We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Motel 6 but this one is in a lower side of quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Usual Motel 6 but this one is in a lower side of quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This time, I would like to share my recent experience in staying at Motel 6 in Costa Mesa back in December 2013. It all started when both of me and wife were trying to find a safe and clean motel accommodation in Orange County area as we were driving back from San Diego to Los Angeles in the evening.

It was not too hard for us to find this motel as I used GPS to find it. As far as location concerns, I believe this motel is better located than the one in Newport Beach but that's about all. When we both arrived in late evening, we immediately got our room within five (5) minutes. Our room was in the street level (which was nice) as we had quite a number of luggage with us.

Our room was not really clean when we entered it but it was okay for us for the price we paid but personally, I would probably think twice to stay here. The Motel 6 Newport Beach is slightly better when it comes to room maintenance. However, as we only stayed for couple of hours (checked-in after 10:30 pm and out around 8:00 am), I had nothing to complain about as we both could get a decent sleep during our stay.

Overall, I would recommend this motel to anyone who happens to be in the area and looking for inexpensive motel accommodation to stay for the night but don't expect too much as there is basically nothing in there. Only a small room with so so bed to sleep on.

Room Tip: Get a room in the street level should you carry few luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    8
    9
    10
See reviews for
13
12
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great place to stay when you visit Costa Mesa and the beaches in the area ... really close to Hingway 1, the staff is nice, the rooms are clean ..smell a bit strange .... there are enough places to eat nearby, Denny's, Inn & Out Burger on walking distance .. the pool is clean ... prices are okay too .... :)

Room Tip: There is another Motel 6 really close, but allmost twice the money ... stick to this one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiabloDesigns v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I got here to check in at 12:30am, after a long drive. I had to use the walk up window, stand outside and freeze. He charged my credit card for the whole stay which was over $100 than my confirmation email stated. He had to call someone while I froze for another 20 minutes and he came and told me he'd give me a refund of the difference. He gave me the keys, I went to the room, they didn't work. Went back to the office to a sign that said he went on brake be back in 15. I called him and luckily he answered. Swiped the keys and I went back to a room with two full beds, not what I reserved, and my nonsmoking room smelled a whole lot like a Vegas Casino. I called him to see where the king bed was and he said that's not what the reservation was for and I said yes it was and asked to move rooms, to which he responded they are sold out and I can talk to the manager in the morning. So we shall see how that goes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinkysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Mesa hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Think of this as camping with indoor plumbing (and even that was kind of questionable). Rooms are all non-smoking and all are equipped with ashtrays to tell you that---no wonder they all smell like smoke. No coffee makers or hair dryers—just your basic bed, dresser and small tv. This place works if you’re looking for a cheap place to stay and are not planning to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days during the US Open of Surfing (huntington beach). The hotel is convenient enough to hop on 405 or side street to the beaches during traffic hours. A good option when you cant afford $200/night within a few blocks from the beach areas. Huntington beach was only 15-20min drive from the property.

Why Im giving this motel a 2star? because the rooms we reserved were NON-Smoking but despite of that, our rooms and bathrooms smelled like somebody was just there smoking! We asked to move to another non-smoking room but cigarette smell is there again. No, there's nothing wrong with my nose and i was with children that smelled the same thing. We have to deal with this smell for 4nights. The 2 star is for NOT cleaning the rooms properly and enforcing SMOKING policy.

This is NOT the first time we stayed at a motel 6 and this one is just below the "motel 6" standards (not other hotels) to give it a fair comparison.

Room Tip: pls check rooms and smell them before settling in. Even when the blower bathrooms are on, the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgreenthumb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Never stayed in a Motel 6 before and this one didn't make me a fan. I understand that it is a budget motel but why on earth can they include refrigerators and microwaves but no coffee maker in the room? That wouldn't have been so bad but we were "late" getting to the coffee in the "lobby" -- and the front clerk chastised me for even asking about it (none available after 10 a.m.) I guess he was going to throw the remaining coffee out? I can handle budget. I can't handle rude. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Orange County fairgrounds. It was close. But it wasn't the cleanest place and the rudeness was over the top.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room off the back as the motel is right on the freeway access ro...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SESomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed the night here before the Surf City Marathon. It was sufficient. Hot water, clean towels and a bed. No bells and whisles but we didn't pay for those.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKininmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.2 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#11 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 Newport Beach
Motel 6 Newport Beach
#14 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Property: Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Address: 1441 Gisler Ave, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-2656
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Motel 6 Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing