We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, 2 room suites, wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vanllee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is an ex Embassy Suites property. The rooms are two room suites and very large (sofa bed in living room area, refrigerator, and microwave. The furniture is a little older, but the property is really nice (great pool & jacuzzi area).

The location is conveniently located adjacent to the freeway, but we didn't hear any freeway noise inside the room. They offer a cocktail hour with appetizers and also a buffet breakfast with an omlette station - not included in regular room rate.

We were very pleasantly surprised and we will be staying here again the next time we're in the area. You really can't beat the VALUE of the property, especially when you compare the prices to the other properties in the area. The cost was about the price of a Best Western, but with two room suites and a very large and nice pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiAmorEterno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 549 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed one night in this nice hotel. Location is not so perfect, since there are hardly services on the walking distance. Lobby looks marvellous. Excellent customer service. Rooms were huge with separate bed room. Nice swimming pool on the inner yard. Free parking. Breakfast quite poor. Would have expected more from Radisson brand's breakfast. Nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were in the area visitng colleges and want a nice base camp hotel - and thought that the Radisson Suites would be a great option. I guess that the Radisson is buying up old hotels and using their name to market them. The place was clean, staff was nice, but it was a 1950's hotel with was new finishes. I almost kept driving - so many other choices near by. I should have know something when we checked in we had to sign a waiver that we wouldn't smoke, have pets and PARTY!.. this place has seen some great parties. It is right on the freeway so if freeway traffic is the white noise that helps you sleep this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul E, General Manager at Vanllee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Park Inn by Radisson around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and our hotel staff.

However, it sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the age of the building and the signing of the waiver. We will look into this. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Abdul El-Mekhgiange
General Manager

Abdul El-Mekhgiange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Park Inn in Covina is actually a 1.5 to 2 star hotel – definitely NOT a three star hotel!! This hotel is the same quality as a Days Inn or Travelodge.

Horribly slow internet – and very unreliable – you’ll have to sign in multiple times each day and the signal will be lost multiple times each day.

Most of the employees are friendly and try to be helpful, with the exception of the general mgr and one clerk (Alex) who are inept and just plain rude!

If you happen to book this hotel through any source other than their website – beware – you will be treated like you’re a bother to the staff here. They don’t want your business unless you book directly with them. We experienced this time and time again.

Their staff (including maintenance, desk clerks and the general manager) enters the room without notice, without knocking, and without a reason – and offers no explanation for this, much less an apology.

Rooms aren’t bad, for short term stays and for two people. For more than that – choose a hotel that specializes in extended stays. You’ll thank me!

The sofa bed is a killer - worst i've ever seen in any hotel.

They do not have a guest laundry, despite their advertisements and map stating that they do. Their “fitness center” is a tiny room with 3 pieces of exercise equipment.

Smoking is not permitted in the rooms, but there are almost always tons of people standing outside their room (and they’ll be outside your room, too!) smoking. You’ll be able to smell the smoke all throughout your room, even if your door and windows are closed. And, you have to constantly walk through cigarette smoke, just to get to your room. So, this is NOT really a “nonsmoking” hotel.

Their breakfast is a joke. This is a typical hotel breakfast that is complimentary at most hotels. Actually, better quality hotels serve much better breakfast buffets than Park Inn – all complimentary. At Park Inn, the price is about $23 for two people, and that doesn’t include the “custom made omelet”.

Their room service food is okay, but terribly overpriced for this level hotel. And, good luck getting a menu – they’re “working on that”. “We’re working on that” is their answer to everything that’s missing at this place!

If you’re looking for a decent room at a decent price, skip this hotel and go with another chain. Apparently, the Park Inn is a newer product offered by Radisson. This particular hotel is still in the process of converting to the Park Inn name – from being a “regular” Radisson. They were downgraded by their own corporate company! :)

Room Tip: You're going to walk a lot, just from the parking lots to your room. The hotel is laid out with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank turtlegal0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked this hotel with club carlson points. I was concerned after I read other reviews but I decided to give it a shot. It was an older hotel and right by the freeway. But I guess we got a renovated room so it's actually look exactly like their picture on the website. The lobby was very far from our room that we have to drive to our room. No shuttle service as well,so I'd recommended for those who drive. Also, the elevator is quite slow but we only have carry-ons so we walked the stairs instead. I checked the website the rate is very cheap so it's an ok budget hotel with a lot of spaces

Room Tip: Choose the side that face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were surprised when we found the address. It's a motel right along-side Highway 10. The sign says PARK INN with Radisson taped in small font below. We checked in hoping that the inside would be better but it's not. We got a first floor room because we are not sure this place even has elevator. The noises of Highway 10 can be heard from both sides. Astonishingly, that's not the noise that kept woke me up at night. High-heels and luggaguages got dragged through hallway and upstairs. People talking, people spitting, people pounding on doors, statics from security or police ... it's like a zoo. No medium or small towels, the lint from the big towel came off all over the place. One can guess how that feels when you are trying to dry yourself after a shower. Microwave had a big suspicious spot on the inside door. Pretty much we were afraid of touching anything in the room. And the room stinked, the source of the smell is dubious, cigarettes and something else ...

I wrote to Priceline.com complaining about rating this hotel 3-star, did not get any reply. This hotel completely ruined my trust of priceline.com and Radisson's standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, General Manager at Vanllee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Good afternoon Ms. Daisy,

Thank you for taking the time to reach to us about the challenges you had faced during your stay at our Hotel the Park Inn by Radisson. We understand how important a quite environment is and we apologize about the noise from the freeway and the hallway. I have instructed our security to be extra quite while walking the hallway and also asked them if they see people in front of the rooms to direct them to the lobby, and as for the towel and the microwave I had shred your comments with our housekeeping manager and was instructed to follow up on the matter. I am truly sorry that the Price line never responded back to you but if you provide me with your full name so I could contact Price line and see if I could talk to them and try to compensate you for part of your stay will be greatly appreciated. Below is my e-mail and phone number for you to contact me.

Best regards,

Abdul El-Mekhgiange
General Manager

Abdul.el-mekhgiange@parkinn.com

626-543-1026

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

For the past 4 years my husband and I have booked a room at the Radisson Suites in Covina CA. We go every year to spend Christmas with my children and family. Over the past 4 years the hotel has deteriorated.
The stairs are dingy, poorly lit and broken. The elevators are slow...some not even working.
Altho some rooms have been remodeled...many are still waiting remodel!
The good part? The staff and check in process.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn West Covina
Holiday Inn West Covina
#3 of 7 in West Covina
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Of West Covina
Days Inn Of West Covina
#5 of 7 in West Covina
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus West Covina Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/West Covina
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Los Angeles West Covina
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Baldwin Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanllee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanllee Hotel and Suites

Address: 1211 E Garvey St, Covina, CA 91724-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Covina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanllee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be transported to exceptional, comfortable suites steeped in unique architecture, stylish amenities, and charming gardens. At Vanllee Hotel and Suites, you will be warmly welcomed with passionately opened doors, with the pride and true spirit of an extraordinary destination, naturally inspired. Our skilled and motivated staff is committed to naturally deliver on these promises. Experience a local authentic reflection of energy, culture, and history that makes Vanllee Hotel and Suites such a Southern California, Los Angeles, and local Covina landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vanllee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing