We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same great pizza 25 years later”

Doria's Haus of Pizza
Ranked #80 of 508 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Same great pizza 25 years later”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Took my kids here after a day at the beach - haven't been there for at least 25 years - but looked forward to it while back visiting. I wasn't disappointed! The ingredients and toppings are great, as is the crust, and the kids gave it a big thumbs up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
“Haus of Pizza in Costa Mesa, California”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our experience at Haus of Pizza in Costa Mesa, California.
First, The pizza it’s not good as we expected. We think Costco Pizza is better.
Second, why they have to charge .40 cents each on pizza paper boxes (12” x 12”) and small paper boxes (3” x 3” x 4”) to go boxes it’s not even worth .20 cents. why? It’s only commercial plain simple paper boxes without their printed name on it that you can buy by a thousand for cheap price anywhere. Do they need to make profit on those boxes? They make enough money for the price of their expensive menu.
Third, When you give your gift card to the server they knew they going to get 18 percent on your total cost. So, they don't bother you so much
to ask if you need anything. Like regular dine-in without 18 percent right away are too busy asking you if everything is ok!!!
What we have bad experience for example here, we have to ask for napkins, refill our drinks.
Finally, Our pizza it's salty. We never ask extra salt on it. We tell this problem to the manager and response only one word “that's the
way it is”. Not even bother to look or check it out the left over still 75 percent all in the expensive to go paper boxes. To be honest one thing and to improve their relationship for the customers in general, they should give that free of charge for the paper boxes because their menu it’s not cheap. Like most dine-in restaurant, they don’t charge like this. Normally it’s free. However, if they really want to charge it, that’s fine but please charge only the "to go" box for the factor of the cost. Not making profit on that. People have an ideas how much it cost for paper box. Overall none the less, This is so bad mainly on 18 percent extra charge automatic on your bill, it’s not worth it!!!!
This is one reason why putting tips in the end of dine-in is way better. The customer will judge the overall!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank el p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Love this place. The pizza is ALWAYS good. My friend is a vegan and they were able to accomodate he.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKininmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our first time at Dorias Haus pizza and it was great we had a big group of hungry kids with us. So the pizza was perfect for us! At a very good price too! We will definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kb2grandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so service”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Food here is really good, prices are great. Services is par, sometimes rude --I can't tell you how many times we've gotten home only to discover that they got our takeout orders wrong, yet even though we have to make the drive all over again, they refuse to comp anything or to make up for their dumb mistakes. If the food wasn't so damn good and cheap, I probably wouldn't come here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ugamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doria's Haus of Pizza also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Doria's Haus of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing