We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penon Blanco Lookout
Ranked #1 of 3 Coulterville B&B and Inns
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Everyting was great!! awesome food, the room was excellent the service.... wao Margie and Wolfgang they were amazing with us oh and the music in the breakfast everyrhing is excellent thanks!!! THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE. BEST VACATIONS EVER. YOU HAVE TO GO THERE. They make feel like a king.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauriciorodri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perry, oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at this B & B in May as it was close to Yosemite and we were pleasantly surprised at the attention we received from our host. Extremely satisfied with our stay and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west suburban chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Although most bed and breakfasts cater to adults, the owners made my son feel welcome. The view from our room was nothing short of breathtaking. The breakfast was the best we've ever had! We've already recommended Penon Blanco to our family who live in California.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We found the Penon Blanco Lookout online, and chose it because of their proximity to Yosemite, but we would definitely return just for this fabulous B&B and the beautiful setting it is in.

A warm welcome, very comfortable room, delicious breakfast, attentive hosts, all make Penon Blanco a really fantastic place to stay.

We slept in the Lookout room, with a balcony on two sides, huge windows. Very comfortable and clean. The room has a small fridge which was stocked with water, sodas, and our choice of beers (we could have had wine).

Top tip would be - arrive early enough to use the spa pool. Its out on the deck and at night the sky is so dark you can see more stars than I have ever seen in my whole life!

I only wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have stayed at countless B&B's and this one rates right up at the top. if you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place. it is very secluded at the top of a mountain, the views of the lake were wonderful. The hosts were great, a little quriky, but that added to the charm. The room was clean and nice, the bed comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbsvw2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnea
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

When we travel without kids we like to stay at B&B, and this was a nice place. Good views of the lake, well kept and clean B&B and nice roomy accomodations with a fridge in the room. The host is a bit particular, but is friendly. We were out at Yosemite most of the time, so we spent less time at the B&B than we did outdoors, but it was a nice place to come back to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lookout room...nice view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at this cozy B&B. We were looking for an accommodation close to the Yosemite Park, but it being summer we had no luck with that and ended up with the reservation at Penon Blanco Lookout!

I always had this dream of staying in a log cabin on a short vacation and I'd like to think that my dream unfolded into reality when I stepped inside the room we were allotted at the basement of this B & B.

The room had wooden floor, ceiling and walls with ample wooden furniture & an interior decor which will speak volumes about the animal-lover inn keeper. And we had our own private deck facing the breathtaking view of the beautiful Lake McClure and its engulfing mountains. A hot tub on the terrace was an alluring bonus which we never used. Being there during the full moon summer nights, we enjoyed the moon light bathing us, for the time that we spent outside relaxing on the open terrace.

Excellent choicest breakfast, which I could not finish on both the mornings! Some yummy and eclectic home cooked food for sure! There were a lot of little extras in the garb of personal touch that made our stay more exciting from the mint on the pillow to the Estée Lauder eye make-up remover kept on the vanity. Also, it was nice to find a bottle of red wine waiting for us in the little refrigerator when we the twosome returned to our room from our tiresome outings! More surprises.....we returned to a nicely done up bed & cleaned up room. To sum it up, we got all the comforts of the home in that exotic locale.

Margi & Wolfgang were warm and friendly hosts who always responded quickly to our trip planning queries as well as other needs during our brief stay. Penan Blanco B & B was more than merely meeting expectations! Although it was close to 1.5hrs drive from the park, Margi never gave us a reason to regret our decision (of choosing this B & B for our stay). We highly recommend you stay at the Penon Blanco Lookout tucked in the quaint town of Coulterville [Population 115]. :) You will be in good hands.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radha28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
7.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
800 reviews
23.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
20.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
7.6 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
574 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penon Blanco Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penon Blanco Lookout

Property: Penon Blanco Lookout
Address: 4705 Penon Blanco Rd, Coulterville, CA 95311-9702
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penon Blanco Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penon Blanco Lookout Hotel Coulterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing