We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore Inn, Crestline, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The North Shore Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crestline
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“North Shore Inn, Crestline, CA”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This inn has a great location, with obscured views of the lake (through trees) and proximity to the business portion of town. No need to get in your car, unless you want to. We had a deluxe king room that was smaller than expected, but okay for a couple of nights. Coffeemaker was good; did not use the microwave; refrigerator very small and could not accommodate "doggy bags" from dinner. The refrig had an ice compartment that was completely frosted over and not usable. We had to request ice from the management, but had no place to keep it frozen; a small problem. Location on the main drag was very noisy all night, as we opted to keep our windows open (our choice). Wifi and TV worked well; great shower, but REALLY small bathroom.

Room Tip: We are seniors and were given a room that did not require stair access; thanks! However, stairs wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofNSI, Guest Relations Manager at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Robin, thank you for your comments. The bathroom might seem a bit small, we chose to use some of that space to put built in Fridge, Micro & coffee maker in the room instead. I know a lot of the larger hotels exclude them, but we find them convenient. Sorry about the freezer, it had been very busy & we just forgot to defrost. We had land lines at one time, most people had cell phones so we use those funds to provide the free WiFi (which is life to most of us LOL). Hope you will try a different room next time maybe #7 Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    74
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
197
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here last month and the rooms were clean, relatively new and well maintained. The couple that runs the Inn is a very nice couple. Lake Gregory is great place to get a nice, quiet getaway.
However, beware of bringing a family here - they weren't exactly welcoming to our young ones and they charged us $10 for each kid (keep in mind these kids are both 4 and under) - this point was not clarified at check in.
In addition, we booked our stay through Trip Advisor (which eventually went through booking.com) and they mentioned that total charges would only be $93. Had we known that we would be charged an additional fee per each family member, with an additional tax, we certainly would have been wary to book the room in the first place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RDTrips07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofNSI, Guest Relations Manager at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello, thank you for noticing the care we put into the rooms. When you booked you said 2 people. However you were putting five people in a room, which can be quite noisy & is why we do this. She was told at that time the rate is based on double occupancy & does not include taxes. We charged you for two (not three). She was fine with this. As for Booking.com here is what is posted on our public page:

Any additional children or adults are charged USD 10 per person per night when using existing beds. There is no capacity for extra beds in the room.
Additional fees are not calculated automatically in the total cost and will have to be paid for separately during your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The North Shore Inn is a cozy little place in a prime location right on Lake Gregory. The room was lovely, very clean and well stocked and even had a little patio with a view of the lake. The staff was also very friendly and welcoming. In addition to the lake, stores, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. I highly recommend the North Shore Inn for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelHanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofNSI, Guest Relations Manager at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Rachel, Thank you for the great review. It is always nice to hear when we do it right. Please come back & see us when you are at Lake Gregory/Crestline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

North Shore Inn was very nice overall. Our room needed a new mattress, however we will stay again and try a different room. It would be even better if the hotel was non-smoking! Smoking allowed on balconies in close quarters for a non-smoker was tough. Located directly across from the lake with nice walking trails, eateries nearby and a grocery store across the street made the location perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbibill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofNSI, Guest Relations Manager at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Robi, Thank you for taking the time to share with others. I did check the mattress out and although we have thick memory foam mattresses on the beds, I could see where it might be a bit soft for some. Not all the beds are the same, but will be looking into changes soon for that one. As for the smoking we are no smoking inside. Perhaps we will have to re-think the options as to where someone can smoke. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Was very nice until the Cooler didnt work ..so the room was hot during the night ..but the workers were very nice close to everything a lil view of the lake..stayed there for my and my honey anniversary. .I would stay there again maybe a different room

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauiwowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisytrain, Owner at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us. Happy to hear you enjoyed the stay with us. As for the air conditioner, unfortunately it is one of those things you never know when something will break. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I can only say alot about our stay at North Shore Inn:) First of all, one of the owners (Nancy) greeted us with a huge smile, and awesome reccommendations for dinner and breakfast (which we followed and were super happy with). Her hotel is amazingly decorated and each room is totally different. She and her husband have literally replicated perfectly a bavarian/swiss ski chalet from everything from the amazing flower boxes, to the perfectly decorated rooms, to the amazing landscaping on the entire property. We stayed in room number five which has a king size bed..long story short the linens are sooo comfortable and cozy. My husband and I just celebrated our fifth yr anniversary and we dirt biked all day and then had truly a perfect stay. I was remiss to write anything at all in expedia because we hope that Nancy's wonderful hotel and property will not be busy all the time! But of course I wish she and her husband many wonderful guests..I just hope that we can always return! We live in San Diego and it is a quick 2 hour door to door drive to the most perfectly wonderful North Shore Inn.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofNSI, Guest Relations Manager at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello, Thank you for sharing. It was so great to meet you and have you here. We are constantly re-doing things around here & are happy to hear it is appreciated. Autumn is beautiful for off road trails up here so, please come back & explore some more. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Yes because my wife and I needed to get out of the city. It was our first trip to the lake...any lake. I called the North Shore Inn and Nancy answered the phone. She is excellent and convinced us to stay with them. Perfect perfect perfect. Very friendly and respectful of service members. Donna was sweet and helped us feel at home. We can't wait to return. Thanks Nancy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisytrain, Owner at The North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Morning Harry, we are so glad you said "Yes". we have four seasons at Lake Gregory and they are all beautiful. It was a pleasure having you here and hopefully you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crestline
4.9 mi away
Saddleback Inn
Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
135 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#3 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
33 reviews
20.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Cajon Pass
4.8 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Shore Inn

Property: The North Shore Inn
Address: 24202 Lake Drive, Crestline, CA 92325-3057
Location: United States > California > Crestline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crestline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Shore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Bavarian Inn built in 1989. We are the only lodging by the Lake.Constantly changing the rooms to make it more romantic and interesting. Offering a show all four seasons. We are surrounded with many activities such hiking, boating, fishing, skiing (snow & water)swimming, bowling, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The North Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The North Shore Hotel Crestline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing