We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking for a quick getaway to Southern California with easy access to Huntington Beach. This was exactly what we were looking for. It was a quick 20 minute drive to the beach where we proceeded to get nice and sunburned. I would definitely return to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilmooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Lilmooman,
We are refreshed to hear that our location met all your needs during your stay.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 867 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Westin South Coast Plaza is conveniently located across the street from South Coast Plaza, and next to Segerstrom Concert Hall and the Segerstrom Center for the Arts.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is located to the right. Although there were three front desk agents, and only one other guest checking in, the other two front desk agents weren’t very proactive in helping customers. One front desk agent walked away while the other was helpful once the check-in process began.

The lobby is somewhat small, and missing was the flavored water located in most Westin hotels.

Upon entering the room, the bathroom is located to the right. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but there is ample counter space.

They must have taken leftover tile from the Brady Bunch to tile the bathroom as it is rather outdated. There was no “Heavenly Shower” but there is a rainfall showerhead in addition to the normal showerhead, providing an impromptu Heavenly Shower.

The bedroom is fairly large with ample space to walk around and maneuver around the bed.

There is a small dresser with flat screen TV.

The desk is fairly wide, but does not have very much depth to it.

The Heavenly Bed was just that. It is nice that the lamps next on the nightstands each have 2 outlets, which makes plugging in electronics easy and convenient.

I wouldn’t say that Customer Service is a strong point of this hotel based upon this stay.

Parking options are rather limited, either valet or there is covered garage parking. However, at $20 a day, it is rather steep. Since there are no other parking options, the hotel certainly have you by the “short hairs” when it comes to this property.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear TheMysteryT,
Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We strive to provide memorable experiences and truly are thankful that you have given us your feedback so we can continue to improve our services.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice Hotel, well equipped and quite new. As preferred guest I had a wide room at top floor, but all the Hotel looked very nice. Room quiet and well equipped, breakfast quite good. very useful for John Wayne airport or South Coast Plaza mall or if you're travelling for busness in that area...don't go there if you're looking a place for a nice holiday with your family: much better if you find something in the cities close to the coast

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanharuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear fanharuka,
Thank you so much for letting us know that we met your business needs. We hope to see you on your next business travels.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is great, the pool was extremely relaxing, the bar has a wonderful patio with an incredible multi-step waterfall coming down from the second floor and the rooms are perfectly westin. Michael is a great manager and gave us a great welcome as always. The hotel has a great area to walk your dogs (unfortunately ours didn't get to go for the weekend) and is located right near Fashion Island and South Coast Malls. With only a 15 minute drive to Laguna Beach (when there is no traffic) and next to so many theatres right outside the door, this is an INCREDIBLE value. My only issue would be the $20 overnight self parking. I wish that parking were included in the room rate, but then again, we all wish that. Great hotel.

Room Tip: For once I can say I've never had a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmspringsdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear palmspringssd,
Thank you so much for providing your positive feedback. We will make sure our team is made aware of your recognition on how they deliver service to our valued guests. Thank you for staying with us.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Not impressed with check-in process: having a trainee check in a Platinum SPG member with a barrage of questions is not the best way to go. Gym needs fans/better air conditioning, as does the restaurant, which has also has poor acoustics... enjoy listening to the conversations all around you. Adequate but not highly satisfying.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STHoward84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear STHoward84,
Our sincere apologies that you were not welcomed appropriately. We value you as a Starwood Preferred Platinum member and understand how important it is to have a seamless experience when you travel as much as you do. We will take your feedback and ensure that we work on how we deliver service. We hope to see you again at our hotel.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Enjoyed a restful nights sleep after a full day at Knott's. Room was spacious and clean. The bathroom amenities were on par with this class of hotels. Their heavenly bed truly was a blessing as I slept straight through till morning.

Only downside I could say about this place was that parking seemed quite expensive.($20 self park, $30 valet) the self park option wouldn't be so bad except the parking structure was across the street separate from the hotel. Peet's coffee and Specialties bakery was close enough for a short walk for a morning cup of joe.

Looking forward to staying here again on my next visit to SoCal.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dayy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Dayy19,
Thank you for staying with us at the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a restful night sleep when with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to our hotel.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our room had dated, nicked furniture and was plan old tired. Definitely an older Westin. View from room was awesome and the French restaurant on the premises was excellent. I had the best charcuterie plate I have ever had, the service was perfection. It was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Chris H,
We are refreshed to hear that you had a great experience at our Pinot Provence restaurant. We will make sure they know that it was the highlight of your trip.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $161 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing