We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Down Home Food”
Review of Loading Chute

Loading Chute
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Creston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Down Home Food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

You can still pull up and tie your horse off like the Big Valley or Ponderosa or Rifleman - remember those shows? This is a down home country casual 'diner' in a small town. The prices are completely reasonable (really - have you seen how much a Burger King sandwich and fries cost lately?), and you won't leave hungry. Onion Rings looked yummy but my Bro wouldn't share. I had a French Dip and Coleslaw. Sandwich bread was really good - not surprised since i could see the girl in the kitchen rolling dough and making bread from scratch! The meat was good, and was a good sandwich. The coleslaw was also good - classic like i expected. not super different or spicy, so my Mom flavored hers up a bit. But i enjoyed it the way it was. these sides are basic, and pleasantly so to appeal to the general public that would come here. it is pretty out of the way, which makes it a bit of an oasis. oh yeah did i say it was over 100 degrees outside and the air-conditioning and great wines-by-the-glass were also a great addition to our lunch! Mom shared a chicken sandwich with her friend and a salad - which looked real good. Bro had a patty melt and it really looked super too. Atmosphere is casual and warm. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure and always great grub”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a place where few people, other than locals, come to visit. Located in the tiny rural town of Creston (from the late 1800's), it is quite a find. Always pleasant and attentive service, great homemade bread, bar, etc. Food choice range from Salmon filet and steak dinners to pasta and pizza.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yolyfe1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“A run of the mill BBQ steak place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went here on recommendation after a 40 minute ride from Paso Robles and the food was pretty average, nothing special, a run of the mill steak place in the middle of nowhere. We had steaks, BBQ ribs and prime rib dinners and we were expecting more in taste and flavor and the consensus was that the food just missed. The pre-entrée dinner salad was very disappointing, chop lettuce on a plate with a not so good dressing. This restaurant had a lot of locals eating here, I guess because there is nothing else in the area, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grubbing!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent food, fun atmosphere. Birthday celebration. Good-sized portions and they know how to cook a steak! Food is well prepared and hearty. Not a fancy, white tablecloth place, just good food, good service, good environment. We are regulars!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to breakfast for Easter Sunday had eggs Benedict was perfectly cooked. Homemade potatoes. Very good have been there for dinner, they have good steaks to. Food alway good. It is a drive to get to Creston but very much worth it..Kristin our server was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenMasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loading Chute also viewed

Creston, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Loading Chute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing