We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed here in 2 different rooms on 2 separate nights so I got a good cross section of what the rooms will look like.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I stayed here in 2 different rooms on 2 separate nights so I got a good cross section of what the rooms will look like.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here after staying at the neighboring Motel 6 with the new modern European styling remodeling decor. I was more comfortable here than at the other place. This location obviously is a older hotel that has seen several remodels and refurbishments. The quality and craftsmanship of the last refurbishment was moderate to okay. A high grade deep pile carpet will greet you when you enter the room. You may also notice a slightly musty odor. The first room I stayed in had a very poorly cleaned carpet that was badly spotted and stained. The second room was okay in condition but it could have used a shampooing. Fixtures counters and paint were all adequate to okay. No flat screen TV but a great selection of cable channels. A hi carb breakfast will meet you in the morning and hospitality hour in the afternoon is a nice touch with box wine and crackers. All for a couple bucks less a night then the lower numbered chain referenced above. I have been in some Super 8's around the country recently that have been absolutely stellar and on par with 3 star hotels. This is not one of them but none the less a reasonably good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Good morning and thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at our Costa Mesa Super 8. We are in the process of replacing carpet and furniture where needed. Thank you once again for choosing our Super 8. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay or if I may be of assistance in a future reservation.

Sincerely,

John Morrin
Executive Offices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    174
    103
    47
    38
See reviews for
170
125
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very large king room that worked well for our 2 night stay while visiting in So Cal. A good value - nothing fancy but it is clean and in a good location right off the 405 with a nice pool and spa. They had a good selection of continental breakfast fare - including hot waffles and they even hosted an evening happy hour with snacks. Our room was on the opposite side of the property away from the "Pub" and was very quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rm 201 is on the end so has only one common wall and is away from the Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to our Costa Mesa Super 8 location. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you while traveling through the area in the future.

John Morrin
Executive Offices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Reading many other reviews I think we may have stayed at a different hotel!
We felt the staff were friendly enough - they offered help when requested.
Rooms were clean and tidy, albeit somewhat dated. Coffee, fridge, TV, microwave, air con, etc.
In the evenings there was a basic 'happy hour' with nibbles and wine in the reception. (Wine from a polystyrene cup is not great though!)
Breakfast was fine - the usual buffet of pastries, pancakes, cereals, juice, etc.
Free DVD's were available - unusually you were given the player as well as the disc, but no problem with this.
The swimming pool was good, as was the hot tub.
Parking was fine.

The only negatives really was the motel is easy to miss when you arrive - its next to 7/11 store, and there is nowhere local to eat good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Tripadvisor. If your travels bring you to the area in the future, please consider sending me a note on dining preferences and I would be happy to offer suggestions that are close but easy to miss.

Sincerely,

John Morrin
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My stay was 7 days. Check-in was easy, nice person on duty. This motel is located next to a "Pub", I would say "connected" to the motel. My room was downstairs, steps away from the "Pub" and 3 nights were extremely noisey all night, so sleep was difficult. Room was 'ok', livable, but could use some TLC/updating and better cleaning by maid.

Rates were cheapest around, would consider another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherih2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
269 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In returning here two years after my first day, I was looking forward to it. I'd had a great experience at this motel the first time my friend and I stayed here: great location, service and an impressive room. Maybe it was the room we were put in, but this was definitely a step down: plugs without face plates, spider webs in the shower, vague unpleasant smoky smell, bed linens in need of replacement (not dirty, just cheap and tired).

Breakfast was still a good value and the front desk service was fine (minus a lack of information when a transformer blew). The location is still great if going to the beach or the OC Fair, but the room left a lot to be desired and needed to be spruced, definitely.

Maybe it's just time for a remodel?

Overall, if I were to return, I might look twice at staying here again, which is disappointing since I'd had such good memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We made Costa Mesa our base for visiting Disneyland (25 mins) and Newport Beach (15 mins). It was a good value for the money - clean, friendly and well run. The staff were very warm and helpful. Breakfast was basic, but met our needs. (If you're looking for bacon & eggs, you'll have to go elsewhere). The pool was lovely - but too bad it didn't open till 10. (It's open till 10 pm for night owls, but that's not helpful for kids.) I'd stay there again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in early June. I booked a rate directly on the Super 8 website for $61/night.

The hotel is easy to find and near a Vons grocery store. Parking available directly outside the office. Rooms are outside entry. My room was large with a fridge. Jetted tub in bathroom. Housekeeping was prompt and freshened our room nicely. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. Plenty of cable channels if you need tv.

Pool and hottub were clean and not crowded while I was there. Open 10am to 10pm. Chairs and loungers around for seating.

Towels were not your regular hotel towels. They seemed to be of a higher quality.

The morning comp breakfast is average and what you would expect. Waffles, cereal, fruit danish, bagels, bread for toast, milk, juice.

Free wifi which worked good.

This hotel gives you more than you pay for. A huge bargain. I would return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawkeyetough88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area

Property: Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area
Address: 2645 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
#8 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Costa Mesa Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Newport Beach, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, renowned shopping at South Coast Plaza and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Costa Mesa offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fruit, Juice, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Pastries, Oatmeal and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa. In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Guest Business Center, Free WI FI throughout entire property. Complimentary DVD player and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN and ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes including a new In-N-Out Burger. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. It is our pleasure to make your stay in Orange County a comfortable and memorable experience. One button reservation from your smart phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area Hotel Costa Mesa
Super Eight Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Super 8
Costa Mesa Super Eight
Super 8 Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing