We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Mesa Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Mesa Marriott
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stay at Marriott almost exclusively and this property was average to their standards. The location is in mostly a business park area, not much to do close by. The rooms are suites but they are not very big, unfortunately. Upon arrival we were given a room that overlooked their service area (dumpsters), with the patio doors open we could smell it, so we immediately requested a room change. The next room had a great view of the pool and the man made lake next door but unfortunately we found someone's dirty sock in plain sight and several long, dark hairs in the bathroom. I notified the front desk the next morning but nothing was done to compensate for our less than expected stay. The pool area is decent although the pool itself definitely needed to be cleaned of the leaves and debris that had blown into it.
Overall just an ok stay, I don't think we would choose this property again though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    159
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
77
68
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great service! People are so friendly. The rooms are really comfortable and always clean and smelling good.
Breakfast us delicious.
Nice pool and a small , but good fitness center.
My room had a view to the pool and lake and it was beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel does not have the feel of a normal hotel located directly next to an airport. It has a much better feel than one of those hotels. Outdoor pool area is great and in a nice quiet area. Also close to the interstate but you can't hear it from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchardbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The property is definitely dated and expensive for what it is. That said, the service was typical of a well run Marriott and I slept well despite the old feeling of the property.

The Good:
-Nice, friendly and attentive staff
-Great free breakfast for Marriott Elite members
-Large rooms

The Bad:
-Dated property with a premium price
-Paid parking seemed unnecessary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
793 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife, my son and I stayed for one night at Costa Mesa Marriott Suites on a weekend deal for free wi-fi and parking when the rate was quite affordable. We stayed in room 414, a suite with a view of Anton Blvd and the parking structure. The room was furnished with two very comfortable queen-sized beds and a study with a sofa and desk. The bathroom could be entered from both the study and the bedroom.

Pluses
• Excellent location, walking distance from South Coast Plaza and Segerstrom Hall performing arts center
• Very pleasing clean and neat rooms, nice lobby area, and access to the artificial lake
• Unusually friendly and helpful reception staff who were eager to please at every opportunity
• Lunch facilities in lobby. But we paid a convenience premium to eat in the hotel at 3 pm because the food (fish tacos, fish and chips, and pumpkin bread pudding) and service were good but not very good, and the price was comparatively high. There were other restaurants within walking distance. We ate brunch at the Silver Trumpet in the Wyndham which is a pleasant walk around the artificial lake next to the Marriott.
• They let us check out at 1 pm, and they would have allowed an even later check-out if we had needed it.
• We appreciated that the garage car park was free, and we enjoyed being able to use a trolley to move our bags to the car.

Minus
• Free wi-fi, but we had some newcomer problems: we had to call an IT man to the room in order to learn that we had to commit on-line to pay the wi-fi fee, which is automatically taken off when we pay the bill. Wi-fi was strong and reliable, but re-logging-in is a nuisance.
• The next morning, the maid ignored the “do not disturb” sign and knocked on our door at 9 am to see ask in a friendly way if we were checking out (she didn't need to ask us).

Despite the small minus points, we enjoyed our stay. We feel the Costa Mesa Marriott is a memorably lovely hotel and a very good deal, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel in my opinion. Its location was great. The staff was excellent. The rooms were large and comfortable. The restaurant was great. Good food at a good value,expecially the breakfast buffett. I look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location, friendly staff. Perfect for families because the rooms are all suites but it also has bathtubs and a great pool area with cabanas that usually aren't too crowded. The location is close to the highways but also walking distance to nice restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Pool view is nice, but all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kberkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott

Property: Costa Mesa Marriott
Address: 500 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1911
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing