We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Oslob Whale Sharks
from $190.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveler rating
916
458
145
66
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
916
458
145
66
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gentle giants underwater camera once in a lifetime cebu city amazing experience close encounter bucket list small boat snorkeling gear local fishermen beautiful creatures oslob whale shark briefing area short briefing life jackets big fish do's and don'ts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It is amazing to see a marine creature up close. We had a 4am pickup from Cebu city and arrived about 3 hours later. Only had to wait 15-20mins (your queue number will be called to board the rowboats). we spent 30mins underwater with the whalesharks and the amount of time there is just nice. Had my doubts about whether it is ethical but I think the locals did a pretty fine job in making it environmental and animal friendly
1) rowboats only. No pollutive gas boats. The rowboats move at a slow speed so the experienced boatman know how to steer clear of the whalesharks
2) briefing on penalties and jail time for people who touch the sharks or use sunblock. Good that they take it seriously, but to be honest it’s not challenging to avoid the whalesharks because the sharks move in a certain pattern to feed n we need not venture too far from our boat
3) visibly, the whalesharks look healthy, no scratch marks or weird skin infections n population is still thriving?. They look happy to feed, just like the stray cats n dogs that r also fed by humans in my hometown

Yeah so I would recommend this as a once in a lifetime experience

Thank happyyytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

No one should support this horrendous tourism trade. If you want to do it go to Donsol where it is actually humane and ethical. These sharks are being fed, which should never happen, then they are being touched and prodded by tourists. They associate food with boats so often get injured when running into propellers etc. Google it, its not that hard. It's a shame people seem to think their lame selfie is worth ruining these beautiful creatures for.

1  Thank amyybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

the experience with the whale sharks are very upclose and personal. They came really close to us while we were swimming. A must-go for sea creature lovers! However i felt that the place was too crowded with tourists and it did affect the experience a little

Thank CJiachyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

When you arrive its so overwhelming and you feel like sheep. At first I was very reluctant to actually go through with it because there were hundreds of people and what I suspected to be only a few whale sharks. But after getting out there and into the water it was absolutely amazing. There were at least 10 whale sharks swimming around and we were able to take photos without anybody in them. The only complaint I would have is that 30 minutes wasn't long enough.

There are probably better ways to experience whale sharks as well, as these ones were attracted by food and there was hundreds of people around. But for the price of $30 aud it was definitely worth it.

24  Thank sydneysymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the time you get there to leaving its about 2 hours. The whale sharks are in their natural environment and only come in when they hear the boats. The whole time you're out with them they are taken care of and it closes at 12 noon. The animals are amazing.

Thank 217deew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Swimming with the magnificent whalesharks was an awesome experience. Just do it and the memories will stay with you forever.

Note: Do follow the safety instructions and enjoy.

Thank Adventurer184158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you get down there it looks like a bit of a zoo...and is a bit. Lots of people but it is well organised. Everyone gets a briefing on not touching the Whale Sharks and staying in the exclusion zone. No flash or strobes and no sun cream. They also patrol that in the water so the vast majority of people do the right thing. You only get 30 minutes in the water (if snorkeling) and yes you could do more easily but its a reasonable amount of time. If you want more time and are a diver you are not restricted in the same way BUT I do not believe you get nearly as good a feel for the majesty of this animal. Get there early...and I mean early or be prepared for a decent wait.

1  Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to go to Cebu specifically to see the whale sharks, and it was well worth it. We read some reviews prior to the experience complaining about tour guides and tourists. So we decided not to book a tour, and go by ourselves.

Definitely worth it! We took the bus from Cebu city (200PHP/pax for A/C bus) to stay in a hotel that had a free shuttle to the whale shark experience. There is no need to pay a guide to take you around, as everyone around you (on the bus, driving the boat, etc.) speaks perfect English. We went early in the morning, around 7:00 AM to avoid the tourists, and it wasn't too crowded. The snorkels are included in the price of the ticket, which is just 1,000 PHP/pax plus 100 environmental fee. This is a very good price for what it is-swimming up close and personal with sharks.

You have to listen to a very short demo (about 5 minutes) about what to avoid when you get in the water. As long as you are a careful eco tourist, you shouldn't mind the experience. We read some sadly stated reviews about damaging the wildlife, but that didn't appear to be a problem. The fishermen do feed the sharks to attract them to the area, but the food is plankton, which is part of their natural diet. As long as you are a responsible tourist (don't touch, don't feed, don't wear sunscreen), this should be as enjoyable an experience as you will have.

Thank amethyste2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is an awesome experience. Local boatmen men the actual tour and takes people to the area for a close encounter with the gentle giants. Boatmen knew how to handle tourists. They’ll take a picture of you. You can give them your go pro and they’ll take a picture of you with good angles and with the view of the whale sharks. Very helpful and proficient even with the amount of visitors. Lots of foreigners in the area. Overall, it’s a great experience.

Thank LibbbsPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am so amazed to see in real life the Whale Shark. The whale shark attraction is great experience so far. But I don't like the facilities of the resort. Lack of good toilets, Lack of Shower room. I want to suggest to this are to improve there facility. This place thousands of visitors coming to this place but lack of facilities. Please Develop your area in a comfortable the visitors need will fully satisfied to come here.

Thank markygo00143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews