We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Year to remember - fabulous, friendly and fun - what more can you ask for?!”
Review of Forest Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarendo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Hotel
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A New Year to remember - fabulous, friendly and fun - what more can you ask for?!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just got back from a wonderful 6 day trip over new year's at the Forest Hotel and can't believe how lucky we are to have visited this amazing place. It's run by the friendliest hosts you could ever wish for, in a breathtaking location with delicious food and a chilled atmosphere that continues to wash over us, even in the dreary wetness of the UK. As others have said in their reviews, Margareta, Ingemar, Louise, Patric, Emanuel and Katarina treat their guest as friends -- and it's genuine -- of course, they're working, but it doesn't feel like 'work' but rather that you are at home, hanging out with some lovely people who want to show you and share with you all the wonders of their homeland. From dog sledding on the most incredible sun-filled day, to skiddo-ing through new snow, to quality time in the sauna and jacuzzi (not to mention the ice hole!), we couldn't have dreamed of having a better way to see in the new year. And what a brilliant new year's eve it was -- from canapes in the tipee, to a team quiz inbetween a delicious dinner, to bubbly at midnight, it was just another example of incredible effort and thoughtfulness which sets the Forest Hotel apart from every other holiday. One last thing - the food is fantastic: Frederik is a wonderful chef and the meals surprised and delighted every day, so be prepared to do some extra snow-shoeing to work it off! Btw: we booked through AuroraZone, and were lucky in the great group we had too -- truly a new year to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and basic -- but the beds are good and who wants to hang in their room? There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britishbird_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for these lovely words!
It was just amazing to have you here for new years and you all made the atmosphere so great, and we couldnt have done it so well without our incredible guests!
Hope to see you again and we hope for more northern lights and colder weather next time.
Best Regards
Louise and the rest of Forest Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We've just spent a wonderful 4 days over Christmas at the Forest Hotel and can only echo the comments of the last review. Ingemar, Margareta, Patric and Louise are great hosts (and a lovely family) who couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed every moment of our stay in this amazing location. The planned activities (and the Sauna) we're great and when the weather did conspire against us, Patric ensured our kids we're occupied with an extra ski-do excursion. We also have to mention the great food and the chef, Frederik, didn't disappoint once as our waistlines will attest. Sadly we only caught the faintest sight of the aurora but this place is worth a visit with or without it. We'll be back. The Smiths

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words!
We enjoyed having you guys here and hope to see you soon, and hopefully you will see more northern lights next time you visit :)
We wish you all a great 2014
Best Regards
/Louise with family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

December 2013
Much like the other reviews here our stay at Forest Hotel was absolutely fantastic. Our hosts Ingemar and Margareta welcomed us as though we were family members or close friends. Their two eldest children Louise and Patric are also part of the team and also brilliant hosts. I visited with my husband and two 'children' age 22 and 20 and they said it was the best family holiday they've ever had! We loved all the very well organised activities supported by more wonderfully friendly people Emanuel, Katarina, Annett and Andreas. The food is excellent and facilities first class. Sadly we didn't see the aurora...but this means, we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G, Webcoordinator at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for these lovley words!
We enjoyed having you and your family, and next time we hope for better luck with the northern lights :)
Best Regards
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic break hosted by the Forest Hotel.

The Forest Hotel is run by a fantastic family who simply couldn't do enough for us all. Margarita and her family couldn't have been more friendly sparing the time to talk to us, checking we were all okay and making sure everything was perfect.

In our four days we went out on the snow mobiles, we did ice fishing, cross country skiing with Karina, a Moose farm and dog sledding. All really well organised and full credit to Patric for keeping us safe at -32 degrees one day!

If you far thinking of booking here, do so. You won't regret it. And if you are a photographer, both Patric and Ingermar are keen photographers and only to keen to help and advise you to get the best shots.

Hopefully at some time, we will get back there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel_48a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Best Regards
Louise
Forest Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed an amazing week staying with Ingemar, Margareta, Patric and Sigge in March 2013. Their effortless hospitality makes this a brilliant place to stay and we felt like honorary family members for the week!
The rooms are basic but comfortable and welcoming, and the food (full board) is absolutely delicious. The saunas and hot tub are really fun, can wholeheartedly recommend a cold beer and roll in the snow after using the outdoor sauna.
The quality of the hotel and friendly owners were a real bonus, but the real incentive to visit here is the location and activities - we had a great time out in the snow and ice with Ingemar and Patric expertly guiding us on skis, snowmobiles and husky sleds.
We have happily recommended Forest to our friends and family and hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - you might get lucky with the Northern Lights from the warmth of your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G, Public Relations Manager at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful review! It was great having you here and we all hope to see you again soon. You were one of those couples that we will never forget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is one of the friendliest and most informal hotels I have ever stayed in. The communal lounges are spacious and comfortable and the food is excellent; very expensive as one would expect in Sweden, but excellent none-the-less. On the downside the bedrooms are tiny and basic but clean and comfortable and you spend so little time in them that it really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this hotel is amazing!! the staff are such lovey people and you are made so welcome and by the end of our four night stay they felt like family!! the hotel is very clean and rooms are very comfortable. all the meals provided were of a very high standard and very nice. we did an activity break through aurora and it lived up to everything we hoped for apart from not seeing the northern lights as weather was too cloudy but in the end it hardly mattered as the rest of the holiday more than made up for it!! i cannot recommend this hotel highly enough its fab and the family that run it make it what it is they are so lovely. well worth staying here !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andywatsonPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Property: Forest Hotel
Address: 43 Niemenrova, Tarendo 980 61, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Tarendo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarendo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ForestHotel is a wilderness lodge, lost in the woods, 80 km above arctic circle. The hotel charms its guests with a cosy atmosphere, fun nature activities, fresh and tasty food, and above all a very friendly staff. ForestHotel is a quiet and warm address, a perfect base for high quality winter activities like snow-mobile, husky driving, cross-country skiing, wildcamp expeditions, icefishing and reindeer safaris, and also northern light search. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing