We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is a low budget hotel. I was in town for wedding, and needed a place close by to crash for one night. Definitely served this purpose. Plus, the staff allowed my to check-in at 12 noon due to my schedule. Free parking. Wifi is $2.95 for 24 hours.

I would not have stayed here with my family. Although the rooms were clean and affordable, it's a bit sketchy. Think strip mall next to the freeway. It was loud, a bit smoky although i was in a non-smoking room, and the walls are paper thin.

You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcemail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

Motel6 is always great but alittle noisy at weekends but I guess all cheaper motels are =)
Not walking distance to "action" though

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cab_ampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Clean,well managed motel. Enjoyed the two queen size beds instead of the typical doubles. Beds were firm which I like but wife doesn't. Everything worked properly - shower, TV, AC,etc. Front desk clerk offered to make me a fresh pot of coffee for me the evening we arrived.Free coffee every morn @ 7am is nice. Sink was outside of bathroom rather then inside bathroom ,like other M6's we stayed at. I saved a few dollars reserving over internet. $3 charge for internet in room - would like to get that free. I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Let's be honest, I wouldn't spend two weeks of vacation in this motel, but for one night as a stop on my way to San Diego, it was totally worth the price. Close to the 405, restaurants, supermarkets; relatively close to the beach. Of course it's a non-smoking motel now, of course you can still smell the 'smokers paradise', but the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

The Motel was Great! It was close to everything. Food, shopping, entertainment and the beach! The price was certainly cheaper than the surronding motels. The staff was friendly and my room was clean and comfy. This was my first time in Costa Mesa as I traveled there on business. I don't normally stay at motel 6 but as changes were made in my business schedule and pretty much the whole town was booked up, I was lucky enough to find a room at this motel. However there was one thing i did'nt understand. Why was there an ashtray put upside down with a non smoking sticker on it in a non smoking room? I mean what would be the reason for that? I don't get it! but otherwise my stay was pleasant.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank litig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This was an inexpensive clean motel (except for the air), very conveniently located near the highways and fast food chains, and with a nice big swimming pool. The smoking issue is important to us because we were traveling with an infant. However, our nonsmoking wing was occupied mostly by people who smoked in the doorways of their nonsmoking rooms. They were helped by the ashtrays left in the rooms that had 'no smoking' signs stuck to them. Leaving ashtrays in nonsmoking rooms? How dumb is that? It was also extremely annoying that in the morning the housekeepers kept asking us 3 or 4 times if we were out of the room yet..like they wanted to get to work early so they could leave early. However, if you are the type of person who doesn't mind cigarettes, is OK with staying in a commercial area, and who likes to chat with the staff, I would recommend this motel. It is quite inexpensive for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJMomOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vermeiden Sie Zimmer, die am Pool liegen und die auf die Gisler Avenue hinausgehen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrin_in_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Address: 1441 Gisler Ave, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-2656
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Motel 6 Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing