We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for beach getaway on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We planned an impromptu trek to the beach with our toddler and booked this on the same night we stayed. Originally I was a big disappointed as I really wanted to stay much closer to the beach but this was the only thing available. In all actuality, it was not very far from the beach - about a 20 minute drive with traffic. The hotel had friendly staff, was clean, and quiet and being a Residence Inn, provided a comfortable room and enough space for 3 people to stay comfortably. We would definitely stay here again, if we plan on going back to spend more time in the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agirlinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank your for choosing our hotel for your last minute getaway! We are so happy you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the beach and enjoy some relaxing time. We hope to see you this summer for another fun weekend in Newport Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everything about this hotel and our trip was wonderful. My husband was in Newport beach on business so we requested a quiet room on the top floor. Our request was granted, Our room was perfect. ALL the staff here are friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned everyday, Housekeeping does a great job. Breakfast was delicious with so much choice, A great way to start your day without having to hunt down a place to eat. The social hour provided dinner three nights for us. It was a great bonus when working all day to be able to eat onsite and then relax for the evening. The rooms are big and comfortable, Especially the bed and we loved having a full kitchen. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We are so happy you took advantage of our delicious breakfast buffet and enjoyed the spacious rooms. I have passed on your comments to our Front Office Staff and Housekepeers and our entire staff is thrilled your stay was so enjoyable! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very nice property with just two stories. Located in a quiet neighborhood a short drive from Newport Beach/Balboa in SoCal. The morning fog breaks early here and there's a pool on the property to relax beside during the warm afternoons. Good access to the beaches (Newport or Laguna) or Disneyland. A good choice if flying into Orange County Airport or doing business in nearby Irvine Tech Zone/Univ. of Calif Irvine.

Room Tip: No views from the second floor rooms (low-rise residential neighborhood surrounds the complex) so ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to so many attractions including Balboa Island which is a favorite. Remember, our complementary shuttle goes within 5 miles of the hotel so we can gladly pick you up from John Wayne Airport next time! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Orange County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a conference and absolutely loved it. Location is easy to get in and out of and a lot of help from the front desk to find stuff. The breakfast is nice, the courtyard is quiet. It is close to some amazing shopping and not far from the beach. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. Next time, enjoy a trip to nearby South Coast Plaza. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Costa Mesa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here while dealing with local elderly parent issues. Not a fun trip, but this hotel really helped us stay upbeat. The facility is not brand new, but very comfortable, well laid out, and has everything we needed including washing machines/dryers, great breakfasts, newspapers, full kitchen, wine by the bottle, happy hour, etc. etc. Our room was crisp and clean. Sue, the Manager made us feel like old friends and glad to see us. We will undoubtedly need to return to Costa Mesa, and we will certainly stay here and maybe even get to take a dip in the nice pool!

Room Tip: If you have lot of luggage, the stairs to the second floor may be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Costa Mesa and certainly reccomend a dip in the pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the best hotel i have ever stayed in! the staff was amazing!! They were so friendly i really felt like i was with family. The bed was AMAZING!! I am going to buy the Sterns and Foster for my next bed!! Breakfast was good and i was amazed they had dinner too! The Inn is only a 20 min walk to the mall and has a plaza with a restaurant right next door. I will stay here anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped make it even more memorable. We hope to have you stay with us again soon and do some more shopping at South Coast Plaza or enjoy our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent three plus months at this location, the food was typically very good, actually the best of any Marriott Residence Inn I have stayed at, with the exception of the evening fare at the Pensacola FL location. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The Manager (Sue) runs a good crew. Good breakfast, great variety.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValricoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much for being a part of our family for three months and we enjoyed getting to spend time with you. We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $153 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing