We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need deep cleaning!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooms need deep cleaning!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

While I liked everything else about this hotel..... the rooms were a big disappointment!! Way too dirty!! especially the carpets. My little grandson's feet were "black" from walking aroung barefoot!! YUCK!!! Also, the rooms need more than just a "top dusting"!! Cobwebs abound on high light fixtures. An there was just alot of dust on everything that was above eye level. Too bad!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaw914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
75
29
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed in this hotel 3 times in the past 3 years. It's truely away from home hotel. First, the management and the staff and I mean all staff working in this hotel are extremly nice, warm and helpfull. The location and suits facilities are very convenient. I really enjoyed the hospitalities of Marriott, but this one is really different.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have stayed here at least a dozen times in the past 18 years. The Penthouse Suite fits our family of 5 perfectly. It is not fancy but they do keep it updated and clean. The free breakfast is extremely convenient. While it's not in a resort location, it is very convenient to South Coast Plaza, Disneyland and the Newport/Huntington coast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

About 2 month ago, We booked 2 nights stay with Marriott Residence Inn Costa Mesa for May 29 and 30th 2010. We got an email confirmation this week for 2 nights stay but when we arrived there yesterday May 29 2010 (Saturday) to check in, we were told that they were over booked and they didn't have 2 nights but only 1 night for us and we had to stay at their Marriot Courtyard instead and then return to the Marriott Residence Inn Costa Mesa the next day. They think checking in and out is easy. Why did they even bother to send an email confirmation of our 2 nights with them if they didn't even have the 2 night room for us. We drove 6 hours plus to get there and end up staying at a courtyard that's not big enough for us. They wasted all our driving for nothing. We ended up not being able to do what we planned for the 30th. We headed back home. Advice to others: better call and confirm with a live person about your booking. An email confirmation isn't a sure thing.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklySpeaking718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The rooms were very comfortable and well maintained. The breakfasts were very good, a big selection of food and the room were you eat was laid out well (short lines and easy to get to the food). They have activities some of the evenings during the week, we went to one for a supper, but food was not good, I think it was beef stew.
The location was right off an expressway and it was easy to get to places from the hotel.
We didn't have much need to interact with the staff, but they seemed fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Very good stay at this hotel. Over the course of several weeks we had a wonderful time. Home away from home treatment by staff and pleasant accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

First of all, all the folks working at this hotel are really nice and seem to care that you are having a good stay. I am just not a fan of the cluster apartment style hotel. There can be a lot of outside walking from your room to the main office where the breakfast area is. I came from the SNA airport by taxi at around midnight and had a long dark walk outside to my apartment block carrying all my suitcases and briefcase. I am not sure the security was very good at all. I'm also glad it was not raining. The room I had was a ho-hum studio suite. Amenities are tiny soap bars and a shampoo and conditioner. The kitchenette seemed set up well, but I didn't use it. For a longer stay, it might have made more sense. I think I would have been happier in a more traditional hotel like a Marriott or a Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Property: Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Orange County when you book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. Our hotel in Costa Mesa offers easy access to a variety of popular attractions, including the luxurious South Coast Plaza shopping center, Orange County Fairgrounds, Orange Coast College, Disneyland(R) and an array of pristine Orange County beaches. We offer complimentary transportation to John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in our brand new spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas for working, sleeping, living and eating. Or take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or heated outdoor swimming pool. Our Orange County beach hotel also offers a stylish meeting room for corporate and social gatherings of up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay in Costa Mesa that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing