We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent room, perfect for”
Review of BLVD Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BLVD Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent room, perfect for”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

check in was super easy and fast but also very friendly, the rooms were exceptional good for the price we paid. They had some kind of construction, or paint jobs ongoing therefore the outside may be not in the best shape, but the room was super clean and beside the location right next to the freeway I heard not much and had a nice sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamrog1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback during your recent stay. The exterior renovations are just about all done. The property looks nicer and nicer each day.

We hope that you visit us again next time you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    73
    46
    27
    15
See reviews for
61
57
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only one night after traveling from San Francisco and to attend a meeting the next day. We didn't expect anything big but I was positive surprised by the room size and cleanliness!

This hotel is all we needed. We didn't tried the breakfast because we intended to eat in a nearby cafe.

WiFi was free and fast.

The area is not very quite due to located next to the freeway. However they didn't bother me much and I was able to sleep well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terijaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you are back in the area for another meeting ask for a room away from the street side so as to avoid the freeway noise. We would be happy to accommodate you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The BLVD Hotel is great! It was undergoing outside painting whilst I was there, which in no way affected my stay. The staff were all lovely and helpful. I was impressed with the quickness of service getting me into my room, as I had a ridiculously early arrival, and they were happy to accomodate me, when all I wanted to do was have a shower and lay down after a 15 hour flight. My room was comfortable and clean, had everything I needed really.
I didn't have a vehicle to get around with but the local taxi company were awesome, and helpful in suggesting places I might wish to visit, and all trips I did seemed to be in the $5 to $10 range. Good deal! I would definitely stay here again on a future trip, can't wait to see the "finished product" when all the renovations are done. Highly recommend the Hotel; value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
On behalf of the Blvd Team, we would like to thank you for staying with us in October. We try our very best to accommodate your every need in the best possible way we can. We are very glad to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay!

We hope that you return to visit us next time you are in the area!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The BLVD hotel was awesome. Don't judge a book by its cover...they were painting and renovating the outside of the hotel, so it was not "so pretty" when we drove up but the front desk was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of their surrounding areas. We came to know that this hotel was formerly the Comfort Inn and is located about 10 minutes from John Wayne Airport. Our room was a good size and very clean. Our beds were very comfortable with clean carpets and bathroom, drapes and bedding like new and walls freshly painted. Furniture, doors and trim were a dark brown stain with a modern look. There was a little frig, coffee maker, microwave, iron/board, flat screen tv and hairdryer in the room. This hotel also has a complimentary breakfast each morning with your usual toast, english muffins, hot & cold cereal, waffle maker, eggs/sausage, whole fruit, juice, coffee/tea etc. We tried a restaurant within a 5 minute walk called the Napa Valley Pizza and Pasta which was great! Also within walking distance from the hotel was a Subway Sandwich shop, variety stores, grocery story and pharmacy. If you do not have a vehicle, ABC Ride Taxi 949-650-4768 was great, honest and half the price of the shuttles in the area, even from the airport. We found out the hard way by taking an airport shuttle thinking they would be less expensive than a cab...boy were we wrong...they were double the price! We would definitely stay at the BLVD hotel again!

Room Tip: Note: There are no elevators at this hotel to get to the upper floor, so just ask for a ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your friends over at The Blvd Hotel are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We always try our very best to make each and every person that walks in through our lobby feel that we are always here to help in any possible way we can. We want to make sure that everyone is happy while staying with us.

If you think the rooms are nice now, we cannot wait to show off our new remodeled rooms once our renovations are completed. We will still continue to offer those great amenities you enjoyed from your most recent visit like complementary parking, wifi, breakfast and of course that friendly staff.

We hope to see you again at The Blvd Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was undergoing renovation when we stayed but it was pretty scruffy at this time. The reception area and staff were excellent. The breakfast room and vending machine area was like a building site with wires trailing and water leaking. The breakfast selection was excellent one of the best in the LA motels we stayed at. The worst aspect of our stay was being woken up in the middle of the night with the wall vibrating by guests next door doing what couples do in motels in the middle of the night. Maybe thicker walls would help.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Former Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us! But we would definitely also like to extend our apologies to you for any inconveniences that you may have encountered during your stay during our renovations.

Our goal is to finish our renovation process as soon as possible so that we can provide all our current and future guests with an outstanding getaway experience in a modern and chic environment.

We hope you return to visit your friends at The Blvd Hotel once our hotel is renovated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Considering what we paid to stay over a long weekend last month... there should have been more. Motel 6-sized rooms and this property hasn't been renovated in years. Pool and hot tub were fine, and the breakfast was OK for just coffee and a pastry. Crowded parking lot and it was this fact that created all the noise we had to contend with during the night hours the three days we were there. Check-in was fine but the clerk didn't make you feel welcome.

Located off a freeway that heads toward the beach, which is still a good 5 or 6 miles away, makes getting here sort of tough. Can't really walk to much down their frontage road except a Subway and a Circle K.

Kind of a downer spot in the end. Will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eric VanGlider E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Owner at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I apologize for your unpleasant stay at the Blvd Hotel. Great customer service is something we always encourage from all of us at the Blvd.

We are also vey excited and thrilled to say that we will be starting our renovation process very soon. We do agree that our property is outdated and that is exactly why we want to add a different feel to this hotel.

I hope that once our renovations are complete, you will give our hotel another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were able to check in early without any problems. They provided a list of restaurants that were near by which was a great help. The one my fiance and I choose was Sushi Sho which was amazing. The room is step up very nice and updated though the walls are thin. The a/c works very well had to turn it down a couple of times since it got cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Blvd Hotel. Our goal is to provide al our guests with the best customer service we can by building a more intimate bond. We always love to provide guests with recommendations on what kind of things to do and what places to dine at during their stay.

We hope you've enjoyed your summer and we hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLVD Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLVD Hotel

Property: BLVD Hotel
Address: 2430 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BLVD Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLVD HOTEL, a Costa Mesa hotel near the John Wayne Airport.The BLVD HOTEL is less than three miles from John Wayne Airport and only 13 miles from Disneyland. This Costa Mesa, CA hotel is one half-mile away from the OC Fair and Event Center multipurpose venue, home of the Pacific Amphitheater, Orange County Market Place and Orange County Fairgrounds Farmers Market.Popular area attractions include Vanguard University of Southern California, Orange Coast College and the University of California, Irvine. Long Beach Airport is 14 miles away and the Los Angeles International Airport is 40 miles.Nearby Huntington Beach and Newport Beach both offer miles of pristine coastline, piers and boardwalks where you can enjoy strolling the shore for seashells, swimming or surfing in the Pacific Ocean, or taking a cruise to Catalina Island.Several shopping and entertainment venues like the Fashion Island Newport Center shopping center and South Coast Plaza Mall are close by. There are a number of restaurants, cocktail lounges, cafes and specialty stores in the vicinity; some can be found within walking distance to the hotel.Guests of this Costa Mesa, CA hotel are invited to enjoy features like:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free coffee and free daily newspaper in lobby•Outdoor pool and hot tub•100% non-smoking hotel.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like access to copy and fax services.In addition to standard amenities, all of our spacious and well-appointed guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, The BLVD HOTEL provides a convenient location, friendly customer service and affordable accommodations to everyone visiting the Costa Mesa area. Hotel is 100 percent smoke free. 250.00 Cleaning fee, if smoking in the room. If paying in cash, 100 USD deposit required . Credit card may be used for deposit. Guest Rooms: 58.Check in time:3:00 PM.Check out time: 11:00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your BLVD Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Costa Mesa
Comfort Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Comfort Inn
BLVD Hotel Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing