We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling premises with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vanllee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
SF
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Struggling premises with lovely staff”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our group stayed at this hotel for a week. Rooms were changed once, twice and even three times by one of us. It was difficult because they have found a niche with an international crowd who smokes, in the front of the hotel, in front of their rooms and in front of where breakfast is served. This can be challenging for those of us who are not used to cigarette exposure.
The staff was very helpful on various things, adjusting room heat settings, providing extra blankets and you really felt they were doing the best they could.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the highway side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiant360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    117
    121
    143
See reviews for
227
103
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here Thanksgiving night. Based on the mixed reviews, we were a little hesitant, but thought we'd give it a try anyway. We'll definitely be back!

The person who checked us in, Christine, was an absolute delight. I'm sure she would have rather been with her family on Thanksgiving Day, but she sure didn't let that show. She greeted us with a cheerful, "Happy Thanksgiving!" She then completed our check-in in a most friendly and helpful way. Not only did she make us not feel guilty for checking in on a holiday (I hate making others work on holidays...) she actually made us feel welcome as if she was glad we were there.

Our suite was recently remodeled - new carpet, new paint, new furniture, 2 LCD TVs, new bathroom (except tub/shower). They even got rid of the old popcorn texture stuff on the ceiling. Nothing to complain about regarding the room at all.

The hotel is set up around a courtyard area which is beautifully landscaped. Several nice areas to sit outside at tables or on benches and enjoy the California weather. Breakfast outside was wonderful!

This is an old property, and some of the outside could use a fresh coat of paint or something to brighten it up. But the landscaping is beautiful and the rooms (at least the one we stayed in) are newly remodeled. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the freeway,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calif0rnia_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business from November 16-17. The front desk personnel are excellent: the check in was fast, and when I had a problems with my room (too close to the highway and rundown), they were eager to find me a quieter room and did so within minutes. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Here is a detailed list of the problems that I encountered:

Some suites need to have furniture and/or carpet upgraded, as they are worn. (This was true of the first suite that I was given.)

The swimming pool was too cold to swim in. I called in advance to verify that indeed, the swimming pool was heated and received an affirmative response as I had expected. (When I stayed here last May, it was.) I put my hand in the pool to test it, and it was ICE COLD. I called the front desk, and they said,"We will have someone call you in the morning." That was the day that I had to check out, so I never learned what the problem was and never had a chance to swim.

The fitness center needs to be upgraded with a few weight machines. The hotel only has two treadmills, one of which was not working, and another aerobic machine.

In the bathroom, there was no spool for the toilet paper. (I found this very strange.) Also, the device that allows hot water to go up to the shower (and not in the bathtub) needed to be replaced; too much water escaped through the faucet.

The sleep number device was not working in my suite, so I couldn't adjust the bed.

If I had to give the hotel a grade, it would be a C+.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of Interstate 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vazzinpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I hate to give this place a negative review, because I liked it--sort of, in a strange way. But really, it wasn't a nice hotel.

Let's start out with the good stuff: The staff. I found everyone that I interacted with to be very helpful. The front desk staff person was expecially friendly and helpful, even when I requested to change rooms--which often doesn't make for friendly interactions. Another plus--the buildings themselves are pretty, in an Old California or Mexico kind of way. In fact, the whole place reminded me of a medium-budget Mexican hotel. Maybe that's why I liked it? Third, the gardens were lovely--mature palm trees, lovely pool area, etc. Fourth, the rooms (suites) are quite spacious. The room that I ended up in had *three* sinks. I don't even have that at home. And my steak sandwich at the restaurant was quite good.

And now for the negatives. The big thing is that the place is just dingy. It needs a good scrub and a coat of paint and someone in charge who hates dirt and who will banish it from the premises. If the windows and lights and public spaces were sparkling clean, things would look a lot better. The elevators were embarrassingly shabby. Most of the paint is brown, which doesn't help. And it smells of both mildew (I think from the efforts to keep the tropical gardens alive) and cigarette smoke. There were a LOT of smokers loitering about. I wondered if the place has gotten a reputation as smoker-friendly--maybe because of the external hallways that make for easy access to the outdoors? The first room I checked into reeked of smoke, and I requested a change. The next room smelled just a little bit of smoke, and I tolerated it.

Other things: The fan for my air conditioning never turned off in the three nights that I was there. My first room had brand new furniture, but a carpet (looked new) that was badly stained beyond repair. My second room had furniture from the 1970's--kind of cool, actually--and was actually in better shape. Breakfast was mostly mediocre--I didn't bother eating the dried-out danish, but the fruit salad was excellent. Just like eating fresh fruit in a hotel in Mexico by the beach.

Overall, if I were paying $30 for a beach front hotel in Mexico, I might have found all of this more charming. Maybe. But for a business trip in the USA, it was all just sub-par. I really hope they do better, because I think it has the potential to be a really cool hotel.

Room Tip: Aim for a room nearer the front of the building--maybe near the pool. The place is a maze, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, General Manager at Vanllee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Radisson Suites Covina. We appreciate that you have brought to our attention issues that arose while you were a guest of the hotel, I have shared all your comments with our department head and we will take care of them all.


Please accept our sincere apologizes for the problems you experienced and we hope that you will give us the chance in the near future to provide you with the level of service we demand from ourselves to all guests of the Radisson Suites Covina.

Sincerely,



Abdul El-Mekhgiange
General Manager

626-915-3441
abdul@radissonsuitescovina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covina hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

When I checked in the lobby I felt fine, but by the time I got to my room I was upset. The carpet had stains, the TV remote did not work. I did not feel relaxed. The sliding glass door's handle and lock were gone, good thing I was not in the first floor. The bed linen was clean and the bed was comfortable. The noise from the fwy was very loud. New glass doors would of helped that. The towels were clean. The sliding bathroom door needed oiling. When I called for a remote for the TV no one answered at the front desk. All and all I was uncomfortable.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, General Manager at Vanllee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Radisson Suites Covina. We appreciate that you have brought to our attention issues that arose while you were a guest of the hotel, I have addressed your concern with our staff and we are working on getting them resolved.


Please accept our sincere apologizes for the problems you experienced and we hope that you will give us the chance in the near future to provide you with the level of service we demand from ourselves to all guests of the Radisson Suites Covina, and when you plan on coming to visit please contact me and I will make sure that you are well taken care of.

Best regards,
Abdul El-Mekhgiange
General Manager
626-915-3441
abdul@radissonsuitescovina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here one night. The hotel is like a campus so be prepared to walk a ways and navigate the exterior hallways before finding your room.
The room itself was quite nice. The common areas of the hotel are looking rather tired and frayed.
Yes, the bed is nice but the bedding itself was a bit disappointing (not down comforter or pillows). The sleep number bed is good and you can adjust the firmness if you can figure the remote out.

Biggest draw back was that I couldnt get an internet connection in my room. The signals were strong but there was something wrong. When I went to the breakfast room I was able to get a working wifi connection. I couldnt work as a result from the breakfast area for long however, it was too busy and not private.

The price was good and if it wasnt for the internet I would have probably given it a four. Reliable internet is a must however.

Please note- this hotel seems to cater to large tour groups so be prepared for buses and tourists.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the highway which is adjacent to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pros
-Big Rooms
-SleepNumber Beds
-Recently Renovated
-Good Breakfast
-Helpful Service
-Courtyard
-Quiet Rooms (even on I-10 side)
Cons
-Little run down in certain places.
-Pool is cold (like very cold)

Room Tip: The highway side is very quiet so it does not matter on which side you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covina
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus West Covina Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn West Covina
Holiday Inn West Covina
#4 of 7 in West Covina
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/West Covina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Of West Covina
Days Inn Of West Covina
#5 of 7 in West Covina
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Los Angeles West Covina
5.0 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in City of Industry
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanllee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanllee Hotel and Suites

Property: Vanllee Hotel and Suites
Address: 1211 E Garvey St, Covina, CA 91724-3666
Location: United States > California > Covina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanllee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be transported to exceptional, comfortable suites steeped in unique architecture, stylish amenities, and charming gardens. At Vanllee Hotel and Suites, you will be warmly welcomed with passionately opened doors, with the pride and true spirit of an extraordinary destination, naturally inspired. Our skilled and motivated staff is committed to naturally deliver on these promises. Experience a local authentic reflection of energy, culture, and history that makes Vanllee Hotel and Suites such a Southern California, Los Angeles, and local Covina landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vanllee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing