We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The rooms were very comfortable and well maintained. The breakfasts were very good, a big selection of food and the room were you eat was laid out well (short lines and easy to get to the food). They have activities some of the evenings during the week, we went to one for a supper, but food was not good, I think it was beef stew.
The location was right off an expressway and it was easy to get to places from the hotel.
We didn't have much need to interact with the staff, but they seemed fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    37
    8
    11
See reviews for
77
30
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Very good stay at this hotel. Over the course of several weeks we had a wonderful time. Home away from home treatment by staff and pleasant accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

First of all, all the folks working at this hotel are really nice and seem to care that you are having a good stay. I am just not a fan of the cluster apartment style hotel. There can be a lot of outside walking from your room to the main office where the breakfast area is. I came from the SNA airport by taxi at around midnight and had a long dark walk outside to my apartment block carrying all my suitcases and briefcase. I am not sure the security was very good at all. I'm also glad it was not raining. The room I had was a ho-hum studio suite. Amenities are tiny soap bars and a shampoo and conditioner. The kitchenette seemed set up well, but I didn't use it. For a longer stay, it might have made more sense. I think I would have been happier in a more traditional hotel like a Marriott or a Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Wow, this hotel had some of the friendliest front desk staff we have ever encountered. From the night auditor to the afternoon staff they were all friendly and always asked how we were enjoying our stay. We asked for an early check-in on our second stay and they accomodated our needs, recommended restaurants and gave us a great guide for the area. They were all fabulous. The rooms were extremely clean and very spacious. We especially enjoyed the free welcome night popcorn and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. They even had fresh coffee waiting in the lobby when we checked out at 5:45 am. The staff was extremely conscientious of what customers might want.

They had a business area where we were able to check into our flight and print our confirmations without being charged. This was a nice surprise service.

We will definitely stay here the next time we are in town and will recommend to friends. Thanks for such a pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jepppy423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I decided last minute to stay at Residence Inn to avoid having to travel back to L.A. after a concert. It was the first time we stayed at a Residence Inn. My husband really liked the fact that there was a couch and flat-screen TV. We both really liked having a kitchen too. The staff was extra friendly and helpful. Alyssa at the front desk was just so nice and went out of our way to help us get a cab to and from the concert venue. Since their shuttle was unavailable to take us to our desired locations, Residence Inn reimbursed us for our taxi service. We are staying this weekend at the Residence Inn in Oxnard, I hope they are able to live up to the friendly service the staff at the Costa Mesa location so kindly extended to us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2009

If a person is Orange County and and is not looking for a 5 star hotel but an excellant place for "long term" stay with perfect location then this is the true true place of stay.

I stayed in this hotel for 2 years (approx). An excellant hotel - manager and staff makes sure that guest are treated in an homely environment. 5 minutes walking distance from South coast plaza, the Orange county's biggest shopping mall. Next to a Chruch, an excellant playground and what more just 15 miles for Disneyland.

A true "Value for money". The hotel also provides free drop-pickup facility in 10 miles radius.

If a person loves to dine in good restraurents, shopping in best shops of the world and is traveling to Orange county either on personal or business trip on short or long trip then this is the place to stay. The penthouse are here are too good.

  • Liked — The home away from home feeling with a 100% perfect location for shopping, beach & theme parks
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Location:
There is nothing within walking distance but liquor stores which at first worried me about the area. I've never seen so many liquor stores within one area! It seemed to be okay though. We were attending an event at the Orange County Fairgrounds which was about 2.5 miles from the hotel and we drove there as we did the Stater Bros grocery store at Fairview and Baker. Also, anything at all else we needed could be found off of Bristol road, about 2.5 miles as well: Mall, Trader Joes, Target etc. The hotel is also very close to the freeway and very close to John Wayne Airport.

Room:
The room was a strange layout but again served our purposes for the week. It had one king bed and a the sofa bed which our daughter used. The room was big enough that we left the sofa bed open which sometimes in some rooms you cannot do because it's too cramped. The bathroom was extremely odd in that the door cleared the toilet by about 1 mm which made it very awkward getting in and out of the bathroom. As it it is in Residence Inns, it had a full kitchen which had very new full size appliances and was very clean. A downside also was that the air conditioning/heating units are a split system in that the blower was in the room in a closet with the condenser outside the room. The blower in the room was very noisy as it came on and off. I liked all the closet space. There were two closets near the bathroom and one at the door so with three people and my daughter's costumes, it worked well for us. Housekeeping was efficient and responded to our request for extra blankets etc. We always came back to a clean room and they came back later when we slept in and left the "Later, Please" sign on the door. Management checked in with us on our first night to see if we needed anything and left extension numbers if we needed to contact them.

Breakfast:
The food was fine. Standard breakfast fare. Didn't use it on the weekends since we had to be up so early before it was served.

Business Center:
Only one computer and one day the internet services was VERY SLOW. Told the management and it seemed better the next day. With all the computer hogs out there, it would be helpful to have another computer as we had to wait a lot.

Overall we would stay here again because we have the full kitchen, it's close to the Orange County Fairgrounds which we come back to every year and to the shopping and the airport. It they could remodel the air conditioning/heating system so that the blower is outside, it would greatly help the sound situation and the bathroom is kind of annoying as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelintime4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Property: Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for events of up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay in Costa Mesa that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing