We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
IRVINE
1 review
“Rooms need upgrading”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you enjoy the sound of constant planes taking off right above all day & night & waking up every morning to the gardners right outside your window with loud clowers & trimmers, than this is your hotel. Also there is a big population of people actually living there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Firecrqurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your response. We will utilize it and make changes where possible.
We are fairly close to John Wayne Airport planes depart as early as 7am and stop around 10pm. Also to maintain our property curb appeal we do labor work outside but normally not too early taking our guest in consideration. We welcome daily guest as well as extended stays.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    100
    99
    34
    36
See reviews for
103
46
53
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WOODLAND HILLS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location was good for attending a show at the Segerstrom Center, and the hotel offered shuttle service there, which was a nice surprise. The picture quality of the TV in the room was not great, but that may not apply to all. The furnishings showed some wear and tear, but it was clean and quiet, and the price and location were fine for me. It was also very close to a lot of eateries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank orinxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate your response. Glad the shuttle was useful for you. normally we provide to any business within 3 miles from our hotel. We are working on remodeling more of our rooms this includes furniture. In the future please let us know if you have any problems we are glad to send maintenance just notify front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at this Travelodge. Staff were friendly at arrival/check in time. We reserved a room with two queen beds.

At the time of our check in, a "suspicious" looking woman (guest?) Interrupted our check in process by demanding a key to a room. She was informed by the staff who checked their computer system that she "was not requested" in that room (!!!!). I think this should have been our clue to turn around and run as fast as possible, but it was late and we were very tired and nowhere else to go so we finished our check in.

Upon our.arrival in our non-smoking room, we encountered a room with worn out, filthy stained carpets. Tried to open a night stand drawer and the front fell off! Bathroom light was covered with a thick fuzzy blanket of dirt/dust. Chairs were badly stained with something black. Couldn't sit on it, and definitely would advise against walking on the carpet barefoot! The room reeked of.cigarette smell. There was an old banana left in the microwave (by previous guest??), and to top it all off, an EMPTY condom wrapper Left behind in the trash can!!

As we had nowhere else to go and were exhausted after a long drive, we actually stayed and suffered through the night, trying to get some sleep while fighting our feelings of revulsion.

We complained the next morning to the, management, and to their credit, they refunded us both nites. They were very apologetic. We found another place to stay the second nite.

will NEVER book this place again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenince.
and let me assure you we have spoken to our housekeeping staff
to prevent this from happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Mesa hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed 8/9/12 Thurs eve. Felt as if we were a pain for the front desk clerk to work with except for running my credit card through for payment. Asked about the shuttle to the airport and were told it doesn't start until 6:30 am and had to be scheduled. Thankfully we had a rental car that I could hold for one more night and return or we would probably have missed our flight relying on this place for a shuttle.

Got to our room, and we had one bath towel, and 2 washcloths for 3 people. When I called the front desk for additional towels, the phone rang and rang, finally the clerk picked up and I was told to "come down and get them." I asked why and was told that there was "no one here tonight to bring them to the room." When I got to the front desk there was the front desk clerk and one other staff member; both went to a back room to get the towels. I don't like being lied to.

When we had checked in I asked if it was automatic check-out and I was told I had to come to the front desk in the morning. When I arrived in the morning at 5:30 am, no one was at the front desk, I called out twice "hello, " no surprises there, so I grabbed a piece of paper from the printer and wrote a note that we were checking out. The same clerk came out from the back rubbing his eyes. I said we're checking out is there anything for me to sign, he said "no." Big waste of my time coming to the front desk to deal with this guy for the last time.

As for the room, ok on cleanliness. Doors open to the outside, air conditioner is a window mount, very noisy and not very cold air. Refrigerator worked well. Stain on the blanket--when I saw that automatically pulled the bed apart to check for bugs. There was a carpet tack on the floor which I stepped on. The bathroom had a toilet roll dispenser about 5 inches from the floor, that seemed like a creative construction trick to say the least. The bathtub drained backwards into the tub rather than into the drain. Bottom of shower curtain had mold.

Basically stayed here because it was going to be a short night. I wouldn't recommend on spending more than one night here. It is "bare-bones" --that's it.

Parking lot fills up fast, nothing on one side where most of the hotel is (behind the pool).

I really can't believe that these hotels/motels don't have standards from one hotel to the next (eg in order to get the Travelodge designation you have to meet standard requirements). The decorative "lighting" in the front windows is more tacky than welcoming.

Room Tip: 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluestater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've stayed here five times now. The experience is consistent: the Travelodge Orange County Airport delivers a decent room for a very low price. You're plenty close to the beach area, John Wayne Airport, and a nexus of freeways that will take you anywhere in the greater LA-Orange County area. The decor and furnishings are aging, but they're aging gracefully :). And again, I feel as if I got at least what I paid for when it comes to hot water, a comfortable bed, a decent cable lineup, and very convenient free parking and Internet. The in-room microwave and fridge are all I really need. The blackout curtains made my room utterly dark and restful. You don't hear the jets from the airport between about 9 p.m. and 8 a.m., because of local regulations. There's a small but decently equipped exercise room. You're easy walking distance from restaurants, both fast-food and casual dining, and there are two convenience stores right across the street. When it's time for a remodeling, I'm sure they'll put in some more stylin' bedding and fixtures, but in the meantime, it's still a great place to lay your head at night. Take the money you save by staying here and splurge at South Coast Plaza, The Camp, or the legendary Hi-Time Wine Cellars in nearby Newport Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.2 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
1.3 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa

Property: Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa
Address: 1400 Bristol St, Suite A, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-8645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Orange County Airport Hotel Costa Mesa
Travelodge Santa Ana
Travel Lodge Santa Ana
Santa Ana Travelodge
Santa Ana Travel Lodge
Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing