We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite unexpected comfort.”
Review of Solovki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solovki
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solovetskiy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quite unexpected comfort.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

In a shtetl-like village, with un-paved roads, in the Russian sub-Arctic, on an island that is cut off from overland/oversea transport for seven months a year, reachable twice a week by air on an old Antonov, it was amazing to find accommodation this comfortable. Looks like a set of Alpine chalets. Fifteen minutes walk to the Monastery/Gulag prison camp. Breakfast interesting, lunch and dinner good Russian stodge. No, not The Ritz, but yes, in relation to what you might expect I'll give this an Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaGeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
20
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is located about 25 minutes walk from the boat landing. Staff was very friendly, especially Anna from the reception. She did very much her best to speak English.
Our junior suite was in a wooden building, very nice. Unfortunately we had 'noisy' neighbors that were talking and walking every time we woke up (1.30 AM, 5.30 AM). Despite this, we had very good night rests.
Contradicting the website and the sign near the entrance, there were no bicycles for rent at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL, Alkmaar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

First I want to recommend the islands and the village as well the Hotel was very great, Thefood and freindlyness of the staff. We had also very good warm summer weather.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JorgNL_Alkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

It's a very nice place. All the amenities you could expect in this remote place. The food is good, too, though for USD 160, I would have thought the coffee could be better than Nescafe. But if you're daring enough to travel to Solovki without being fluent in Russian, this is a real safe haven. People at the desk are helpful, and, though not fluent, capable in English.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VKO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

If you can find some summer days to spend them in Russia just for enjoying unique nature or historical events, this hotel is your choice. You can easy reach this place by Russian domestic airline "Aeroflot-Nord" with one stop in Arkhangelsk and it takes not more then 6 hours from Moscow International airport Sheremetyevo-1.
This hotel is located in 15-20 min walking from the Solovki airport, I insist recomend you go on foot only there. Of course there is the shuttle-bus from airport to hotel, but the road is tooo bumpy.
I didn't find any disadvantages in the hotel, just only enjoyable things are there: russian style log houses, nice window view, the smell of juniper anythere, unique hand made wooden furniture. I recomend reserve the rooms without TV. Perhaps you may find the waiters is not too fast in he restorant and Credit cards are not acceptable.
I will not describe the historical points there, because this Solovki Islands are too richness of historical events.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaxVko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed in the hotel in 2006 for about 5 days. Enjoyed it a lot - Solovki Hotel is a modern hotel with fenced territory. Rooms are set in several separate wooden buildings. Inside the rooms, as much as possible was made of wood, it smelled great of natural pine. Bathroom was very good with modern shower and the rest. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar, so you can stay there with your friends after it turned dark outside.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CrazyRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solovetskiy
0.9 mi away
Ostrovito Moryushko
Ostrovito Moryushko
#2 of 3 in Solovetskiy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solovetskaya Sloboda
Hotel Solovetskaya Sloboda
#1 of 2 in Solovetskiy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guest House PinaGor
Guest House PinaGor
#2 of 3 in Solovetskiy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guest House Starchina
Guest House Starchina
#2 of 2 in Belomorsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Solovki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solovki

Property: Solovki
Address: Zaozernaya Street 23, Solovetskiy, Arkhangelsk Oblast 164070, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > Arkhangelsk Oblast > Solovetsky Islands > Bolshoy Solovetsky > Solovetskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solovetskiy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solovki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing