We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific hotel in Costa Mesa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Mesa Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Mesa Marriott
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel in Costa Mesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed one night at this property and it worked out perfectly for us. The hotel room is a little tight but there is a desk and a decent size bathroom plus a mini-fridge.

My one grip with Marriott in general is the lack of free wireless in the rooms. We did not use the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food. The pool and hot tub area was clean and decent size as was the workout facility.

The front desk service was excellent. The attendant even printed out restaurant menus for us and called to find out about children's menus.

The hotel is less than a mile from South Coast Mall and very close the the 405 ramp but no traffic noise.

We had a really fine stay and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    173
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
83
73
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July week. The hotel is very clean, well taken care of, and at an excellent location. I found no problems with our room other than not having a coffee table. The bed was nice and firm & the bathroom was clean and tidy. I was very happy that I made the right choice in choosing this hotel for my LA stay. And the front desk staff was professional and extremely helpful. This hotel will most definitely be my choice for my next LA visit.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twoaka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We spent a weekend at this hotel for a little get-away with our 4 and 6-year-old.
As for the most positive thing: On Friday evening, they showed a family movie at the pool which all of the kids at the pool seemed to enjoy. Staff was constantly removing dirty pool towels and trash, which was nice. There was a bartender outside making mixed drinks for a few hours during happy hour. The water was indeed heated, which made it possible for everyone to enjoy the pool into the evening.
The staff was very friendly to me and my husband as well as our children. The hotel is updated with nice decor in the rooms and a comfortable lobby.
We filled out the room service menu the night before and it arrived at the promised time. They forgot chocolate milk but it arrived within about 3 minutes after I called. The food was excellent!!
The location of this hotel is perfect. It is right by the major freeways.
Unfortunately, there are some downsides here:
First, the suites are very small. When we opened the sofa bed for the kids, we were then unable to use the desk, which is where they have internet access. It is not wireless yet. Second, we had a small TV in the bedroom which was in the corner on a small nightstand/dresser. The cables were loose so we were unable to enjoy some of the channels.
Also, while they "upgraded" us to a top-floor room with a view since my husband is a platinum member, this actually turned out to be a pain because of the elevators. The elevators are VERY slow. The hallways were not air conditioned well, so after standing and waiting for about 5 minutes for an elevator, we actually started to get really warm and sweat a little. The temperature on the elevator was not much better.

Overall, it has all of the amenities a family would need for a fun little get-away. It also seems to be a great hotel for a business traveller during the week. I wouldn't really recommend it for a week if you take the family since the rooms are a bit small. For 2 people, it is perfect!!

  • Liked — Heated Pool
  • Disliked — Slow Elevators
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jillypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Front desk staff had no idea how to handle our check-in with their Standing Ovation package. The package was booked on the hotel's website. Moved us to the side and checked in others. At their Hemingway's Cafe we had one of the worst dining experiences of our travels - ever! Waiter was rude - presented check prior to serving drinks or food. Ignored our dessert order.
Suite configuration was not comfortable - bathroom did not allow for privacy. The television was on the floor and as a result was difficult to view.We will not stay here again during our frequent visits to Orange County.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

Very friendly, high quality hotel. We stayed only one night but would recommend hotel for a longer stay. Good location for visiting Anaheim and Orange County and just an hour from LA. Within walking distance to South Coast Plaza for shopping and restaurants. Nice pool area with seats and loungers. Room great with separate king bedded room, sitting room with tvs in each. Internet access and parking was extra which was only downside. Our rate included breakfast which was buffet style and very good.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

I am a frequent guest at this hidden Marriott jewel in SoCal (since 1999). I am a shopaholic and a gym freak, so this hotel works well for me. It's right across from 24 Hour Fitness Sport, and within walking distance from South Coast Plaza. I appreciated the fact that the hotel management decided to renovate the entire property and update their decor. They have updated their mini fitness center with brand new cardio equipment. This hotel also has a self-serve laundry room. Breakfast buffet everyday. The bed is comfy as always, except when the feather from the mattress stuck me. The internet and parking fees are annoying. Service is not exceptional but satisfactory.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Parking and Internet Access Fees
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vegaslawbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

Nice, clean rooms. Very good flow/feng shui. French doors separate the nicely colorful and tasteful living area (fold-out couch) from the bedroom, off which there is a small balcony. Mine overlooked the pool and jacuzzi and a nice, tree-lined walking path around a pond with ducks. Comfy bed. No microwave. Perfect for a couple, single, or even a small family. Staff was on top of things and polite. Within walking distance of a huge mall with a variety of stores, a 24-Hr Fitness. Room service stops at 11 pm, but there's a little store by the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZebbaDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott

Property: Costa Mesa Marriott
Address: 500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing