We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
The Olive Store Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Olive Store Cottage.
With a private garden and 3 acres of olive groves in which to relax and explore. In autumn. Looking over the cottage and down the valley to the sea and the distant Island of Evia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Olive Store Cottage.
With a private garden and 3 acres of olive groves in which to relax and explore.
In autumn. Looking over the cottage and down the valley to the sea and the distant Island of Evia
The living room, with log burner and dining and sitting area. These can be used as addtional beds.
The upstairs double bedroom with additional single bed. Stairs to living room and door to outside.
The downstairs double bedroom with additional single bed. With doors to Kitchen and outside terrace
View of cottage from the fruit orchard.
The fabulous nearby Mikro beach. A 10 minute walk from Platania by footpath or by boat in summer
A view overlooking the nearby village of Platanias and it's beach. The far beach is Mikro.
Winter Olive tree pruning, we have fabulous wild flowers from January through to May.
Looking up to the owners house. Use wi-fi on our outside covered terrace or share a glass of wine.
In the summer we can take you to explore some wonderful hidden beaches on our boat Kaliope.
Sailing with Kaliope and friends......
October at Mikro beach, what makes Pelion so special is that it is so uncrowded and unspoilt.
Our entrance gate. We are 5 minutes by car (4km) to Platanias and the same distance to Promyri.
Spring flowers on our land at Randi. The roof of the cottage can just be seen...
More wild flowers at the cottage..... (in April)
Sailing to Horto in early May...  anyone for a coffee, or a beer??
The old threshing floor is used for occasional concerts or events .Visitors are welcome to use it.
Pelion has a great ski centre, small and friendly but plenty of fun for a few days.
January sunshine, the garden is green and winter wild flowers are appearing.
It is 3km on the old stone path to Platanias or Promyri, beautiful views and wonderful nature.
A warm welcome awaits you whatever the season...  at Olive Store Cottage.
Dinghy sailing fun at Mikro beach.
We are happy to take visitors on our Topper Topaz dinghy for some informal sailing lessons....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sarah E
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Olive store cottage

Thank you once again to Chris and Kathryn for another a wonderful week at Olive Store Cottage. This time visiting with three girlfriends to enjoy the walking, talking and wild flowers. Highlights of the week were body balance work outs with Nicole on the terrace. Looking out at the wonderful views across Platania Bay whilst trying to find my inner goddess and remain upright was an experience I will never forget. Watching the dolphins playing across the bow wake from Kaliope, being welcomed into a 70th birthday party and joining in with the singing, the best stuffed vine leaves ever at the taverna in Promyri, lazy breakfasts on the terrace, fantastic walks along the Kalderimis and some very competitive scrabble.
The cottage was scrupulously clean, well equipped and Chris and Kathryn so kind and helpful. A truly wonderful holiday.
We will be back
Sarah

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you again and with a new group of friends to discover our lovely area. It was a lot of fun to have you as our guests and to be involved in a few adventures together walking and sailing. We look forward to your next visit, with best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisonric...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Proper Rest...”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous place the Olive Store Cottage is! This is the perfect holiday if you want to get away from it all. The location is amazing, the views are spectacular and Chris and Kathryn are really wonderful hosts. They will accompany you on walks and fill you in on the history of the Kalderimi. They will join you for a meal and regale you with amusing stories all evening. However, they are discreet and not intrusive - a perfect combination. It usually takes me a few days to wind down from the pressures of life when on holiday. But here, this happened on our first walk on day one! It then just kept on getting better. The nightingales sang. The sun shone (although was perfect walking temperature for the beginning of May) and we ate and laughed and talked. The price for this seclusion and perfection is a three hour drive from Thessaloniki Airport. However, even that was very easy especially with impeccable directions from Chris. I really cannot fault it. Sublime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you for the great review and we are delighted that you discovered this fabulous area and enjoyed your stay in the cottage. It was a lot of fun for us too. We hope you come and visit us again sometime soon. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrf118
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Pelion”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Olive Store is a gem with beautiful gardens and a great view of the sea and the islands beyond. It’s a perfect base for numerous different walks through the gorgeous Pelion countryside. The cottage is clean and comfortable with enough equipment to cook simple meals. There’s fresh cool spring water and really enjoyed the outside shower (plenty of hot water). It’s an hour’s walk to Platanias but recommend a drive to the bakery in the morning to pick up fresh bread for breakfast, and don’t forget to try some the coconut macaroons and cinnamon biscuits! Best of all is the hospitality from Chris and Kathryn who go above and beyond offering suggestions, guidance, lifts, a boat trip (we saw dolphins!), interesting stories, useful facts, wine and other provisions on arrival and even a Greek lesson over a glass of wine! I won’t spend time here listing the walks we did and tavernas we visited as C&K are much more qualified to advise. We were there in early May so saw no other tourists at all and the weather was changeable, but I suspect this would be a very relaxing place to go at any time of the year. Just inhale the orange blossom and listen to the birdsong….

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed your visit and being able to help out with your walking program. It was a pleasure to take you sailing and to pick you up at the end of your one way walk... Certainly Pelion has a lot of variety in all the seasons of the year. We hope you are able to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Olive store heaven”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

You know the place, like from the movie, when somebody wants to hide from everything and just feel good? Yeah, it really exists. I remember when my boyfriend found the Olive store cottage on the Internet and he was talking about it how great is this place. It sounded like a kind of a fiction – there is a couple from Great Britain and they have this small charming cottage in Greece on an half island called Pelion, they make olive oil and just harvested the oranges, and they also have a boat and really like to make trip on it with their guests. But you know what? It is all true. My friends and me, we just clipped in the house and it is not just the house what is really charming. We are proud to say, that the hosts – Chris and Katherine are not just hosts to us. They became our friends. We spent a lot of time together during our holiday – we had great dinner in local tavern with the funniest owner I have ever met, went sailing (I rode a boat, can you believe it!) and just enjoy the time of joy and happiness. I have a strange feeling people just forgot to be.. you know.. just happy. To enjoy the basic things. I know, there are a lot of bad things happening right now in the world. But we need to keep hoping - in ourselves, in the future. That is why somebody invented holidays. In Pelion. At Chriss’s and Katherine’s house. It is amazing, just believe me. And if you won’t like it, I’ll buy you a beer :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
Thank you for this lovely review. We had such a lot of fun being your hosts for the second time. We surely hope that we will be able to welcome you again some time. Best wishes. Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binallthi...
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay in South Pelion”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second holiday we've spent in Olive Store Cottage and loved it as much this year as last year.

Very comfortable spotless cottage with a number of sitting areas outside. Comfortable beds and good showers, one of which is outside. Great for cooling down. The cottage sits on its own and feels very private and separate from Chris and Kathryn's house which is higher up the hill. The house is set high above the coast with views to the sea. The nearest town, Platanias, is 10 minutes' drive, with great restaurants and a relaxing atmosphere. Micro Beach, a kilometre from Platanias is well worth a visit with its great little taverna. There's a very good selection of books, DVDs, maps, etc.

A number of pretty little beaches a short drive from the house. Wonderful for walks, short and longer. The house is ideally situated for short tours around South Pelion.

Chris and Kathryn are wonderful hosts with a very wide knowledge of the area and Pelion in general. We plan to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Thank you for your review and for choosing to make a return visit to Olive Store Cottage. About 50% of our visitors return regularly and thus treat the cottage as their own home from home, the more they do so, the more there is to discover in this peaceful rural paradise. The distance from the cottage to Platania is 4km by road and 3km by the footpath so for us takes 5 minutes by car but I know if you like to stop and enjoy the view it might take you 10!! We very much look forward to welcoming you again before too long. With best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyle_mi...
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restful place, great owners”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage. All the five star reviews are right on the button. We also enjoyed a lovely boat trip with Chris and Kathryn, who are well established pillars of the Pelion community - restoring Kalderimi, lobbying for new flights to Volos and organising walks. Superb !Mathanks !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Olive Store Cottage. Our 2015 summer season is now at an end and it has been excellent ( we seem to have as much enjoyment from being the hosts as our visitors do from staying here!) We plan to make 2016 just as good and hope to be able to welcome you here again some time. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire d
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage one week early August 2015, on friends advice, and we couldn't imagine it would be so nice!!! The cottage was perfect for our family (with 3 children from 5 to 11 years old), close to the beach and Chis & Kath were very kind with us. We felt like home.
We had a wonderful time there. Like the owners, we fell in love with the Pelion and we are looking forward to coming back very soon! Kind regards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chris & Kathryn!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2015
It was absolutely perfect for us too!! We look forward to welcoming you all again some time. With best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing