We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penon Blanco Lookout
Ranked #1 of 3 Coulterville B&B and Inns
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife, Peggy, and I visited Penon Blanco Lookout in early June of 2008. I could go on and on about how wonderful our stay was; however, you would not have time to read this entire entry. I will tell you that we found everything promised in Penon Blanco’s website and advertisements to be accurate, if not a bit understated. The bed and breakfast is beautiful. It is isolated from the rest of the world, yet, has every convenience that one could imagine: clean, quiet, comfortable, and relaxing rooms; beautiful vistas; two friendly dogs; 4 donkeys, and lots of wildlife. Margie and Wolfgang were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome to be in their home. They were also incredibly helpful. As I was planning our trip I emailed Margie for directions from Lake Tahoe. Not only did she give me directions, she offered expert local advice on sights to see along the route, as well as, where the best local eateries could be found. Margie also gave Peggy and me tips on what to do; where to eat; and most importantly, where to park in San Francisco.

Here’s some inside advice. If you stay at Penon Blanco Lookout, ask if you can go up their private lane to the abandoned fire station that sits on top of Penon Blanco Ridge. On a good day (or better yet, evening) you can see all the way across the Central Valley of California. This is an unforgettable experience.

In short, Penon Blanco Lookout truly is a wonderful and unique experience. I would/will not hesitate to return there for a future visit.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftyhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed in their John Muir suite. It was cozy and nice. The owners care about your overall experiece and have built a very nice B&B. Great place to stay on your way to Yosemite. They provided some interesting local attactions.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweetmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

This is a relaxed and relaxing B&B that will have a special place in our hearts. It's remote and that's just what we bargained for - yet the amenities are first rate. The inn is a unique western US cum Austria melange. So are it's owners -- great people with just the right attitude for the altitude! A couple of visits to the hot tub, and a glass of wine, and the view and you'll forget all about the rat race. Also, the breakfasts are one-of-a-kind, not to forget. Since it's a bit out of the way, so are the other visitors - never failed to strike up a fine conversation over breakfast, but plenty of room for plenty of privacy when you want. You won't regret it (unless you're looking for the Top of the Mark -- it's about 100 miles due west)!

  • Liked — away from everything
  • Disliked — very limited area restaurant choices
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Boblikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista California
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed at Penon Blanco for a weekend to celebrate our 1st year anniversary and we LOVED it! The room was cozy and clean...the food FANTASTIC! the whole place is just amazing, furnished tastefully and comfortably...with an amazing view from our balcony and a jacuzzi just for us...we felt like celebrities! Although not so close to the park, the drive was fun and without surprises...We totally recommend this wonderful B&B where you get a LOT more for your money!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank Lilibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We spent two days at the Penon Blanco Lookout Bed & Breakfast. It was a quaint and quiet place to visit. The room was wonderful and comfortable. The view from the deck was beautiful and the star gazing was fantastic! I really enjoyed the breakfasts.

I highly recommend a visit!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — getting in and out of the claw footed bath tub
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

A truly excellent place, we stayed with our two children and found the room delightfull. The view is spectacular, the house has been furnished with charm and a keen attention to detail. The hosts are charming, welcoming and knowledgable.

The drive to the park is about 1.5 hours through nice scenery, the nearby town (Coulterville) has charm and decent food.

A stay here is a holiday in itself, and the food is exceptional, although four courses at breakfast can be a challenge.

  • Liked — Hosts, view, stillness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cjkcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2007

What a fabulous place to stay for our honeymoon! Private, secluded, fireplace and LCD 30" TV in our room. Bidet in our bathroom. Spa right outside our private entrance with a spectacular view of local mountains and Lake McClure reservoir. Hospitality was unsurpassable and the food was well over 5 stars. We would recommend Penon Blanco Lookout as a fantastic honeymoon getaway.

  • Liked — Being in the woods away from town
  • Disliked — A little chilly at night
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PearSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
7.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
23.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
22.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
7.6 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Coulterville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penon Blanco Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penon Blanco Lookout

Property: Penon Blanco Lookout
Address: 4705 Penon Blanco Rd, Coulterville, CA 95311-9702
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penon Blanco Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penon Blanco Lookout Hotel Coulterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing