We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wildwood, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at this establishment weekly since October (2 months) and offer the following comments as to my stay here:

1) Most folks think it is a drag to stay at a hotel that is undertaking renovation; there has never been an instance that the new construction has interrupted my sleep, or any time spent at the hotel.

2) The new renovations are absolutely fantastic; this being the place to stay gets defined further and further daily by the improvements happening (Kudos owners).

3) This hotel is within walking distance from the mall, theaters, and restaurants, all within a few blocks walking distance; location, location, location . . .

Since I stay here often, I wish to offer these comments as well:

4) The Silver Trumpet Restaurant is awesome. Not being a Buffet guy, I am very pleased that they offer a hot cooked breakfast, to your order and make it a nice change from morning-to-morning.

5) Let's talk staff at the Silver Trumpet . . . I am greeted each morning by folks that I am beginning to consider family; they talk to me by name and make sure that the beginning to my day (very important) is care free, and allows me the time to get the Caffeine to Oxygen Ratio (C2O) correct (thanks Kara, Brandie, Emma, Jorge, and others) for your pleasant presence each morning).

6) Housekeeping is fantastic, paying attention to detail . . . They are the most honest folks around too, as I asked at the front desk "I leave $10 each morning, as a tip for the housekeeping staff, why won't they take it?" . . . I have to leave a special note to say "This money is for you," or, I have no doubt, I could leave a $100 bill and it would be there when I return.

7) The registration desk is great as well, handling the littlest of issues (like 'my romm card doesn't work the parking gate") with rapid professionalism; thanks Richie and the others (I apologize I am horrible with names, but they ALL rock!)

8) Last, but not least, I wish to thank the CEO (Chief Entertainment Officer) Jose' who handles the Silver Trumpet bar amazingly; we never want for anything as long as Jose' is around . . . Hat's off to Jose' . . .

Owners, your improvements demonstrate your commitment to providing your guests the BEST place to stay. Keep up the good work, I can only await the completion of the new improvements, and say "Wow!"

Regards,
Chip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    387
    176
    80
    57
See reviews for
361
358
95
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a Birthday celebration with friends and had a great time. We were close enough to walk over to South Coast Plaza to shop and eat. The hotel is right off the 405 fwy and close to gas stations and plenty of good food. The lobby area decent but it would be nice if it was staffed (lounge) for more than just a few hours. The front desk and valet were nice and friendly. The parking is onsite not cheap but normal for some hotels. Our room had a great little patio area to relax on also. This is a nice place for a night on the town or a girls outing.

Room Tip: I prefer high floors less noise form upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasunsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great service, lovely rooms and beds. Most important - honest staff. I travel up to 10 nights per months for work and always leave a $10 tip on the bed for the housekeeper. Imagine my surprise when I came back to my room and the $$$ were on the nightstand. I called the manger to express my surprise and to compliment the housekeepers integrity. He said for this hotel I must leave a note so she/he would know the intent of the $$$ as they are instructed not take anything from the room. He is putting her in for the weekly staff recognition. I hope she gets it!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. They nailed it. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great experience staying at your property for the first time, felt extremely comfortable. All was clean, the staff was warm, helpful, friendly, informative needless to say Top Notch. I was impressed. Kudos! I will definately stay in this property again. Thank you for making it a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable, the layout is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilpaobotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for one night from a company party. Decor was beautiful and warm- yellow gold tones. Wood floor, granite sink and tub.Staff were friendly. Clean grounds. My only complaints were uncomfortable bed, sags in the middle, we're not heavy people either. My body ached. We could also hear guests' conversations while they were passing by . We ordered room service for breakfast and it was very good.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shary813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here the Wed before Thanksgiving and all I can really say about this place is wow. From check in, to check out the staff was all wonderful. The hotel is nice and clean throughout, and just pleasent in general to look at. As some people have mentioned, the parking is on the higher end, but I've stayed at lower end hotels where the parking was the same, if not higher. Do not let the parking fee keep you away from this hotel. We got a top floor room for an excellent price facing the pool area. While the balcony is not large, it is still nice to be able to step out there and enjoy the view. Additionally, the beds were nice and soft. The only problem I had was with the pillows. They were too soft for my taste, but otherwise a great experience.

The other great thing about this hotel was the location. You can just walk around in the evening and enjoy the waterway that is there.

As far as the bar area, as someone else mentioned before, it does close at 10pm, however it is a nice area, and the bartender was very friendly. He even stayed open slightly past 10 serving the few guests that were there having a drink. At no time did I feel rushed to leave the bar area even though the 10 o'clock hour had hit. If you enjoy spicy, try the popcorn. It had some habanero paprika spice to it that went excellent with the beer that I was enjoying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_a_wandererCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.3 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.9 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: 3350 Avenue of the Arts, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1913 (Formerly Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge the senses with unparalleled comfort and modern convenience at South Coast's most cosmopolitan address - Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel. Perfectly positioned midway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the hotel is opposite the Performing Arts center and 1 block from South Coast Plaza Mall. Guests can enjoy the Silver Trumpet Restaurant & Bar offering lunch and dinner menus and a breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include a fitness center, 24 hour room service, and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Wyndham
Avenue Of The Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing