We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penon Blanco Lookout
Ranked #1 of 3 Coulterville B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2007

What a fabulous place to stay for our honeymoon! Private, secluded, fireplace and LCD 30" TV in our room. Bidet in our bathroom. Spa right outside our private entrance with a spectacular view of local mountains and Lake McClure reservoir. Hospitality was unsurpassable and the food was well over 5 stars. We would recommend Penon Blanco Lookout as a fantastic honeymoon getaway.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PearSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Penon Blanco Lookout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2007

Penon Blanco Lookout, a Unique Bed and Breakfast is a true find!
This charming B & B went beyond its affordable price by offering 5 star hospitality, ammenities, and romantic, casual elegance. The eggs benedict and four course breakfasts were also scrumptious!
I would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone with a flair for adventure and an appreciation for the beauty and serenity of nature, who is looking to take their time to savor a taste of not only Yosemite National Park, but of the local history of Gold Country's cattle ranches and mining towns.
Penon Blanco lookout, a Unique Bed and Breakfast truly took us away from the typical tourist clamor... to a rustic, intimate, much sought after, undiscovered hideaway.
Jerryl, Orlando, FL.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yursweetart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

lovely stay, amazing views, breakfast was good, a nice treat to start the day. i have to agree its quite a drive to yosemite, but so are most hotels etc unless you actually stay in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gwynanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Europe
1
Reviewed June 14, 2006

If your primary goal is the pilgrimage to Yosemite, you probably find this B&B too far from your destination and the roads – too winding and bumpy for ‘fast tourism’.
But when you finally shake off the crowds (avoid Yosemite at weekends if you can), you’ll find heavenly peace up the Penon Blanco Rd. There on the top of the hill the winds are singing and the spirits are dancing overlooking the lake (an artificial reservoir but it doesn’t really matter). In order to keep all these creatures outside you have to keep the blinds shut and your shoes off. But these strict rules become understandable when you see the interior of the house. A dream, where every detail is arranged with love and imagination.
The same applies to their breakfast. A rare 5-star hotel serves such a perfect form and content. Marge and Wolfgang really do their best to accommodate you in all possible ways. Including a free bottle of local wine every night.
Any negative points? Well, I wished the cats showed up more, they were quite shy.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

Penon Blanco is in a beautiful location, but too far from Yosemite Park. Long drive for multiple day stay and there is nothing else around it. Breakfast OK, nothing spectular. Host are very nice and willing to help. Home of two large Rottweiler dogs which we were unaware of until we got there.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kspaulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2004

I stayed at this B&B some three years ago and I am still trying to find out that come close in excellence. From the friendliest hosts, delicious breakfasts (4 courses), and its beautiful top of the hill location, this place is a perfect retreat. The drive to Yosemite National Park is a scenic adventure of its own. Just great!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
56
Reviewed June 19, 2004

Fantastic views, awesome place to put an outdoor hot tub! Lovely rooms, helpful + friendly hosts. Excellent food, although slightly too fancy for my taste on the 1st morning.

A very nice 1 hr drive from Yosemite Valley. 4 miles from Coulterville, which now has a very good restaurant in the Jeffreys Hotel.

The only downsides were the bumpy, twisty road to reach it, and the fact that it was a long way from civilisation for just 2 nights' stay!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
20.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
23.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Coulterville
85 reviews
12.0 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penon Blanco Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penon Blanco Lookout

Address: 4705 Penon Blanco Rd, Coulterville, CA 95311-9702
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Hotel Class:4 star — Penon Blanco Lookout 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penon Blanco Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penon Blanco Lookout Hotel Coulterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing