We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Costa Mesa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Mesa Marriott
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good Place for Costa Mesa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

All suite Marriott. Standard Marriott property with usual amenities. Comfortable if spartan room. Comfortable bed. Staff at front desk were excellent welcoming you each morning and on your return. Work-out room needs to update to the equipment. Tuesday night was taco night. Lots of dining in a 10 minute walk. Hourly shuttle service to SNA that starts at 5:30 am then on the hour thereafter.

Room Tip: Upper floor not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    173
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
83
73
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice thing about Marriott hotels is the consistency, never any unwelcome surprises, you know what you're getting. I always sleep well when away from home when I stay at a Marriott, everything is always clean. It makes business travel somewhat tolerable.

Room Tip: Stick with one chain, it pays off in so many ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a great find. The hotel is unassuming from the outside, but once inside it was a pleasant surprise. From the friendly staff to the clean lobby, pool area and suites, I was impressed. The room is nice and latge with a small couch and desk and chair with a bar with a small refrigerator the bedroom is clean and comfy with a sliding mdoor to enjoy the coastal breezes. The bathroom is a good size and the towels were new and large, which is nice. Our dog enjoyed his visit and there was plenty of area to walk him. The hotel is in a quiet location (at least during the weekend) with everything from Newport beach, shopping and plenty of restaurants close by. There's even a sports bar next door if you want to grab a drink and catch a game. The hotel grounds are lovely with a small lake inside with a walking trail around it, which is so nice for dogs and owners. We opted for the breakfast buffet at the hotel and it was lovely. Fresh omelet bar made to order and every thing else you could want from French toast to oatmeal. The server brings you a carafe of fresh coffee and juice and there's a lovely view of the outside as you eat. The only downside is $21 for parking but its safe and gated.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This Marriott is an older property that does not provide the level of service that many other Orange County propertys offer.

The rooms and common areas need to be updated. There is no concierge lounge and $21/night to park is excessive for the area.

I would recommend choosing a different property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this property very much. I was in the area to visit relatives so did not spend a lot of time in my room. My room was comfortable - a separate bed room and living room setup. My room was very clean, and the bed was super - cozy. The lake view was wonderful and I liked opening the sliding glass doors for fresh air in the mornings. The kitchen counter was well arranged and the coffee items were stored in this great little black box that kept them dust free. I spent five nights and every time I went past the main desk I was greeted by the person on duty. The little shop next to the main desk was great for snacks and beverages. All in all I would recommend the Marriott if you're in the area. The price was pretty reasonable for the area. Almost forgot - I wanted to go to the mall one afternoon and the young man who drives the airport shuttle took me there as a courtesy. I really appreciated that.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here over the weekend and found it perfect for our needs...shopping and close to soccer tourney. I initially planned on staying @ the Westin because of the proximity to South Coast Plaza and the bridge that connected but glad I didn't because the bridge was a very long walk and the drive was less than 5 minutes. There is only 1 place you can dine and the bar service was horrible. We were given our bill before she even asked if we wanted another round of drinks AND my husband had to pick up his own drink at the bar rather than being served at our table...terrible service! We only ate breakfast and service at breakfast time was great! Very attentive host and server! Breakfast was served either buffet (w/ an omelet station) or off the menu. I found the buffet to be okay. The service at the front desk was great too! They do however have to work on the speed of their elevators which was REALLY REALLY SLOW!!!! Parking can be somewhat of a hassle if your key card doesn't work and can be full which we thankfully didn't experience. There are restaurants w/in walking distance so you are not forced to eat at the hotel.

The rooms were set up rather odd but maybe it's so they can claim it to be a "suite". The bathroom has 2 doors -- a pocket door that leads to the bedroom and a door that leads to the living area. Placement of the flat screen tv is right above the mini bar facing the window however the sofa faces the bedroom -- very awkward to watch.

Room Tip: Helps to be a Gold Elite member to get upgraded room (view only) and free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
500 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a workman like hotel that caters heavily to business people. On the plus side are the large rooms, excellent staff and well equipped gym. Downside is the dated furniture in the rooms and the lack of a restaurant onsite (the taco stand at nights in the lobby by the bar does not count), and no executive lounge. Parking can be a pain if you can't find a spot on the first floor as there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.3 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott

Property: Costa Mesa Marriott
Address: 500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing