We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Fonda Don Chon Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Covina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Friendly servers and great food! I love the tropical chicken salad!! Sunday Brunch is delicious as well! It's reasonably priced for the quality food!

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Locals' favorite for all palates”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Do not let the name of this restaurant fool you; this is a first-class Mexican restaurant with a really delicious buffet as well as order-off-the-menu items. There is usually a 15-minute wait around the lunch hour, but it’s completely worth it. The food is genuine, the service is superb, and the prices are excellent. This is a locals-only place, and has maintained the charm of the *barrio fonda* from the interior of Mexico. We had a wonderful lunch here while visiting friends in West Covina, and were treated like royalty by our waiter and the hostess despite the busy setting. If you are after absolutely genuine Mexican food, make the trip to Fonda don Chon. It’s definitely worth it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Found this place from the site. Very good home made style Mexican food. Went there on Sunday. It's buffet. Smell but good food. Not too many choice but all hit the right spot. Service is quick and good as well. Well for suer go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Qrottyspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great buffet!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Love the food at this restaurant. We started visiting the restaurant in May 2009 and continued to bring my dad at least once a month. My dad passed in march 2012 and I couldn't find myself going back to Don Chon's for a awhile. In 2013 my husband and I revisited and the food was wonderful. The dishes have an authentic Mexican home cooking flavor. There's always plenty of choices for main entrees and their fresh salad and fruits are always delicious. The hand made style tortillas round off the meal perfectly. The price is very reasonable and the service is always great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have been coming here for their lunch buffet and enjoyed all items every time. I especially like their soups, hot and steamy but flavorful. Salad and fruit always fresh, they always have papaya which I like. Lunch buffet used to be something like $6.99 but when we went yesterday, it was up to $8.99. Still good but with the price hike, we may not come as often. Service was still wonderful though. Prepare to wait in line. We took the patio table with no wait time but it was a little too hot outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Don Chon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fonda Don Chon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing