We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Gardur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Gardur
the netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

wonderfull new ,modern cottage with WiFi..remote but wonderfull area an the tip of Iceland.icelandic horses for a neughbour and a great view on the ocean with two lighthouses..

Reykjanes is a great part of Iceland to explore: lavafields, great coastline,great for a walk, beautifull churches, hotspots like Krisuvik and Gunnurhver...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMoldijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
308 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this two bedrooms apt for the end of our trip as we had to fly from Keflavik airport the next morning.

The little town of Gardur is really very close to the airport (10-12min drive) and very quiet. It is nice to just walk around and hope to be lucky enough to spot some norther lights. There is also a small supermarket and a gas station just 1.5km away.

The owner was very nice and friendly and we just gave him a call when we arrived as he lives 2 min away. He had some issues with the credit card machine but was very flexible and we ended paying cash in whatever currencies we could find.

The guesthouse itself doesn't look very fancy from the outside (just a big cheap old yellow rectangle building) but we got the lower level apt and the inside is actually very clean and comfortable. There is a big bathroom, a well furnished kitchen and a nice living room with an big old crt tv. The only negative point would be the second small bedroom that was really really tiny but it didn't really matter as we had a very early flight anyways.

Two of us also got a free lift to the airport which was very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at these apartments on the final night of our tour of Iceland. Nice friendly owners who organised free transfer to the airport the next morning. Clean, spacious apartment, perfect for our group of friends. We even saw the northern lights down by the lighthouse which made it the perfect end to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zussuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We leased a three bedroom unit for two nights (wish we had stayed longer) in Gardur. It was only about 15 minutes to the airport as opposed to 40 minutes to Reykjavik. We arrived in Iceland at 2:20 in the morning and the guesthouse owner was nice enough to pick us up. He also arranged for a rental car to be waiting for us at the guesthouse because all car rental agencies were closed. The price for everything was given in Euros, but we were charged in Krona. The exchange rate was not the best for the Krona, but we have no complaints. The guesthouse itself was wonderful. Three bedrooms and two full bathrooms a nice living area and small kitchen (we used both). The apartment was very clean and felt "new" for European standards. There is a WONDERFUL restaurant ("The Two Towers" near the two lighthouses that are walking distance from the guesthouse. There is also a small grocery store and post office nearby. Obviously this is not Reykjavik, but it is only 45 minutes away and is a great day trip. We will stay here again when in Iceland.

Room Tip: We expected seven people and rented the three bedroom unit. King bed in one room and other two bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spacious cottage just 10 mins' drive away from Keflavik airport.

Within walking distance to the lighthouse, enjoy a seaside dinner to complete this relaxing stay.

Spacious toilet, kitchen, sitting area and balcony, we were really impressed with this accommodation, perhaps one of our favorites. Beds were very comfortable and we liked the warm lightings which created a cosy atmosphere.

We did not get to try the breakfast buffet due to our early flights but it was affordably-priced.

I would recommend this place anytime to everyone!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

we were on northern light hunting trip in Mar and saw amazing northern light covering half of the sky for more than an hour and i think the coastal location played an important role. The lighthouse was a great feature in our northern light pictures. Owner said that guests saw northern light 3 nights of the past week - pretty good chances.
the studio apartment was clean, cozy, warm and comfortable. Nothing to complain about.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jingwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

on arrival, i found the receptionist very welcoming and helpful, i had just finished a fantastic trek and found it very accomodating, the rooms were spotlessly clean, warm. breakfast was great and the choice was good,

Room Tip: from what rooms i saw...all rooms were good, so no woories on that score
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardur
6.7 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guesthouse Seaside
Guesthouse Seaside
#2 of 2 in Gardur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
iStay Cottages
iStay Cottages
#1 of 2 in Sandgerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Disa's Homestay
Disa's Homestay
#1 of 2 in Gardur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Vogar
Hotel Vogar
#1 of 1 in Vogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Gardur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Gardur

Property: Guesthouse Gardur
Address: Skagabraut 46 and 62a, Gardur, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Gardur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gardur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Gardur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing