We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay, until.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will be brief. On the 3rd day of our stay, a Sunday, my wife and I spent the afternoon at the pool. It was a beautiful day, the pool was quiet, and very relaxing. We had tickets to see "Billy Elliott" next door at the Arts Center.

When we returned to our room at 5pm, starting to clean up for the show, we discovered that there was NO HOT WATER. I called down to the Customer line to report the problem. The woman at the other end of the line apologized and said we should have received a letter mentioning that the boiler was being repaired and there would be no hot water from noon until midnight. Unfortunately, there was no notice, no voice mail , no letter and no sign in the lobby mentioning this 'slight' inconvenience. The assistant manager apologized, and offered to cover our out of pocket expenses which totally no more than $60, as we dined outside the hotel every day. We were not happy.

Another peeve is the parking rates. When we drove up on Friday night we learned that the valet parking rate was $30 per day, and self-parking was $20 per day. This is totally outrageous, when the hotel room was around $125 per night.

I am Starwood Gold and was not offered any of the Starwood amenities upon checkin. While we were comfortable in our room, the lack of notice regarding the shut off of hot water, plus the outrageous parking fees, has totally led us to rethink staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Jim90068,
Our deepest apologies that you had this unfortunate experience. We value you as a Starwood Preferred Gold member and will ensure that we take your feedback to improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver for you.
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 873 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. The room is big and comfortable although time for some improvements. Staff is friendly although the most I ever got to try was a quick coffee even though they have coffee service in the room. Hats off to the hotel for $1 water for convenience when everyone lose wants to make a killing on water.
As others mention valet parking a little pricey. Convenient for SNA, Southcoast Plaza, and more. I would definitely return but I would not pay extra to stay here

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Rich W
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've probably stayed at this hotel 30 times over the last six or seven years. He lobby was remodeled about five years ago and it is pretty nice. There are nice amenities and a fountain that adds to the ambiance, but the location is the best thing about this hotel. It is located 10minutes north of John Wayne (Orange County) Airport and is quickly accessible from the 405. It is directly adjacent to the South Coast Repertory Theatre and across the street from one of the finest shopping malls you will visit. In Southern California that is saying something! Costa Mesa in situated very near Irvine and provides short commutes to Irvine and even Anaheim (Disneyland), although there are lots of other options if Disney is your primary destination. This is primarily a business hotel, but there are always weddings there because of the lovely grounds and the stunning theatre backdrops. There is a decent gym and a swimming pool that provide a nice escape from business calls. There used to be free WiFi in the lobby, but they may be charging now. Rooms can be on the expensive side depending on which days of the week you are there and events, but you can find deals there periodically. I always check SPG.com since rates can range from $169 to over $300. There are some great hidden gems in the area...one is the Anti-Mall about 5 miles down Bristol (go over the freeway). Havana is a terrific Cuban restaurant. Try the Ropa Vieja! The food at the hotel is decent, but generic. Definitely skip the pizza. There are so many good restaurants in the area I encourage you to venture out. Finally, there is a walking trail and bridge over Bristol so you can walk to the mall!

Room Tip: Ask for upper room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolverine325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Wolverine325,
Thank you for your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate feedback on our valued guest experiences. We do have complimentary internet in the lobby for our guest use. We hope that you will come back and visit us on your next visit.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is an average hotel with poor service. The rooms are good and they were clean. The bar area was good but the food over priced for " bar food". The real issue is that there is very little service especially since the price of the hotel is very high. There are lots of other hotels in the are that are better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear postrawb,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit. Our team takes pride in delivering superior service and we will make sure they receive your feedback so we may deliver on that promise.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here one night for a wedding at the hotel. The room and parts of the hotel were a bit worn and dated (especially the bathroom), but our room was clean and comfortable. All of the staff were friendly and we were able to check in early (around 1pm) to get ready for the wedding, which was a plus. The only reason for the 4 star rating is the food. For convenience, we ate at the hotel several times (afternoon appetizers at the bar, for the wedding, late night room service, then brunch the next morning in the restaurant) and the food was always mediocre and overpriced. I would recommend going elsewhere to eat, as there seemed to be a lot of options nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofieH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Sofie H.,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. We hope that you will give our hotel another opportunity when you travel to our area.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this property using SPG points. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The offered my friend the choice of an extra amenity with her stay: a drink at the bar, extra SPG points, or free internet. I still find it unbelievable that Starwood properties charge for internet service in the rooms. We stayed on the 10th floor away from the elevators, which was nice. The ice machine is not near any of the rooms, which is a plus for everyone. It was on the far side of the elevators. When I walked into the room I was happy to see modern furniture, bathroom fixtures, and countertops. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was free Starbucks coffee and some tea in the room. Did not touch the water bottles and snacks on the desk because I didn't want to pay extra for them. The down side to this property is that parking is $20/night. In Costa Mesa. It's not like it's downtown L.A. where parking is scarce.... However, that fee was waived when we came down the next morning and told the front desk that when we pulled up for the shower half the water came out of the shower head and half of it still came out of the tap below. Yuck. The attendant at the front desk apologized for the inconvenience, thanked us for telling her so she could get maintenance to fix it, and took the parking fee off. That effort to appease us made us happy.
If I were in the area again and didn't have the SPG points, I would look for other accommodations because of the outrageous parking fee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Denise A,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We value your opinion. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver on your experience.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A detailed statement of the problems and issues encountered has been forwarded to Westin Hotels Headquarters. Suffice it here to say that this property did not meet minimum expectations. The desk staff, while courteous, was uncaring and did nothing to resolve the major issue (which could have been easily resolved by changing our room). I will stay at a competitor whenever possible before I will ever stay at another Westin property following this negative experience.

Room Tip: Stay at a competitor's property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear George C,
Our sincere apologies that you felt we did not recover from your experience at the hotel. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $185 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing