot of luggage and camera equipment. Apparently it was all they could get out through the hole. At least one other car was broken into at the same time. The management tried to help, giving us numbers for the sheriff's office and offering to tape garbage bags over the back window. They have had the same problem before; in fact coming in, we first encountered another parking lot, with warning signs about break-ins and avoided it, but when we saw the parking place so close to the door and so well-lit, we thought we'd be OK. Too bad, we liked the restaurant but won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

We are very concerned to read your review. A member of our team would like to speak with you further about your experience at our restaurant. Do you have a phone number or email address that a member of our team can reach you at in the next few days? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

Had the calamari steak Dore , I scarfed it down , the crab cakes were delicious! Their bread - YUM, that’s pretty much it.

Service very good- nice to be back
No pictures because like I said I scarfed my meal down!

Thank Aneesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thanks for the review, Aneesa K!

We're happy your time with us was so wonderful! We care about our guests so we strive to offer the highest levels of service as well as fresh and delicious food. It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much and that our team took such good care of you. That's what we like to see!

We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share another excellent experience with you! Have a stellar day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dead Fish also viewed

 

Been to The Dead Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing