We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must have local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco Mesa

Taco Mesa
Ranked #17 of 510 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
jchua143
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“must have local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had the a carnitas burrito with extra cheese and wow i take back anything bad i ever said about this place. its realllllly goood

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jchua143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Costa Mesa standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a Costa Mesa standard for good reason. It's been in that old Taco Bell building for about 20yrs and it hasn't slipped an inch in all that time.
Love the blackened calamari and also the salmon tacos. Everything on the menu is great. Whenever I've been traveling for a long time, this is the place that I go when I get home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napaguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thursday comida corrida worth the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have always found this place overpriced, but if you come on Thursday, they have a "comida corrida" for about $6.00 that includes soup or salad, entree, rice and beans and a drink. Plus you can help yourself to the sauces and accompaniments.

The managemment for some reason does not control panhandlers that roam the outdoor patio. This should be rectified.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fast food price for good restaurant's quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

First of all, a small TIP for having a good experience here:

Come on Tuesday ! They have Taco Tuesday, all the tacos are only $1 so you can tried many different tacos !
Or...in a different day...
If it's possible for you, arrive early for lunch (11:30 - noon) or late for lunch (1:30-2pm). because the place is small with limited seating, but the food is good so the peak hours is really packed.
You want to avoid the peak hours !

I always have had great experience here, having coming many times through out the years.
The quality of the food is definitely a good one.
All the burritos are great, my favorite is blackened shrimps which in every bite, you found a piece of tasty and juicy shrimp cooked to perfection.

I also love the tacos, specially the "Alambre steak" with bacon, melted cheese, onion...

MUST order desert: the flan which is the Cream caramel, but they make cream-cheese caramel, which is one of the best Flan I have never had (even better than my home made one)

Service is great when you come at the "right" time as I suggested above, or come with a good friend so you can enjoy the beers, the chit chat and don't care how slow or how fast they call your name to pick up the food at the counter. Over all, they are very friendly, and very efficient.

I actually like the laid back atmosphere, the outdoor seats give me a sense like I was at the beach, even though we are looking at the DMV across the street...:)

If you like Mexican food, chill atmosphere, and inexpensive, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowQute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Good Mexican Food with some healthy alternatives. The location is very congested.

Helpful?
Thank 52packrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Mesa also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing