We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations, Parking Fee Outrageous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this property using SPG points. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The offered my friend the choice of an extra amenity with her stay: a drink at the bar, extra SPG points, or free internet. I still find it unbelievable that Starwood properties charge for internet service in the rooms. We stayed on the 10th floor away from the elevators, which was nice. The ice machine is not near any of the rooms, which is a plus for everyone. It was on the far side of the elevators. When I walked into the room I was happy to see modern furniture, bathroom fixtures, and countertops. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was free Starbucks coffee and some tea in the room. Did not touch the water bottles and snacks on the desk because I didn't want to pay extra for them. The down side to this property is that parking is $20/night. In Costa Mesa. It's not like it's downtown L.A. where parking is scarce.... However, that fee was waived when we came down the next morning and told the front desk that when we pulled up for the shower half the water came out of the shower head and half of it still came out of the tap below. Yuck. The attendant at the front desk apologized for the inconvenience, thanked us for telling her so she could get maintenance to fix it, and took the parking fee off. That effort to appease us made us happy.
If I were in the area again and didn't have the SPG points, I would look for other accommodations because of the outrageous parking fee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Denise A,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We value your opinion. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver on your experience.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for The Westin South Coast Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 858 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

A detailed statement of the problems and issues encountered has been forwarded to Westin Hotels Headquarters. Suffice it here to say that this property did not meet minimum expectations. The desk staff, while courteous, was uncaring and did nothing to resolve the major issue (which could have been easily resolved by changing our room). I will stay at a competitor whenever possible before I will ever stay at another Westin property following this negative experience.

Room Tip: Stay at a competitor's property.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear George C,
Our sincere apologies that you felt we did not recover from your experience at the hotel. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I hosted a 30-40 person event here over several days and had a great experience. The accommodations were very good, the staff was always helpful, friendly and cheerful. The catered food was excellent. I got lots of positive feedback from the attendees.
My only criticism is that there is only one restaurant in the hotel. While it was a good restaurant, I was stumped a couple of times regarding when they were open and when not. Mitigating factor is that there a many restaurants in the area, accessible with a short walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Jefisan,
Thank you for choosing us for your event. We value your feedback regarding to your visit. We are glad to hear that your experience went well. We hope to see you on your next event or leisure stay.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I don't normally stay at this hotel and prefer the Fairmont, but we thought we'd give another hotel a try, give it's close to the Mall and my girlfriend wanted to shop on our last day. Some things are nice- the coffee shop that has the great breakfast sandwiches is very convenient if you're in a hurry and the food standards are very high. The reason I gave the hotel such low marks is because we arrived very late Thursday night, for three nights, yet the hotel had the gall to charge four days for valet parking at $28.00 a night. That's a rip-off! I have a hard time with hotel scams like this and while they may get my $28 dollars for that extra night, they won't see me back ever again. Another thing that's deceptive- They offer you a $5.00 credit for not cleaning the room daily, claiming it's an environmental thing when in fact, the truth is it just saves them money cleaning the room. This is deceptive because it's pure 'feel-good' environmentalism as if they actually did something for the planet when in reality the did nothing. Last; this is an old building and even though the rooms are refurbished and there are nice new fixtures, it's still the old style ventilation system that makes a lot of noise, along with old tile and other signs that it's all just dressing. There are better places and just the parking scam alone is reason to not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TommyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear TommyJames,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver on your experience.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was extremely pleased with this hotel. The staff was superb. The room was quite large and very comfortable. The hotel is expensive,but it is in a very upscale area. It is well worth the cost.The restaurant was excellent. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Jeff G,
Thank you for staying with us at the hotel. Look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here last week on a pleasure trip (graduate school reunion with some friends). Very friendly front desk with easy check-in. A pricey stay but understandably so. I would suggest to all hotels at this price level that a cell-phone, laptop and Ipad charger be part of the in-room work desk setup. These devices are ubiquitous and most travelers forget one or all of them. This would also be a great marketing tool for the hotel. All in all a pleasant trouble-free stay.

Room Tip: As always: 1. Away from the elevators. 2. Away from the ice machine 3. Never use the mini-bar. It...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Leo G,
Thank you for staying with us. A traveler needs to have those trouble-free stays to feel renewed and refreshed when away from home. Glad to hear that we were able to make this happen for you.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here quite frequently and its an adequate hotel. The building is old, probably early 80s and while reskinned still not up to Westin quality. Bathrooms (tubs) are old (and they have those gross rubber safety mats) with the old 1980s ceramic tiles but they put the new Westin Elements brand square shower head with hand shower. The bathrooms are tiny, I hate having to put the towel on the toilet back so that I can reach from the shower since there is no room for towel bars as the towels are under the sink. The carpet is new and they even touched up the paint, but again all average. The food offerings, on the other hand, are overpriced and below average. Breakfast is attrocious and they don't have a club lounge for platinums. The bar/lounge in the lobby is again average with really overpriced food and a very poor selection of beverages. All in all if there was something, anything, more convenient that was newer and nicer (unfortunately the Marriott is in the same boat here), I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms exactly the same, suites are just two rooms. The elevators are old and loud so stay away...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seat31E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Seat31E,
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience at the hotel. We continue to work hard to maintain our hotel to The Westin standard and appreciate your feedback regarding your impression you had when staying.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $182 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing