We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Live pretty close but going to concert nearby and can't beat $60 for a room.

Can only speak for myself, but they seem to have gotten their act together cleaning-wise. Room was great. Spotless. Even had signed card from maid, so it seems they've acted on the negative reviews here.

Basic yes, but had nice TV, free Internet, power port w/USB. Newly remodeled as well. A little shabby on the outside.

Very friendly staff at check-in.

As others have pointed out, get a room on the back side that faces away from freeway. Still get some noise from nearby street, but not that bad.

Totally worth the money.

Room Tip: Get room facing away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofchimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    116
    112
    108
See reviews for
167
74
63
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I called in to let them know I was checking in late. My room still wasn't ready by the time I arrived! They ended up putting me in a smoking room when I specifically said and requested NON SMOKING. Im deathly allergic to smoke. After hauling my bag up stairs and back down, I went back to get another room. I didn't know at the time but I was put in a room that WAS NOT CLEAN! I mean garbage, messy sheets, dirty towels... The only thing that went right was that they agreed to give me a full refund. I guess you get for what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motoXracerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, March 7-11. Was originally book for only 3 night but extended 1 more night. The first 3 nights the room was made up. But on the third night after a long and & tiring day I went to my room to find that it was exactly how I left it. Just so I could go ahead & sleep, I went to the front desk to ask if they had personnel to make u my room. Unfortunately, they only have them in mornings. I settled to ask for clean towels so I didn't have to ask for it early morning the following day. I made sure that the front desk on duty that night (March 10) took note of my complaint.

Up to now, I have not received any communication from management despite all the information I was made to fill up upon checking in.

Room Tip: Since this hotel is beside the freeway, make sure to get a room at the back, away from the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Despite the name, a ways away from the airport. Lotta turns to get to it. Sorta in the middle of nowhere with little around it but a Hooters. What more do you need though <g>

Fast, friendly check in. Elevator trashed, maybe undergoing remodel. Scared us, would the room be as bad? No, bright, clean, newly remodeled. Not the biggest but sufficient. TV worked great as did internet. Bathroom fine. Typical noisy Amana A/C, not bad when running but every time the fan started it let out a loud HONK. Finally set it to constant fan and not cool where it was frequently starting & stopping. Not that hot out.

Pool area looked nice but no time. Typical motel breakfast. For what we paid, a steal in an area like LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldLoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Good location, reasonable rates and newly refurbished with a continental breakfast. What more do you want! The only down side is that I didn't ask for a room on the opposite side of the freeway. Half of the hotel faces the freeway and the sound is disturbing especially late at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This La Quinta surprised with the quality of interior amenities. Work desk, work chair, bathroom all in excellent working order. Wifi Internet fast and reliable. This hotel offers a shuttle to and from the Santa Ana = Orange County = John Wayne (= Costa Mesa = Newport Beach) airport (SNA), although limited times on demand only. Plenty of staff for checkin and checkout. Breakfast was OK, included prepeeled hard boiled eggs and Otis prepackaged muffins. The property is right next to 405 and there is a certain level of unavoidable freeway background noise, bring ear plugs if this is a concern. Heat worked well and was not noisy. Overall would come back here, especially at the bargain rate received (less than half of the Courtyard ratea mile up the Harbor). Used AAA discount.

Room Tip: Use triple A discount, book on their lq site
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is at the bottom range as hotels go! It does not even qualify as a one star as rating go.

The carpets are filthy as there are trails of dirt going from the door to the bathroom. If you have children do not even think of going to this establishment unless you are not concerned for their well-being. Rooms are barely cleaned as there was hair from the previous occupants in both rooms that I stayed in. The toilet backed up more than once and to top it off there was a used toothbrush left beside the nightstand on the carpet from the previous occupants.

This was all reported and I was advised that it would be resolved, however, upon returning to my room the tooth brush was in the same spot on the carpet (see picture). It makes you wonder if they clean the rooms at all.

Management made promises to rectify the issues but nothing was done without asking more than once. Management even offered to put me up in a suite for free next time, however, I stated based on this experience free is not cheap enough!

As a frequent traveler to La Quinta's and an Elite member I will recommend La Quinta as a whole however this place is on the side of dumpy, mismanaged and could seriously entertain a complete makeover.

I read the bad reviews on this property however, I like to make a judgment based on my own experience, well perhaps I will take more stock in statements when there is more than one negative in the future.

As for the previous travelers that said it was clean, they must have been very lucky as I experienced two rooms and both were similar in cleanliness. Imagine seeing a toothbrush next to your bed from the previous occupants, makes you wonder what else has not been cleaned and what is under the bed you sleeping in??????????

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelsalot411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County - Santa Ana
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
Address: 1515 S Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing