We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wouldn't be my first recomendation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wouldn't be my first recomendation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights after someone recommended it to me. The staff was great. The pool area was nice and there are places close by to eat. There is an In-N-Out Burger right next to the parking lot. The rooms are old and need of a remodeling. The first night we stayed in a room where someone had obviously made a smoking room out of a non-smoking room. The place smelled like cigars. Horrible! The carpet was very stained and all of the furniture was well worn. We put up with it because we got there late at night and just wanted to sleep. In the morning we told the staff at the front desk about the smell in the room and they were very helpful getting us a new room for the next night. The first new room we tried smelled so musty and like mold that we asked to change again. The second room also smelled like mold, just not quite as bad and we decided to stay there. Both rooms had the stained carpet and worn furniture and were very dated. I was on an 11 day trip and stayed in five different places and this was by far the worse place I stayed during the entire trip. There are some other motels nearby and if I stay in the area again, I’ll check them out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    10
    22
    38
See reviews for
21
27
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I posted this review a couple days ago, but don't see it displayed for others to see, which I think is very important. This hotel has gone through some major upgrades since I lived in Costa Mesa 8 years ago. That's the only reason we stayed. But when we had an issue with bugs all over our bed, and were treated like we were by the management...I was furious. The cleaning staff is very, very nice. The pool is great...and the place has really been upgraded. But, when your bed is full of bugs, and you try to get clean sheets in the middle of the night...it's a MAJOR problem for them...and we were told that WE must have put food in our beds! Then, when you complain the next day about it...you are treated horribly...and that's a bad thing after not getting any sleep because your bed was full of ants!! We were told, "It's not our fault there are ants in your room and all over your bed." What???? And this was a 2nd story room. I would never, ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Mesa hotels

Birmingham, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Starting with the pros, the management and staff of Vagabond Inn, Costa Mesa/Orange Co., CA couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. The manager/shuttle driver was extremely nice and went to great lengths to make our stay there as nice as possible. The housekeeping staff was A+. They could have been working in the most expensive hotels. The room was cleaned daily, no matter what time we left the room. There were always fresh towels, soaps, shampoo, etc.--even a little animal made out of the washcloth. The front desk staff were also very nice. The price was unheard of! It was very economical for a room with frig, coffee pot, microwave, hair dryer. The pool was very pretty--not just you ordinary rectangular small hotel pool. It was shaped like Mickey Mouse! Nice hot tub also. The hotel also offered free shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, which we used. Now for the cons. The rooms are in extreme need of renovation. On this one trip to CA we stayed for 4 night, went to sightsee in CA and came back for 3 more nights. We had 2 different rooms and they both smelled strongly of smoke or mold or something. The carpet and drapes need to be replaced!!! There was an armchair in both rooms that looked dingy--one with a tear in the back cushion. If these renovations were made, the hotel could charge more for the rooms. There is certainly room for that in the price/night. If we returned, we would check first to see if the renovations have been made.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've been staying here on Business. The manager and staff have been very friendly and accommodating. Good option for an inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here 3 times ....the place is strange...the rooms on the other side are not as bad as the rooms closer to the freeway....appear to be a lot of homeless folks in the units, too. Cheap rooms equal bad housekeeping and deferred maintenance. A little quality control regarding cleanliness would make this place more attractive. Kept thinking about bed-bugs after I saw the room...

Room Tip: There are no "good rooms", just barely adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houstontosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I rent a room to finish my essey for school, my roomates decided to do a party at home. So i got the 60$ deal just during the day to stay in a quiet room. In front of the room has a baseball field!!! So the kids yelled the entire day!! When they finally finished the game, some kids with skates used the parking lot to pratice some moves. Great!! Not to mention the room is horrible with stains all over and smells soooo bad!! Thank God i didnt sleep there because i think ill be worst. Please stay away from it. Everything is bad in this place. You can hear the tv in the next room, people talking. Its just horrible.

Room Tip: In some other Hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Look, there are no bargains in hotels. This is the cheapest inn in Costa Mesa, and it shows. You can't control the temperature in your room. In Fall/Winter/Spring, the vent blows hot air, and there is nothing you can do about it. The place is filthy, and the service is poor. But hey, it was cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danstar1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#11 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport

Property: Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport
Address: 3205 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-2508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport Hotel Costa Mesa
Vagabond Hotel Costa Mesa
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing