We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed February 8, 2012

For the price and area, I expected a much nicer hotel. Our first issue was the wireless internet. It didn't work when we arrive and it took a technician over an hour to get us going. We stayed two nights and it quit again on the second day so I just plugged in rather than going through the hassel again. Our door didn't latch good. Twice we came back to our room to find the door unlatched. The room had a musty smell and the air conditioner units outside smelled very bad. There were no extra pillows as I requested and no pillow for the sleeper sofa. The grounds were fine. The breakfast area was very crowded for the size of the facility and the selection of food rather poor. I'd make a different choice next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nebtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Not the greatest hotel but well presented for an older type property. If you are travelling with children as we were the 2 bedroom unit is a great, and cost effective, selection. Close to South Coast Plaza and the 73 freeway this property gives value for money. Stayed 5 nights and would use again. Rooms are well appointed with a kitchen area, two bedrooms (one is a loft) and a sofa bed in the living area. Free breakfast is good as are evening drinks and snacks - all included in room rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roomfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed at the Residence Inn costa Mesa for 2 nights. The hotel is conveninetly located 3 minutes from the 405 Freeway, 20 minutes to disneyland, 20 minutes to Huntington Beach Pier, 40 minutes to Santa Monica, 1 hour to Legoland, 10 minutes form John Wayne airport, etc...

There is a shopping center nearby called South Coast Plaza about 3 minutes by car. Great shopping and great restaurants.

We stayed in a regular room with a queen bed + a sofabed.
The sofabed was comfortable and the bed was also comfortable.
Room has a kitchenete and utensils. Not fancy, but adequate.

Free breakfast is included. Breakfast is average but great for kids under 8 years of age. (Cereal, waffles, somefruit, egg, bacon, sausage. Grounds are well kept.
Basketball court, bbq area, deceent heated pool. Small jacuzzi without privacy. The back building has ping pong tables. Don't stay in the back rooms if you are a light sleeper due to the noise from people paying ping pong.

Great value for the money. Staff is pormpt and responsive. Definitely recommend for families with kids. NOt so much for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Avoid the basketball court area buildings or the back buildings where the ping pong tables are (Unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

It was suggested that we stay here when we were planning to attend a good friend's birthday event. When I called to reserve at the hotel the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating - as where they during our stay. The breakfast is great - with a lot of options for hot and cold food. The room was great with a full kitchen and a huge King bed - and a living room with sofa and chair ... it was also was quiet. The free internet was appreciated.

The Residence Inn is also conveniently located to shopping, dining and sightseeing opportunities.

We enjoyed our stay - except for the police action on Sunday night when we were kept in our car for 40 minutes. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone in the car to find out what was going on. I hoped for some compensation, but none came.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinSag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I recently stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised when I walked into my room. It was like a mini apartment! Full kitchen, living area with king bed, 2 closets, vanity area and bathroom. There were sensor lights in the kitchen and bathroom, which was a nice touch not having to search for a light switch. As you entered the room, the kitchen light would turn on. Need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night? Viola! Light comes on as soon as you stepped into the bathroom. Loved it!!! The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. Lot's of stores and restaurants nearby. The only draw back was walking out of my room right into a cloud of smoke from the neighbor, who chose to smoke right outside his door which was 2 steps away from mine. But like any place, you are going to encounter some issues. I would definitely stay again, but this time with my hubby!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is an older one and not as updated as some of the others in this chain. It is however, conveniently located with easy access to shopping, dining etc. The hotel management was friendly and accommodating, free internet is available, the breakfast is adequate and typical of a residence inn and it was fairly quiet at night. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. This is a good hotel for families as they offer free breakfast and a light meal on Mon-Wed evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Residence Inn is always dependable for families looking for reasonably-priced accommodation that has the service and the reliability associated with the Marriott brand. My family and relatives spent two nights here when my sister got married in early September. Our group booked 6 rooms and we experienced no problems from check-in to check-out. The advantage of this Residence Inn is that the rooms are actually town-house type villas that have a loft that serves as a second bedroom. There is another (master's) bedroom on the ground level as well as a kitchen and a living room. The breakfast consisted of the usual American fare - bagels, cereal, juices, pancakes, waffles, toasts = all on paper plates and plastic utensils. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for people going to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmpfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $138 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing