We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Hotel in Newport/Costa Mesa”
Review of BLVD Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BLVD Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at this nice little hotel for a couple of years now... and quality of service for the price is off the hook. This hotel is CLEAN.. I mean SPOTLESS clean. The staff is amazing, the rooms are like new. The pool is always impeccable along with the grounds. The internet service works perfectly and most of all the people at the front desk and all the employees are top notch, polite and courteous.

Their breakfast in the morning is fantastic.

This is one of the nicest hotels in the area and one of the best values. It is conveniently located to some of the best beaches and shopping in the world.

You will love this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all I won't be unfair with the hotel staff, because except two people they tried to make our stay pleasant...the room was well equipped and clean and the pool was rather good...the breakfast staff was friendly although the breakfast itself was a bit strange and poor, assembled mainly from fast food-like uneatable wrapped things, and all that in a room with 3 tables.
...But the door lock went wrong and the waiting for its repair has spoiled our afternoon and evening program. We reached the manager by phone /named himself Sam-this seems to me in the european manner a bit ridiculous/ and we described the situation and asked a free night so we could manage our lost program. This strange man "offered" us to check out immediately(!), and so the night will be free.I have never heard such a thing.I thought it must be a misunderstanding, but Mike the cheeky receptionist asked my son-in-law ( who helped me after this and attending here a university) whether his english is only his third language?!
I was very disappointed and after all I called again and agreed with "Sam" in an appointment next morning. He offered 8 o'clock. But he was not in the hotel next morning at all, and we couldn't reach him. I am working in the hotel industry too, but never heard about such a "treatment", and solving claims that way!
The receptionist assured us that 10% discount will be given from the invoice.
We made the mistake to reserve through Expedia /the reservation itself has taken half an hour!!!-although our american friend helped us! Certainly the first thing that went fast -to debit my card.
Coming home I emailed a claim to Expedia, but they wrote I must phone them.It is easy to find out that an overseas chat with such people that takes half an our to make a reservation-a claim will take hours. More price then it is worth.
Next time I will be more careful.

Room Tip: Higher floors for every night happens something. ...and of course Never Try to Speak to Sam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GY_Lakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, Owner at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Our number goal is to make sure every guest receives the best customer service possible from every team member at our Comfort Inn. Please note that I will definitely look into this and follow up with you personally. I truly apologize as we here at Comfort Inn Costa Mesa do not try to inconvenience our guest.

Sincerely,

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Couldn't find any fault with this hotel. It was spotless, had a comfortable bed (lots of fresh-smelling pillows piled on it), a good desk and reading chair, fine cable lineup, immaculate bathroom with very hot water in the shower. Also had a mini-fridge and microwave, both of which worked. Effective blackout curtains and air conditioner. Decent breakfast thrown in for free. Courteous, helpful, resourceful desk clerk. Free parking and Internet. Not many fancy things in the immediate vicinity (convenience store, a few restaurants, a Starbucks a short walk away) but location close to one of Orange County's biggest freeway nexuses means you're only minutes from being on your way to beaches, theme parks, Los Angeles, San Diego. It even has a pool and jacuzzi, both well-tended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, General Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the comments that you have provided. We will continue to do our best in satisfying our guest to best of our ability. Please note that your comments are valued.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Sincerely,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I actually rented 2 rooms here for 3 nights. One was for my daughter and I and the other was for my daughter's boyfriend. The staff was more than happy to get us rooms next door to each other for our convenience. Both rooms were updated, clean (with kitchenettes and granite countertops) and the air conditioners both blew snow. The pool and spa were sparkling as was the lobby and the breakfast area where the free breakfast was served every morning. The hotel is backed on 2 sides by nice residential properties. It is quiet and we felt safe and secure. The is ample free parking on one side of the property.

The only reason I ddin't give it a 5 rating is that they need to get rid of those new, but notoriously scary beadspreads. Maybe breakfast could be kicked up a notch or two and be extended for another 30 minutes or so for those of us who would like to sleep in just a bit on our vacation. A great value for the money.

Room Tip: We had the two rooms upstairs on the end nearest the pool area which were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, General Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your comments. We will continue to strive to make this an excellent hotel for our entire guest.

We hope to see you soon in the future.

Sincerely,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here last year and were not happy with our stay. This year was different. After an unpleasant stay at Best western;last second decision to stop in Costa mesa on our way back from Mexico, we decided to stick around an extra day to enjoy the fair in town and "check out" the surf competition (mostly the ladies, honestly.. mainly the ladies) in Huntington beach. After the rude treatment at Best west and their noisy guests, we decided to try comfort inn again. Personally i wanted to try elsewhere, but our friend was a choice privileges member and wanted to get his "points". First thing i noticed because of the stay last year, the staff was friendly and courteous, acknowledging us as we came in, then returning to the guest they were assisting. Awesome! Not only was she cute, but she seemed happy to be at work and not glum and bummed like the lady last year. Even though the lady she was assisting was being rude and acting like she was within her rights to talk down to another human being, simply because she was a "Choice Member,"'(shame on people like that), she handled it well, smile on her face and never flinched. Changed my opinion of the place right away. Then again a pretty face will have that effect on a man. She was helpful, knowledgeable, and very friendly. And apparently not single, oh well, I tried. The room was what you'd expect, and with all the events going on in the area; Fair, surf competition, Softball tournament ; was reasonably priced. Being that everyone else was sold out the previous day, I couldn't complain. Awesome stay overall, No complaints about the rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was awesome! Waffles! Blueberry flavored make-your-own waffles as well as English-muffin breakfast sandwiches. I was expecting dry cereal and "yesterdays" bagels. Worth waking up for! After checking out we inquired about any changes recently, since our last stay wasn't the greatest. We were informed that this establishment is under new owner and management. Definitely staying here again on our way back from our next mexico trip
Not sure what all the complaints are about, I suppose some people are just "never" happy no matter where they go or what they do. In my opinion, some of these complaints sound petty, like they didn't get 5-star service from what is obviously a 2-star establishment doing their best to give you that extra star. Comfort Inn, You guys earned that extra star in our book. Keep doing what your doing, we look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: Everyone hates a critic, yet here we are. Let's be fair, not petty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chronictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, General Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your comments. We here at Comfort Inn try our best to accomodate each and every customer to the best of our ability. Please know we will continue to strive to do better.

Thank You for staying with us and looking forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I weren't planning to stay here, we ended up at this hotel after having reservations at the comfort in at Anaheim (1251 harbor blvd) and canceling the same night we arrived there. The room at this comfort inn was clean,and had comfortable beds. I guess the only complaint I have is that the pillow cases had stains, the bathroom could have been cleaner and the carpet needs a good deep shampooing, also we noticed that the room was not vacuumed until the last day we were there. Breakfast was great, but very crowded, and very hot. Customer service was excellent, the night clerk was kind enough to show us the room before we booked being that we had just gone through a very bad experience at the other hotel. Would recommend and yes I would stay here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brsramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, General Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any minor inconveniences you may have experienced and would like to reassure you that they have since been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with excellent service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are from the east coast and were visiting family and friends in the area. The hotel was recommended to us by family members, It was a pleasant surprise. The complimentary breakfast was a huge treat, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. We did not experience any attitude,at all, from the staff. They were all very nice. And when you are on a tight budget, this was god sent. The beach was a short drive away. We will definitely return. Good job, folks.

Room Tip: If quiet is what you are looking for, choose a room in the back side away from all the ruckus in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaver08, General Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate any and all feedback in order to continue to provide our guests with a more enjoyable experience as well as excellent service. I will pass your kind words onto our staff and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.0 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLVD Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLVD Hotel

Address: 2430 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $85 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BLVD Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLVD HOTEL, a Costa Mesa hotel near the John Wayne Airport.The BLVD HOTEL is less than three miles from John Wayne Airport and only 13 miles from Disneyland. This Costa Mesa, CA hotel is one half-mile away from the OC Fair and Event Center multipurpose venue, home of the Pacific Amphitheater, Orange County Market Place and Orange County Fairgrounds Farmers Market.Popular area attractions include Vanguard University of Southern California, Orange Coast College and the University of California, Irvine. Long Beach Airport is 14 miles away and the Los Angeles International Airport is 40 miles.Nearby Huntington Beach and Newport Beach both offer miles of pristine coastline, piers and boardwalks where you can enjoy strolling the shore for seashells, swimming or surfing in the Pacific Ocean, or taking a cruise to Catalina Island.Several shopping and entertainment venues like the Fashion Island Newport Center shopping center and South Coast Plaza Mall are close by. There are a number of restaurants, cocktail lounges, cafes and specialty stores in the vicinity; some can be found within walking distance to the hotel.Guests of this Costa Mesa, CA hotel are invited to enjoy features like:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free coffee and free daily newspaper in lobby•Outdoor pool and hot tub•100% non-smoking hotel.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like access to copy and fax services.In addition to standard amenities, all of our spacious and well-appointed guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, The BLVD HOTEL provides a convenient location, friendly customer service and affordable accommodations to everyone visiting the Costa Mesa area. Hotel is 100 percent smoke free. 250.00 Cleaning fee, if smoking in the room. If paying in cash, 100 USD deposit required . Credit card may be used for deposit. Guest Rooms: 58.Check in time:3:00 PM.Check out time: 11:00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BLVD Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Costa Mesa
Comfort Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Comfort Inn
BLVD Hotel Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing