We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of Space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Mesa Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Costa Mesa Marriott
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
141 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Plenty of Space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here and it was a great choice. The hotel location is convienient for so much of OC, but it's tucked back on a quiet street so it doesn't feel hectic at all. It's very close the 55 and 405, but I never heard any freeway noise unless I opened my balcony door (I was facing toward the freeway). The breakfast had more than enough variety for a two-night stay, but I probably would not have eaten there if the breakfast and Internet access was not included in my package. The workout room is a good size and has plenty of options. Right outside of the workout room is the pool area. Since the pool is tucked on the backside of the hotel and right by a lake, it really has a resort feel. The room itself was fantastic. The space that their suite layout provides is fantastic. At first it felt too big, but you definitely get used to the space. The only negatives to me were the slow elevators during busy times, and the $21 daily parking fee.

For other food options, there are great choices in walking distance. Starbucks is across the street and South Coast Plaza is at the end of the street. The hotel really is in a good spot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    172
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
82
73
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was probably my fourth or fifth stay over a period of several years, and I am happy to say it was just as good as ever.
My daughter and I stayed on a good deal with breakfast and parking included. Our suite had 2 very comfortable beds, the breakfast was great with the cooked to order omelettes some of the best we have had.
Front desk staff were very efficient and the location is very convenient to everything, shopping, restaurants and businesses.
All in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspou854, Manager at Costa Mesa Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We look forward to your next trip to Costa Mesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Amazing location in the heart of the action, but has a peaceful, getaway feel inside the property. Perfect poolside atmosphere for relaxing and unwinding with a cold drink, great lunch from the restaurant, and peaceful walk around the fountains and water features that outline the property.
The service is amazing and accommodating. My room was well laid out and the bed was heavenly!!
I will be staying here every time I visit Orange county.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERYN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspou854, Manager at Costa Mesa Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Audun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The property is older, but has been well maintained and mostly updated. Some of the room furnishings were starting to show their age, but otherwise, the property was clean and had clearly had recent updates. The rooms are not huge, but the suite is a big plus for families with kids. Our room had a double bed, twin bed, and a double sleeper sofa which worked great for us.

The pool is one of the nicest in the area. We have stayed at many hotels in the area and the pool at this hotel makes it our new favorite. The pool gets lots of sun, but there are nice shady areas including two large cabanas that are free for anyone to use. The pool was also warm enough, especially in the afternoon.

The breakfast buffet was busy each morning, but the food was good and there was a nice variety.

One downside is the $21 parking, but parking is expensive in this area.

The other is that the elevators are pretty noisy. We were on the 10th floor and I heard the elevator constantly.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators. The elevator noise is pretty annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall my stay was good. I was there for 8 nights and the reception staff gave me a room with a view over the lake. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, I didn't actually eat in the restaurant in the evening as there are so many good places to go locally.

The drinks, food and car park are very expensive, but your paying for an hotel which is located very close to a few large companies. Its also very close to the mall, which has some very high end shops within it.

The rooms are very nice and large. Mine was cleaned very well each day.

The hotel is very close to John Wayne airport (SNA).

Overall a very nice stay for business users.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to the John Wayne airport. There's nothing like having a suite to relax in after a long day. This hotel is top drawer. There is a wonderful breakfast from 6:00am to 10:00am. They have a chef on hand to cook made-to-order omelets. A great value is sunny SoCal.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room not near the ice machine. I noticed it was very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmhurstBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location, location, location! Our son had an apartment in a complex directly adjacent to the hotel. It was too convenient! On the other hand...every youth sport imaginable was having weekend tournaments in the area and several teams were booked in the hotel. Our room overlooked the pool and the noise from the girls' basketball teams was stunning. Add the young male soccer teams and I knew we had made a mistake. I suggest that on Memorial Day weekend you avoid the hotel unless your child is one one of the teams.

The bathrooms are small; classic combo tub/shower, commode and sink. I suspect that the property dates to the 1970s. The suite design is identical to the Omni Chicago hotel with wasted space in the "living area" and a tight bedroom. On the other hand, the price was "right", $109 a night. Add in the parking fee and the price remained a bargain for the area.

Room Tip: Stay from pool front unless you enjoy noise. The sound proofing provided by the windows is nill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspou854, Manager at Costa Mesa Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel. Regarding the sports team and the noise I wanted to apologize for your experience. Normally during Memorial Day weekend all the hotels have a lot of sports team staying with them due to all the tournaments in the area. I hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Mesa.

Audun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott

Property: Costa Mesa Marriott
Address: 500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing