We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time at Embassy Suites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanllee Hotel and Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vanllee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First time at Embassy Suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

Unlike a lot of the previous reviewers I have never stayed at another Embassy Suites Hotel. I found this place to be very comfortable, have plenty of space in the suite, one of the best breakfasts of my entire trip, and a great pool and spa for the end of the day.
The only reason I didn't give an Excellent rating is that one of the front desk staff had trouble understanding and helping me. I may be an Aussie but I think any English would have thrown him! He did, however, eventually find another staff member to assist me. If in the area I would have no hesitation choosing this Hotel again.

  • Liked — Big room and great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVidaGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    117
    120
    141
See reviews for
226
103
36
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

Not a bad hotel for the price ($119). Big rooms but a little dated. Not a typical Embassy Suites as it does not have a central area, you have to drive around to your gated entrance like a motel. Good breakfast in the morning with omlets. Manager reception at night with one free cocktail/beer. Pool seemed decent, but I did not use

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

My husband and I recently went to a 5 day class at Mt. Sac, and stayed at the Embassy suites. I enjoyed this little hotel, we have stayed at many embassy suites and have not been disappointed thus far. When we checked in we were not happy with our room it was near a noisy generator on the hotel grounds, I requested a move, I am a bit of a princess and the pea personality, when it comes to noise, smells, etc. They moved us right away to another room, but it smelled like cigarettes, apparently when ES took over this hotel, this was a smoking room but the smell never really came out. I asked to be moved again. they moved us immediately to a very nice quiet room. Yes, there were a few issues at check in , but they took care of them right away, and that gives them points in my book. In fact we went out after I requested a room change and they had moved all our luggage to the new room. The hotel is not brand new, but it has a lot of charm, the grounds are beautiful, lush and unique. The lobby is spanish style tile, masonry and wood that made me feel like I had just walked into a hotel in Puerta ViIlarta. The breakfast was the best I had ever had at a breakfast included hotel. There was a chef fixing eggs, pancakes, sausage etc. In addition to the normal fare, cereals, fruits, bagels, juices, all you could want at breakfast. Breakfast is served near the pool, so you can either eat in the large dining area or near the pool. The rooms had sliding glass doors, which I loved, I am a fresh air freak. The beds were comfortable the hotel was very clean, the staff was freindly, the pool is inviting. Good work Embassy suites.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dlight1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 30 years and it's just fine. I agree with those who found it not up to ES standards, but also with those who enjoyed it. I noticed this last trip that the beds are new; extremely comfortable! I believe this was built for Embassy Suites, BEFORE they got into the atrium idea. They were among the first to offer suites, and breakfast.

Once when we were staying here, many years ago, Trapper John was filming a TV episode and I sat in on it for the entire day. I'm sure they used it because the grounds and Spanish architecture are very appealing. It's just kind of 'old' now.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
Thank Sooz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

Embassy Suites is an excellent value with professional service. I have a hard time understand people like the last reviewer who are probably older, have alot of free time on their hands to nit-pick, and want many things for free (since they aren't working and don't have alot of extra cash).

I suggest old people stop leaching off society with social security, grand slam breakfasts discounts at Denny's, and handicap parking spaces at the mall - they should be locked down in retirement villages on the outskirts of town where nobody can hear their cries.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times, mostly when I can't get into the Embassy Suites in Arcadia. Hotels are only about 15 minutes away but it's like night and day.

Be warned that this not a typical Embassy Suites. I think it was probably converted from a motel some time ago - the room entrances are outside (and thus they won't deliver your room bill under your door on the day of checkout.) Parking is distributed around the hotel with various entrances to the hotel around the perimeter controlled by your room key. Still not bad, but if you're expecting the usual high-rise with an atrium in the middle ES this is not one of those.

Hotel has a tropical theme with palm trees and such around the pool and hot tub area. Room themselves are typical Embassy Suites rooms (which is to say pretty nice.) Breakfast is also typical ES style and I do love their breakfasts. Made to order eggs, pancakes, bacon, etc all made with a smile.

I have also noticed they frequently have large groups of teenage kids staying there and of course they tend to dominate the hotel. Doesn't bother me since I don't use the pool and they never get up early enough for breakfast to bother me, but If I was there with my family it would be an nuisance.

I prefer the ES in Arcadia, more typical ES style and they have free internet access. This one charges $10 per night which I think is ridiculous for wireless access that costs so little to install.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

This hotel is very cozy. Tucked off the Highway with a lot of trees. It is almost an apartment feel. Close to the Mall and the largest IKEA store I have ever seen! Fantastic room service and made to order breakfast (free) every morning. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn West Covina
Holiday Inn West Covina
#4 of 7 in West Covina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Covina Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/West Covina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Of West Covina
Days Inn Of West Covina
#5 of 7 in West Covina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Los Angeles West Covina
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Dimas - Fairplex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanllee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanllee Hotel and Suites

Property: Vanllee Hotel and Suites
Address: 1211 East Garvey Street, Covina, CA 91724
Location: United States > California > Covina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanllee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be transported to exceptional, comfortable suites steeped in unique architecture, stylish amenities, and charming gardens. At Vanllee Hotel and Suites, you will be warmly welcomed with passionately opened doors, with the pride and true spirit of an extraordinary destination, naturally inspired. Our skilled and motivated staff is committed to naturally deliver on these promises. Experience a local authentic reflection of energy, culture, and history that makes Vanllee Hotel and Suites such a Southern California, Los Angeles, and local Covina landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Vanllee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Covina
Radisson Covina
Covina Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing