We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, quick, economical lunch”
Review of Flame Broiler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Flame Broiler
Ranked #253 of 511 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Healthy, quick, economical lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I actually went to the Flame Broiler in Irvine but couldn't find it on Trip Advisor. I'm sure the menu is the same in Costa Mesa. Not sure why someone else wrote there wasn't enough meat in their bowl? Is this gourmet food - no. I found it a great place to go for a quick lunch. I ordered the mini bowl with all white meat chicken, brown rice, green onions, and cabbage. It was really good with some magic sauce added. (BTW the magic sauce isn't just soy sauce - not sure what else is in it but not just soy - it was good but a little salty). The mini bowl was more than enough for lunch. I did go more than once and on another time ordered the full bowl which was way too much. I took half of that home for dinner. I will say the chicken was definitely white meat and not that "fabricated" type of white meat and the cabbage was plentiful. I have found my go to place for lunch when I need to make a quick stop for something healthy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Healthy Bowls”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Flame Broiler is a native SoCal chain eatery offering healthy brown rice and skinless chicken, as well as white rice and beef. Load up up with green onions, and some 'magic' teriyaki sauce; while this takes a bit of the healthy away, it adds on satisfaction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quick food place”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My favorite is the mini beef/vegie bowl. Plenty of food in the mini-bowl.... I get a plate and dump it out there. Seems like if you order the regular size, you get the same amount of beef and vegies, just more rice....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bring lots of money and check your taste buds at the door”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Don't really understand how this place survives...yet people are lined up like lemmings every day...first of all, yes, the food is allegedly healthy with brown rice and vegetables and about 2 ounces of meat. Second of all, there are 2 distinct sauces for your sea of brown rice..."Magic Sauce" which everyone else in the free world simply calls "soy sauce", (no, I am not making this up) and a hot red sauce. Marketing is everything in Orange County I suppose.
Lunch is extremely pricy with a meat and veg combo with a drink about $10.00. If you want to impress your friends with your new supposedly macro-biotic diet I guess that this is the place. Pace your lunch hour so that you still have time to swing through In-N-Out, because you will definitely want to after you taste this food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank houstontosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Broiler also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Flame Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing