We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Light Hunt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarendo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Hotel
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Northern Light Hunt!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

March 2012
We have just returned from a truly magical time at the Forest Hotel. We were even fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights dance for us just on the river by the hotel.

We chose to stay here as it was more of a quiet wilderness experience and it was just wonderful. The guides - Felix and JP were great fun but also incredibly knowledgable and taught us how to cross country ski and even drive snowmobiles. We loved the fact that the skis and snowshoes were on hand 24/7 and you could just help yourself and go exploring. It was excellent as well how the hotel was equipped with the thermal suits and boots. The activities that they arranged were brilliant especially the huskie sledging and they pride themselves on small groups ( there were 8 in ours) which guarantees a quieter experience and not at all touristy.

The new owners were very enthusiastic and infact ensured we went out that first night which if we hadn't we would have missed those Northern Lights!

The food was excellent with a great buffet in the morning with various fruits/cereals/breads/meats and cooked. Lunch was often cooked up for you on a campfire during your activities which was amazing and Diner was delicious - you didn't have a choice but for me that was also part of the charm and meant you had to make very little decisions during the holiday. They also cater for vegetarians.

The hotel had an excellent sauna and hot- tub it was quite bizarre sitting in there one evening whilst it snowed!

The rooms were fairly basic but very clean and ensuite and to be honest its not as if you spend much time in them anyway

All in all it was a very magical trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked our recent holiday through The Aurora Zone and were very pleased with the activities and the accomodations. The Forest Hotel bills itself as a wilderness lodge - a serene location on the banks of the frozen Tarendo River with a regional flair. The rooms were quite basic, but were comfortable and clean. The new owners were enthusiastic about returning to the area and were very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of fruits, meats, and breads, as well as hot foods. Dinners ranged from salmon to moose to pasta - quite tasty after active days. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the hotel offered many places to socialize, including the sauna or quiet areas to read. While we had booked this trip in order to see the Northern Lights, we had a fantastic time with the daylight activities - riding the snowmobiles, ice fishing, husky safari and forest skiing. The hotel provided amazing cold weather clothing including coveralls, boots, gloves, and hats, so despite the temperature, we were warm and dry. Just outside the hotel, on the frozen river, was a great place to view the lights each night. It was truly a magical place to experience life above the Arctic Circle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtmlkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time. The Forest Hotel is a very friendly, relaxed place to stay and Margaretta and Ingemar made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. It's nice to come back after an activity, have a hot drink in the restaurant and relax by the fire.

I'd like to say a special thanks to Felix, who was a fantastic guide. We found him to be lively, extremely enthusiastic and generally nice to spend time with. We also enjoyed his sense of humour. He certainly makes the activities more fun. To watch the northern lights with someone just as excited about seeing them as we were is a sure sign the guide is doing something he loves.

A special mention should also go to JP, who also acted as our guide for some of the activities. Again, a great person to spend time with. It felt more like we were spending a day out with our mates most of the time, and that is hard to achieve in such a short period of time. That said, both were professional and taught us how to drive a skidoo/ski in the trees/ice fish!

A fantastic trip made all the more special by the people who run the hotel and the activities.

PS I don't usually comment on rooms, as that is not usually the reason for choosing a particular hotel. However, as so many others have commented, I'd like to add that our room was spacious, the beds of perfect size and we had a sofa to relax on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Forest Hotel sits next to a wide river on one of its bends, nestled by forest, built in Swedish style, offering home comforts. Under new management, a lovely family who extend a friendly and relaxed place to stay.

With a lounge with pool table, indoor and outdoor saunas, hot tub and well stocked bar. I struggle to think what else I needed on an activity break. The guides to take you on snow mobiles treks, forest skiing and night time bonfires are great fun and you can learn loads. Their camera knowledge on getting the best northern light shots was much appreciated.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I think we were on the same trip as stratmanrocker and agree with everything said, right down to the rooms being a little bit small but beds very comfy and actually you spend very little time in them anyway.

The new family management seem highly capable and all very friendly and it is true to say the Forest Hotel is all about personal service and their wanting the guests to enjoy the beautiful environment and the activities on offer. Nothing was too much trouble.

Three guides were on hand for the various activities which all started from the hotel. They would instruct us clearly whether it was how to Forest ski, snowmobile or what to wear and if they were wearing 3 or 4 layers we would always opt for 5! The husky farm from where we started the husky sledding was only 45 minutes away and we were transported in a good quality coach.

We await news on flights from the UK to the local airport at Pajala which will reduce the travel time considerably. Mind you sometimes to get to the best places you have to make the effort. We definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maynris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked an activity package through Aurora Zone entitled 'The Hunt for the Northern Lights'. Arriving mid evening we received a lovely meal of Artic Shar followed by a quick tour of the hotel's facilities and then we were taken outside wrapped up in warm clothing & boots supplied by the hotel to witness the Northen Lights across the frozen river. This was to set the high standard for the following days where we experienced riding snowmobiles, cross-country skis and driving huskie sledges.

The hotel is now under new ownership, by a charming couple from Stockholm who went to great lengths to make us feel at home. The quality of the food was excellent, although more choice of dishes and extra vegetables would have been nice.

The bedrooms are smallish but the beds are very comfortable. Our room looked out over the river and we were able to see the Northern Lights on one evening from our window!

The activities (Camp Fire, Snowmobiles, Ice Fishing, Skiing) were organised by Felix and Jean-Phillipe who were wonderful guides training us to use the equipment and being patient with our needs. All activities are started from the hotel and done in small groups which is ideal.

Our hope was to see the Northern Lights and we were not disappointed with sightings on 3 out of 4 nights.

Overall, a wonderful experience at this lovely location.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the north side if you want a view of the river and the northern lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratmanrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were looking for an intimist and family atmosphere and indeed this is what we found.
The hotel is very close to nature which makes every activity a real dive into wilderness. Everyone in the team is very kind, efficient and commited to make your stay unforgettable.
Each evening and night were special : night in a trapper's camp, diner with candlelights or simply enjoying the Sauna and the hot tub at night
Congratulation to the whole team.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clauel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Property: Forest Hotel
Address: 43 Niemenrova, Tarendo 980 61, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Tarendo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarendo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ForestHotel is a wilderness lodge, lost in the woods, 80 km above arctic circle. The hotel charms its guests with a cosy atmosphere, fun nature activities, fresh and tasty food, and above all a very friendly staff. ForestHotel is a quiet and warm address, a perfect base for high quality winter activities like snow-mobile, husky driving, cross-country skiing, wildcamp expeditions, icefishing and reindeer safaris, and also northern light search. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing