We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
“No problems”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business trip. Well kept, convenient breakfast, clean, friendly staff. Good location. Room was stocked with dishes and they'll even pick up groceries for you.

I'm not rating Value since my company paid for the room and I don't know how much it cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Hope that during your next stay you will utilize the grocery shopping service and cook a meal in your suite.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    70
    38
    8
    11
See reviews for
77
33
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great place, very convenient to John Wayne Airport. Its layout is the "version 1" of Residence Inn properties, in separate buildings like apartments, but it's easy to get around the property. When I arrived to check in around 5:00 pm, the room I had reserved had not been cleaned, so they gave me an upgraded room (a "penthouse" room) at no charge. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and the free shuttle around the area was also nice. This is in addition to all the usual Residence Inn amenities like free daily breakfast and free social hour on Mon-Wed.

It seems that they may be a bit shorthanded on the cleaning staff, since they typically didn't finish cleaning our room until late in the day and there were small evidences that the vacuuming wasn't as thorough as it could have been. Still, it was a great place to stay for our particular trip, and I'll consider it again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrewer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so glad you were able to enjoy some of our amenities like the breakfast, social hours, and the shuttle. I will follow up with our housekeeping staff and review our comments and look for ways to improve our service. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been staying here four nights a week for the past few weeks. I am on a contracting assignment and am coming in from Orlando, FL, so the bicoastal travel can be hard. The folks at this Residence Inn do everything in their power to make it better and easier for me. They are all very friendly and accommodating, from the front desk down to the ladies that cook the daily breakfast....always a smile. The property is a bit older, so there are a few dings and scratches, but it is VERY, VERY CLEAN and the rooms are comfortable. The location is great, I basically can find only good things to say!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffywan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are so excited to be your "home away from home" each week. I can only imagine how tough it is to fly back and forth each week from one coast to the other and I am so happy that we are able to make things just a little bit easier for your. We look forward to seeing you each week!

Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Myself as well as several colleagues stay at the Inn from six nights. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were neat and cleaned promptly on a daily basis. The complimentary breakfast was suitable. Rosa and her daughter who manage same were both a true delight every single day we were there. We used the grill for a group dinner and all went very well. We would all stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a small gym which was great for an early morning work out. The ground floor rooms are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale26589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed all the amenities we have including the BBQ and pool area. I will pass on your wonderful comments to Rosa and Christina and recognize them for their service and making you feel like you were home. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting the Costa Mesa Area.
Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel is better than other Residence Inn I've stayed at, has great location, helpful staff, free internet, and good variety of complimentary breakfast. Will stay here again next time I visit Newport Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I really appreciate the positive comments and are so happy to hear that our staff took good care of you. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed with our two kids for 9 days. Extremely clean & punctual housekeeping staff (Mexican Housekeeping Neat-Clean Culture). Front desk were extremely informative of the area & very helpful. Location is extremely accessible to next door Dry-Cleaning (including serviced wash & fold), The Vons Supermarket is few minutes away by car as well as the well-known Coast Plaza Upscale Shopping mall. Many options of restaurant are also few minutes away by car and some are one minute walk away.They also serve basic but good breakfast in the morning as part of the stay. Parking is Free & front of your accommodation normally.

The only little issue I had is, since we booked the penthouse which is normally in a second floor, I had to carry the luggage up & down the stairs. Beds also were too soft may need to have relatively firmer mattresses.

I highly recommend this property against The Marriott Coast Villas located in Newport Beach which we also have stayed in towards our vacation end. Big difference from all aspects specially for the value of money, location convenience & housekeeping standards.

Room Tip: If you would need two rooms, and have plenty of luggage, better to book two separate units in the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayed-KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Our Penthouse Suites are so great for families with the two bedrooms and bathrooms. Unfortunately, they are located on the second floor of the buildings and you do have to navigate the stairs with your luggage. Next time please let us know and we will have our staff bring all your luggage to the room and also help when you are checking out. I am so happy you were able to enjoy all the local shopping and dining options we have – and there are lots to choose from. We hope that you and your family will come visit us next time you are in the Costa Mesa/Newport Beach area!
Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am a business traveler and would stay in 2 properties a week on an average. For the most part, my experience with hotels particularly those rated 3+ stars are excellent. Any issues as long as it doesn't ruin my day I really do not complain. But my stay with the Residence Inn in Costa Mesa is the most remembered and the recovery the front desk has made. Here's why.

I came in late due to flight disruptions so if you can imagine how I look forward to the bed. Second, I was feeling sick so the more I really looking forward to get some rest. But in the middle of the night, 2 people tried to come into my room and woke me up. I immediately yelled suggesting this room is taken and they left. I think the front desk inadvertently resold my room. Since then my sleep was erratic. The following day I was woozy. I called the front desk and told my experience. The lady by the name of Julie immediately apologized, and asked me if it would help if I can stay another night, giving me a complimentary stay. I thought, wow! This lady really was genuine on her offer and she handled the recovery superb that that night I sleep like a bay. The following day, I called for a check out, she recognized me and asked if I was feeling better. And I said yes. I asked if it is ok if their shuttle can take me straight to the car rental place nearby, instead of going to the airport the long way and pick up the shuttle back to the rental place. She ask me how soon I can get ready. The driver took me to the rental and he is wonderful (unfortunately I forgot to asked for his name). But back to Julie, she is simply the best in the service industry. And I can tell after dealing with hotel personnel, she is exceptional!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am so happy to hear how well Julie took care of you and was able to help you enjoy your stay after the issue you had the first night. I will be sure to share your comments with her and the staff and we really appreciate it. We hope we see you next time you are coming to Costa Mesa.
Sue Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Property: Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing