We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    283
    276
    128
    101
See reviews for
427
175
87
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COSTA MESA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Required late night emergency room reservation (first floor of my house got flooded).

Local Ramada front desk did not respond to phone after 7 attempts.

Called Ramada National booking number and booked the room.

National booked me for the wrong day and quoted wrong price.

Drove to the hotel and got a room, and cancelled the wrong date booked by national HQ.

Door to room leaked light all the way around and room was in reasonable repair, not great.

Some thumping noise in the morning from the room above us and some loud conversation by cleaning staff outside of door in the morning.

Managed to get 5 hours sleep before returning home to take care of flooded first floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank CMPOOLSHARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were booked into this hotel as a 3-star. This notion went away immediately upon entering the property, as it is an "outdoor" type similar to most Motel 6's (outdoor corridors, all doors and windows face out directly to the parking lot). Check-in was great, but many of the other aspects stunk. The room itself was very spartan, two beds, a bathroom, a TV, a desk with two chairs, and a lazy chair. The room was equipped with a refrigerator, however, it did not work (put a bottle of water in it overnight, was as warm as room temp when it came out 8 hours later). The TV was of the old version, not the nice flat screens that many other properties have upgraded to. A button on the remote stuck. The beds were sort of lumpy, but ok to sleep on. No free breakfast and no fitness room that I saw of.

The room felt humid and I itched whenever the air unit was on. Additionally, there was a sense of "stickiness" whenever I was in the room. My girlfriend didn't have the same experience, but I had never had it before, so I attributed it to some aspect of the room. The experience got better when the air unit was off, however, we didn't really spend much time in the room.

The only window in the room looks right out onto the outdoor hallway and it is full of foot traffic, so most mornings, the drapes stayed closed. Most of the other guests seemed well-meaning (a big bonus of the place is that they seem to allow pets), but there were also a number of the less-than-stellar sort as well, including several who smoked in the rooms (despite the hotel's assurance it was a smoke-free property, these guests would put the door stop into the door to filter out the smoke, and we also found cigars on the railing two of the mornings). Additionally, on our last night there were several folks outside our door shouting to one another about smoking crack and whatnot (this was going on at about 3 in the morning). The only other times I've experienced conditions like this have been when I stayed at a Motel 6.

And overall, that is what I have to equate this property to- Motel 6. It wasn't the worst place I've been, but it was in *no* way worthy of 3-star caliber. The wins include free Internet and parking and the location, but, as already alluded to, there are several opportunities that outweigh the wins. You won't die here, but you will most likely feel uncomfortable when compared to other 3-stars in the area.

Finally, I'm a runner and a good path I found was to head up to 17th, cross Newport, and then turn right onto Orange. Once there you have a myriad of options for running on wide residential streets almost all the way down to PCH and over quite a ways west.

Room Tip: Maybe try a suite for more space?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOGAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Advantages: clean & quite room, cheap price, easy (get in & get out), comfortable bed, cooperative staff (especially the receptionists), good location.

Disadvantages: not luxuries, G-floor rooms aunt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank QAIS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room is nice enough. Love that the parking lot is very well lighted up.
Nick at ck-in was nice. The staff at the restaurant--also nice and food was decent, too.
The housekeeping staff might need some more training. They should check the functioning of the radio/clock, also the remote for the TV and lastly the fans in the bathroom. Issue with the fan was that a smoker was in the bathroom at one time. This was a non smoking room. When the fan went on (no choice about that either) the bathroom stunk up very badly. Can't housekeeping fix that with a spray and cleaning?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Tangogirly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed there for a wedding on the Electra cruise boats...We paid for our 2 rooms and you charged 2 times for 1 of the rooms for more money...Your bathrooms need some bleach for the mold in the bath

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Property: Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Address: 1680 Superior Ave, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-3652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ramada Inn & Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Ramada Newport Beach
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County
Costa Mesa Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing