We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a loyal customer of LQ inn.. this was not my best exprience. They gave me a room which had a wierd smell.. My guess is that sombody smoked in it and they tried hard to take the smell off, but they did no good job.

Besides from that, the rest was average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    120
    115
    109
See reviews for
170
76
63
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2013

pros: clean rooms. good service. paid only $59 for a room. hooters located in the same property. very nice location.
cons: no shuttle to and from universal or disney. too close to freeway, can get a little noisy at night from traffic.
definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Had great hopes for this place. We booked a two-room suite for our week-long visit to the area but instead of being a pleasant place to stay, it was one disappointment after another. Our suite was one of two right over the lobby. Although the rooms were newly remodeled and somewhat clean, the bathroom was pretty gross, the fridge needed defrosting and half of the light were not working. Parking was also a hassle in the evening when Hooters guests occupied all parking space on the south side of the hotel. It was also hard to get to sleep with the noise coming from our hallway when other hotel guests would use the vending machines just outside our door. The free breakfast in the morning wasn't so bad though with plenty variety to eat, but it was hard to find a place to sit and I often had to take my food back to the room with me. When it comes down to it, although it was a good price, I will stay somewhere else next time I visit this area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jas7chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I'd stayed at this hotel several years ago (as I tend to frequent La Quinta a lot), but I remembered it being a bit sub-par. Now that I've stayed here again recently, I recall the problem from before: the noise from I-405 (if you have a south-facing room) is constant and relentless. I tried to drown out the freeway noise with the heater-ac unit, but the unit in my room wouldn't produce any warmth, an in trying to adjust it to maximum heat, I noticed the adjustment knob device came all the way out of its fixture into my hand. Obviously, it was in need of repair. Nevertheless, the room was newly refurbished and the furniture was quite new. The shower head wasn't great, and the sink had no stopper devic in the drain. However, my AARP rate for the room was only $53 per night (while at any nearby La Quinta, such as Santa Ana or Buena Park, the cheapest room rate was closer to $80-$90). The breakfast was about average for a La Quinta, but the breakfast space is crowded, as it's quite small in relation to the large number of guest rooms. Would I stay here again? Probably, if I could be assured of a room on the north-facing side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_rat_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Live pretty close but going to concert nearby and can't beat $60 for a room.

Can only speak for myself, but they seem to have gotten their act together cleaning-wise. Room was great. Spotless. Even had signed card from maid, so it seems they've acted on the negative reviews here.

Basic yes, but had nice TV, free Internet, power port w/USB. Newly remodeled as well. A little shabby on the outside.

Very friendly staff at check-in.

As others have pointed out, get a room on the back side that faces away from freeway. Still get some noise from nearby street, but not that bad.

Totally worth the money.

Room Tip: Get room facing away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofchimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I called in to let them know I was checking in late. My room still wasn't ready by the time I arrived! They ended up putting me in a smoking room when I specifically said and requested NON SMOKING. Im deathly allergic to smoke. After hauling my bag up stairs and back down, I went back to get another room. I didn't know at the time but I was put in a room that WAS NOT CLEAN! I mean garbage, messy sheets, dirty towels... The only thing that went right was that they agreed to give me a full refund. I guess you get for what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motoXracerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County - Santa Ana
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro
2.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.8 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
Address: 1515 S Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing