We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“THE BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the best hotel i have ever stayed in! the staff was amazing!! They were so friendly i really felt like i was with family. The bed was AMAZING!! I am going to buy the Sterns and Foster for my next bed!! Breakfast was good and i was amazed they had dinner too! The Inn is only a 20 min walk to the mall and has a plaza with a restaurant right next door. I will stay here anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped make it even more memorable. We hope to have you stay with us again soon and do some more shopping at South Coast Plaza or enjoy our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
72
28
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent three plus months at this location, the food was typically very good, actually the best of any Marriott Residence Inn I have stayed at, with the exception of the evening fare at the Pensacola FL location. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The Manager (Sue) runs a good crew. Good breakfast, great variety.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValricoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for being a part of our family for three months and we enjoyed getting to spend time with you. We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were only there for one night, but were very pleased with the accommodations. We booked one of the 2-bedroom suites and it was like staying in an apartment. The full kitchen was modern and very functional and it was great to have a little living room with a fireplace! We found the beds to be really comfortable as well. We had friends that stayed in the smaller rooms and they too raved about the accommodations. There is a full breakfast served in the main lobby and it included something for everyone. Check-out is not until noon, which suited us just fine :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to have a fully equipped kitchen in the room, but glad you let us cook for you and were able to enjoy our full breakfast in the morning. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was excellent for our family get together (their was 20 of us). It was close to Disneyland, to the beach, shopping and easy access to the freeways. Yes it is close to the highway and it is noisy but I found that it was not that bad.

We had two penthouse suites and they accommodated us nicely. Other family members had books studio suites for the weekend. Altogether we had booked 5 rooms. All the rooms where clean and up to date with appliances.

The breakfast was always fresh and hot and the ladies who took care of the breakfast were extremely helpful and nice.

All the staff at the hotel where helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jclc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy we were able to host your 50th Anniversary celebration and we enjoyed being able to help make it a success. I will share your comments with our staff and hope that you can make this an annual "reunion" to spend with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

to whom it may concern...welltravelledfam has no clue what hes talking about. this place was clean and appliances were modern and updated, the bed was super comfortable and our stay was nothing but pleasant. staff was helpful and courteous and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsterMikeRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that are staff was helpful and enjoyed our spacious suites. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe Marriott would put their name on this property. It looks like a rehabbed low income property. The lobby area and front desk stinks like an old nursing home. I am a platinum marriott member, so I was given what was referred to as the penthouse. The room was sooooo creepy, a lower bedroom, and nasty loft above with a darkened comforter. Everything was so outdated. Also the property overlooks an abandoned bus parking lot and a liquor store. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your stay. We are constantly doing upgrades and renovations to ensure our property looks up to date and I am sorry you were disappointed. We value your loyalty to Marriott as a Platinum member and hope that you will contact me prior to your next visit and I will ensure you will receive the level of Marriott service you have come to expect.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were supposed to stay at the Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach the night before her early morning athletic competition this weekend. I chose the property primarily because it offered a free hot breakfast and was close to both South Coast Plaza and the gymnastics meet. Many reviewers have said that this is a quiet complex, but I was worried about freeway noise since it is near the 73. However, when I emailed the property coordinator, Anne Nielsen, she assured me that even though the hotel was indeed quiet, she would have me assigned to a room furthest away from the freeway. Then, when my daughter woke up sick Saturday morning and I had to cancel that evening's reservation, the front desk clerk--Andi, I think--was prompt in processing my cancellation. Although I never actually stayed at the Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, I was impressed by the friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Reviewers say that this is a quiet complex, but if you are sensitive to noise ask for a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We understand how things can happen unexpectedly and this is the season for colds. I hope that next time you will be able to come and experience our hotel.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Property: Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Orange County when you book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. Our hotel in Costa Mesa offers easy access to a variety of popular attractions, including the luxurious South Coast Plaza shopping center, Orange County Fairgrounds, Orange Coast College, Disneyland(R) and an array of pristine Orange County beaches. We offer complimentary transportation to John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in our brand new spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas for working, sleeping, living and eating. Or take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or heated outdoor swimming pool. Our Orange County beach hotel also offers a stylish meeting room for corporate and social gatherings of up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay in Costa Mesa that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing