We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“accessible location but cigarette smelling rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“accessible location but cigarette smelling rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days during the US Open of Surfing (huntington beach). The hotel is convenient enough to hop on 405 or side street to the beaches during traffic hours. A good option when you cant afford $200/night within a few blocks from the beach areas. Huntington beach was only 15-20min drive from the property.

Why Im giving this motel a 2star? because the rooms we reserved were NON-Smoking but despite of that, our rooms and bathrooms smelled like somebody was just there smoking! We asked to move to another non-smoking room but cigarette smell is there again. No, there's nothing wrong with my nose and i was with children that smelled the same thing. We have to deal with this smell for 4nights. The 2 star is for NOT cleaning the rooms properly and enforcing SMOKING policy.

This is NOT the first time we stayed at a motel 6 and this one is just below the "motel 6" standards (not other hotels) to give it a fair comparison.

Room Tip: pls check rooms and smell them before settling in. Even when the blower bathrooms are on, the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgreenthumb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
14
12
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Never stayed in a Motel 6 before and this one didn't make me a fan. I understand that it is a budget motel but why on earth can they include refrigerators and microwaves but no coffee maker in the room? That wouldn't have been so bad but we were "late" getting to the coffee in the "lobby" -- and the front clerk chastised me for even asking about it (none available after 10 a.m.) I guess he was going to throw the remaining coffee out? I can handle budget. I can't handle rude. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Orange County fairgrounds. It was close. But it wasn't the cleanest place and the rudeness was over the top.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room off the back as the motel is right on the freeway access ro...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SESomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Mesa hotels

Rialto, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed the night here before the Surf City Marathon. It was sufficient. Hot water, clean towels and a bed. No bells and whisles but we didn't pay for those.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKininmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is a low budget hotel. I was in town for wedding, and needed a place close by to crash for one night. Definitely served this purpose. Plus, the staff allowed my to check-in at 12 noon due to my schedule. Free parking. Wifi is $2.95 for 24 hours.

I would not have stayed here with my family. Although the rooms were clean and affordable, it's a bit sketchy. Think strip mall next to the freeway. It was loud, a bit smoky although i was in a non-smoking room, and the walls are paper thin.

You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcemail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STORFORS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Motel6 is always great but alittle noisy at weekends but I guess all cheaper motels are =)
Not walking distance to "action" though

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cab_ampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Clean,well managed motel. Enjoyed the two queen size beds instead of the typical doubles. Beds were firm which I like but wife doesn't. Everything worked properly - shower, TV, AC,etc. Front desk clerk offered to make me a fresh pot of coffee for me the evening we arrived.Free coffee every morn @ 7am is nice. Sink was outside of bathroom rather then inside bathroom ,like other M6's we stayed at. I saved a few dollars reserving over internet. $3 charge for internet in room - would like to get that free. I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Let's be honest, I wouldn't spend two weeks of vacation in this motel, but for one night as a stop on my way to San Diego, it was totally worth the price. Close to the 405, restaurants, supermarkets; relatively close to the beach. Of course it's a non-smoking motel now, of course you can still smell the 'smokers paradise', but the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.2 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#11 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 Newport Beach
Motel 6 Newport Beach
#14 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Property: Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Address: 1441 Gisler Ave, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-2656
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Motel 6 Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing